We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room and View”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room and View”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

My did a little online research before booking the Costa Verde in Manuel Antonio. My grown daughter and I enjoyed the beautiful room which had lovely glass walls and a nice patio. The beds were comfortable and had better than average sheets. The pool and bar overlooking the national park and the beach made this place special. They have several pools but we only used the one that didn't allow children because it has the best view. We ordered a lunch from the poolside bartender and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. We did want to check out the beach near the park and found it to be okay but has the same rip current problem that seemingly all beaches along this coast suffer from. The owner of the Costa Verde also owns several other restaurants in the area. We tried El Avion which was fun and had good food and views.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    510
    167
    63
    44
See reviews for
515
524
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed here for just 2 nights with my boyfriend in January 2011 as we couldnt get the full 6 nights in our first choice hotel, though I am glad we could mix our manuel antonio experience.

We had a large room facing the pool & sea. The balcony is huge and the view of the sea and sunsets are breathtaking. The room has no TV or AC but plenty of fans and the views are so stunning you will not miss the TV.

The beds were hard. It was quite nice to have a fridge. The breakfast in the restaurant is well over-priced and it is surprising it is not included with the price as with every other hotel of this price range that we stayed in during our holiday in Costa Rica. If you choose this hotel maybe buy some cereal and milk for the fridge you will save a fortune.

We saw a lot of wildlife at this hotel which made it well worth the stay. Plenty of cappucin monkeys and the real gem, spider monkeys and a female sloth with her baby moving along the trees really quite close to us.

Also while relaxing by the pool a giant Green Iguana came for a visit, he was more red than green and decided a nice short cut to his final desination would be to swim through the pool. I am from the UK and it was a real treat for me to see a big exotic looking lizard swimming from one end of the pool to another.

I didnt find the staff here very exceptional other than the girl who ran the bar by the pool who was excellent. We got used to some amazing customer service in costa rica and when we received just average here it felt worse than it was. It didnt feel like the staff liked their jobs or were particularly enthusiastic about helping you out.

We booked a mangrove trip through the hotel. We actually had a very good time. We saw lots of Jesus Christ Lizards and monkeys, a tamandue and a cxrocodile in the distance and it was very relaxing and topped off with a pretty decent meal. I would recommend this day out it was worth while.

So how to sum up.... the rooms are basic but fine, the views are fabulous, the nature is fantastic. I probably wouldnt have wanted to spend a week here but for a few nights i would recommend. Especially to see those cute little spider monkeys trying to get into the fridge at the bar. So if this is was you want then I do recommend.

Even if you dont stay its worth walking onto the property to see the preposterous jet masking as a hotel room. Its huge.

One a side note we enjoyed both of the bar/restaurants owned by this hotel chain, they had plent of character and I would recommend a visit.

I am not sure I would return but I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We liked the fact that you had to travel an extra hour from Jaco in order to find more seclusion (less tourists and hassles) but still had all the fun activities to do right there. We stayed in the 727 and what an awesome experience that was! So unique. Inside there were reminders that you were in a plane but it felt more like a cabin in atmosphere. Evenings spent on the wings with the gentle breezes and the sound of the surf were grat. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We only ate one meal off site since the food was great at the Hotel Restaurants. Both local and standard menu items. The Sea Bass was the best we have ever tasted. Only complaint was the mattresses were cheap and hard on the back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Ok I have to say, I was a little hesitant about our approaching trip to Costa Verde after seeing such mixed reviews, but we decided to go for it. We could not be happier that we did. I brought our 18 year old high school senior and a friend of his for their spring break.

We arrived about 6:00 pm this past Sunday evening and the staff could not have been more helpful. Mauricio and Victor were more than accommodating and drove us to our room at Costa Verde II. Our rooms (numbers 11 and 12) were incredible. They were huge, clean and best of all the views were unbelievable.
Even more beautiful than I could have imagined. They are a little dated, but very clean. I had a problem with our safe that evening and Maurcio came back to our room within 10 minutes to help us.

The restaurants are good and reasonably priced. They were very accommodating there as well. The service is a little slow, but hey guys, we were on vacation and we were not in any hurry. However one morning we took a guided tour of Manuel Antonio National Park and were to be picked up at 7:30 am. We went to Anaconda restaurant at 7:10 and asked if we had time to eat. The restaurant was fairly full, but they seated us, brought out fruit, toast and ham and coffee along with our check within 5 minutes. That is service.

The monkeys were abundant. Our first morning, we were visited by several white faced monkeys on our balcony. They did that 3 of the four mornings were there. There were monkeys everywhere in the early morning hours. We also saw many huge iguanas, beautiful birds, and other wildlife and that was just at the hotel!

And yes, the place is very spread out, but we saw that as a positive because it was easier to experience the "jungle". You had to walk a lot, but every time we walked anywhere we saw something amazing.

We used the public bus system all the time and loved it. It was so simple to get around. The beach is not within walking distance from where we stayed in our opinion. The streets are very narrow and winding and we did even attempt walking. We just used the bus. It stops directly in front of the hotel, the beach and in Quepos.

The weather is hot and muggy in March and particularly between the hours of 4:00 and 8:00. There is always a breeze so that made it bearable. We are Texans and we understand hot, but it is muggy. But, in spite of the mugginess and no a/c in our room, we would not have changed rooms for anything. At night with the fans and the wonderful ocean breeze it was cool. We loved hearing all the jungle sounds as well.

To sum it all up, Costa Verde is a wonderful place. We really enjoyed ourselves and the boys said they want to come back. I want to come back with our entire family.





M

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookie1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

After driving up the road to Manuel Antonio Park, I was very glad I chose this hotel. It is on a large compound with many buildings. The Costa Verde II is an adults only building and the Studio Plus units face the ocean and pool. The room is huge and could easily hold 4 people (if you don't need the privacy). I was a little concerned that no air conditioning would be a problem, but since you are facing the sea and 2 walls are just screen, the 4 fans keep the air moving and it does cool off at night. Any inland rooms would definitely need air conditioning. There is a full size balcony with leather rocking chairs as well as a fridge and kitchen. There is a lot of nice detail in the architecture - wood, stone, and decorative tile at this hotel. If you are in the tropics, you might as well stay in a place where you can see the ocean and sunset from your room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank featuretile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The extensive & hilly hotel grounds cover 2 sides of the main road. The lodgings range from fairly isolated studios to single rooms in small multiple unit buildings. We stayed in a solitary cabin located in the nursery area. Almost all the dwellings had some kind of ocean view. There are 3 small swimming pools spread over the grounds, & 3 affiliated restaurants across the street.

We found the staff very friendly & attentive. During our conversations with them they told us amenities vary significantly. Our cabin had fans, air-con in the bedrooms, free WIFI, cable TV, & a full kitchen. Some "back to nature" units do not have air-con, TVs, WIFI, or kitchens. One unit is in the shell of a Boeing 747 airliner! You may want to ensure the unit you reserve has the amenities you want.

The nursery cabin had some good & bad. The good included the privacy, the filtered water view from the deck, free WIFI, cable TV, & the full kitchen. The bad; an occasional smell of pesticides(maybe from the nursery plants), some noise from the restaurants across the street, & there were 2 dining areas with no living room furniture.

Over 3 days, we enjoyed walking the grounds. We actually saw more monkeys, birds, & other animals than during our 1 day visit of Manuel Antonio Park! Remember this is sub-tropical jungle so there are lots of insects, salamanders, etc.; & it can get hot & muggy.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay & would return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed in room 10 and loved it. The room was huge with a mini kitchen, huge deck and side view of the ocean and front privacy facing the "jungle" We deliberately booked the no-air conditioning no TV room.. It had 5 fans and night sounds of jungle and was delightful. We took the shuttle and arrived early. Our room wasn't ready, but we were able to put our bags in and went to lunch. I have seen some complaints about the restaurant being pricey and mediocre. I disagree. Found the food faily priced and very good, and the open air room on the hillside overlooking the ocean was amazing. The pitcher of sangria was some of the best I ever had. We were really lucky to see a group of squirrel monkeys in the trees on our way to our room.The pool was fine, nothing special ( except the view and the resident iguana), but the bar and bartender were great and it was intimate enough that all the guests interacted with each other. We also ate at the property across the street which is affiliated. The food there was also very good and the band was awesome(amazing guitar player). We were warned not to leave anything on the deck, but did not realize how bold the capuchin monkeys are. The actually tried to grab out stuff with us standing right there. I say just right for us. We are reasonally fit, and the walking was quite steep. I thought no air was wonderful, but it was hot and humid and not all would agree. Also CVII is adults only, though CVI is for families(and air condtioned)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Costa Verde
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing