We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice - I would come back.”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quite nice - I would come back.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Tremendous view, nice but small pools, enjoyable place if a bit remote. But as the phrase goes - more monkeys than people. The property is nice to stroll, if a bit of a workout. The owners are true Eco-entrepreneurs, the place matches well with nature.

Room Tip: If you could get a top corner room in the hotel, or in the Jumbo Jet, or near a pool - they all seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OliverBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    499
    166
    62
    42
See reviews for
493
508
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
311 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Costa Verde. We were in rooms B11 and B12 - which had great views. The views made it very enjoyable for us.

This hotel is not high luxury. The interior is dated - but the positive is that the room included a King and Queen bed which is perfect for a family. The rooms also come with a mini kitchen, but dont leave food out as we had mini ants come in. Dont stay at the cheapest rooms here - the guests reported to us bad. Not all the rooms have air conditioning - when we went in December - we would have died without air conditioning.

This hotel is not walking distance to the beach - we had a car so it was not an issue.

We ate at the Anaconda restaurant daily - great views. You have to try the alcoholic drink called Monkey Business. It is my all time favorite and I wish I could find it in the states.

At night the walls are filled with geckos which our family thought was super cool.

The slogan of the hotel is "Still more monkeys than people" - while we were at the hotel we did not see 1 monkey. However, Manuel Antonio National Park is full of monkies.

The pools were decent and needed

Room Tip: B11 and B12 were great views - stay higher for a view. Air conditioning is critical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This resort is amazing. Everything is quality. They have a wood working studio on site and I think that's where all the furniture and fixtures come from, which are amazing. The restaurants are all good and not as expensive as you might think. El Avion is a must. Our room was huge with a kitchen, big shower and porch. We could hear and see wildlife from our bed. There's lot's of wildlife at Costa Verde - massive iguanas and various types of monkeys. They have 3 or 4 different nature walks you can do on the compound and some of the trees are labeled, which is nice. The only downside of Costa Verde is that it's not really that close to anything else. The beach is about a 15-20 minute walk. However, you can take the bus anywhere for about $2. We had a great experience in Manuel Antonio and Costa Verde was a big part of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalyst500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We came here at the end of rainy season. It was great because there were not very many people around. The resort is extremely spread out and many areas are not super convenient to all the rooms. The beach is quite a walk away and they do not provide towels or transportation for the beach. The adult pool is beautiful and quiet. However the bar closes for two months and there was no place to get food and drinks close by. All the restaurants are open at weird hours and don't always overlap. This was also not advertised on the website. The other two pools were adequate. The rooms on the website looked nicer than in reality. Our room had a number of issues including limited wifi, except in one corner of the balcony. Our safe did not work and one of the sliding doors was broken allowing for bugs to get in. You could also hear your neighbors. The rooms were old and the mattresses were hard. However the view from the balcony was exquisite. The staff tried to be as accommodating as possible and was the only really great thing about this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie-Go-Litely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Convenient location for walking or taking the bus down to the beach and the park. Our room was right near the entrance so we did not have an ocean view - make sure you ask if that is important to you. Great ocean view from one of the pools through. But the bar closes at 4 or 5pm, so sadly our plan for watching the sunset with a nice tropical drink never happened. But still a nice place. And we did see monkeys on site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael de Alajuela Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We loved the place. Very clean and in a great location. Anaconda restaurant was wonderful. Bruce and Trinidad are the greatest waiters. The food is very good and reasonably priced. The rooms are very clean. The one complaint I have is with the front desk. Very rude at check in. Mauricio is not very personable. He should take lessons from the rest of the staff. Very rude. Also they are very stingy with the towels. Don't let your first impression of the front desk deter you from staying.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cloud2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Costa_Verde, Manager at Hotel Costa Verde, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Please accept our apologies on behalf of Mauricio. Management will be sure to look into the matter. We are hopeful that it was an isolated incident and will not happen again. The front desk team, including Mauricio, all work hard to meet guest expectations. We regret that you were not welcomed or assisted as should be expected.

Our towel policy is part of our sustainability program. We encourage guests to reuse towels if possible, but surely we can provide clean towels at your request. We hope that you remember us a conservationists rather than stingy and will visit us again one day:)

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012. We originally booked the 747 airplane suite for 1 night and a different room for the other 2 nights. Upon arriving at the airplane, we immediately asked if the next 2 nights were booked and requested to change our reservation. ITS SO COOL!!!!! We were able to stay 2 nights in the 747 suite and it was an unforgettable experience. You can take a shower in the cockpit and even sit in the pilot's chair! Waking up to the sun coming through the mini windows was awesome. If its in your budget, do it!
Our experience at the hotel overall was really great. The check-in was quick and the staff was friendly and helpful. The FREE wi-fi worked great! When it was time for us to move out of the airplane and into a standard room, the staff did all the work for us. They were GREAT!
We chose not to stay in the adult only building because there's no air conditioning and only screens separating you from the outdoors. I can't imagine trying to sleep in that heat, with mosquitos buzzing your ears every 2 minutes. It just wasn't for me. Our room in the other area was really nice. It had a gorgeous view of the ocean, big lanai with nice chairs to sit and watch the sunset, and the bathroom was clean and tidy.
We too were disappointed that the monkeys never came down to the restaurant. Apparently its a nightly tradition, but in our 3 nights, we never saw them. Can't blame the hotel, though!
We ate several meals at the hotel restaurant and they were always tasty.
I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay in the 747 suite! What an incredible experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank ERoe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Costa Verde
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing