We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Low Cost, Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
“Great Hotel, Low Cost, Great Food”
Reviewed September 24, 2008

The staff at Hotel Byblos makes the trip worthwhile. They were extremely helpful during our entire 3 day stay. They helped us determine what activities we may enjoy and gave recommendations on food/travel. They even set up private travel for us from the hotel and to our next destination. The food at the hotel was above average- and at a resonable cost. Breakfast was included and was a hot homemade meal- the pancakes are absolutely delicious! One night while we were swimming in the pool, we saw 2 different types of monkeys climbing in the trees above our bungalow. The bungalow itself was very clean, private, and safe. We had a slight problem with our clothes being damp and not drying- but I am pretty sure that was related to our traveling during the "wet season". The facility also offers a clothes cleaning service. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KIKS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    149
    57
    19
    20
See reviews for
107
203
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2008

The Byblos was very helpful in arranging the best tours of the area. The guides for the park & zipline tour were excellent. The pool is beautiful and surrounded by rainforest. Troops of monkeys (capuchian) visit several times a day. We even had a daily visit from a Howler monkey and one visit from a sloth (upside down of course). The Byblos has a very peaceful setting with a quiet stream and lush vegetation. The staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Our two school age children were treated like royalty and loved their visit - they did not want to leave Costa Rica. The food was very good - we especially loved the daily breakfast with local fruits. Afternoon fruity drinks at the pool bar were exceptional. Thanks to the Byblos for their hospitality and for making our trip to the Rainforest something we will treasure for years to come.

  • Liked — The staff's knowledge, friendliness and desire to make our trip exceptional.
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was excellent!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelmaven91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband and I went to Byblos for our honeymoon in mid-December of 2007. Before we left, I sent numerous e-mails to the staff at Byblos, asking for everything from a recommendation of tours to an evaluation of Interbus. They always responded quickly and honestly, even advising me not to spend the money on booking a room in Byblos the night we were to arrive but to stay in San Jose instead! Our original flight was to get us to San Jose after midnight. Luckily, it changed, so we were able to go right to Byblos!

After a very long ride from San Jose, we arrived. It was dark, so we couldn't see much, but there was festive music and people in both restaurants. I was concerned that it might be loud and keep us up, but as we were led to our private bungalow, we heard less and less. After steping into our room, we heard nothing at all unless we went on the deck.

The food in both restaurants was great (liked the poolside one better--the upstairs one was more of a party atmosphere). The staff had recommendations about where to eat cheaply, what tours to see and so on. There are a lot of stairs, which we actually really liked, but could be an issue for some. The monkeys and other creatures were all over, and there was plenty to do and see in walking distance of the hotel as well. There was even a grocery store a few blocks away, so we saved some money by buying ceral and sandwich stuff, which was nice.

We spent two nights at a more expensive hotel in Arenal (we wanted to see the volcano), but we loved Byblos much more, and couldn't wait to go back. Hopefully we'll be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeeCR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2008

A group of eight of us reserved four rooms for five nights. The first impression was that the rooms smelled and were a bit dingy. The bathrooms need to be refurbished. Our toilet constantly leaked at the base even after someone came to fix it.

The food in the pizzeria, both for breakfast and dinner, was nothing to write home about. The pizzeria did have extremely friendly and helpful service so I would recommend hanging out there to watch monkeys, have some drinks, and swim in a nice pool. The Bill Fish bar had average food and unfriendly employees.

Althought the rooms and restaurants were less than impressive the view was nice and watching monkeys was a daily occurance. The location was very central and the owners were very nice and helpful. For the money I would say it was a decent deal.

Overall, we had a nice stay.

P-S- Monday night is ladies night at the Bill Fish Bar. Do not go there after 8 pm if you want a quiet dinner. Also, do not stay if you plan to wake up early on Tuesday morning, as the music is very loud until 1am.

  • Liked — The animal watching.
  • Disliked — Bathrooms.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dreifke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Hotel Byblos is an excellent choice while staying in Manuel Antonio. The staff is extremely friendly and willing to help you with anything you need, including setting up trips, transportation, and restaurant recomendations. Our family stayed in two bungalows and they were extremely clean and comfortable.

The breakfast that was served each morning was great, a mix of the local typical and fresh fruits.

The hotel is in a great location, with monkeys spotted frequently playing in the trees. While we wished the hotel had been a little closer to the beach, it was easy and cheap to get a taxi or take the bus.

Overall the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel were the main positives. We left Manuel Antonio later on our last day and wanted to go to the beach in the morning. The staff was most accomodating, allowing us to check out late (3pm) from one of the bungalows and storing our luggage for us.

The Billfish Bar had a large crowd on certain nights, however, other nights it was very quiet. We couldn't hear the restaurant or bar at all from our bungalows.

We would not hesitate in staying at Hotel Byblos again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Distance to the beach
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kylieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We went to stay at the Byblos Hotel with 6 family members, the youngest being our daughter age 12, the oldest 80. The staff and owners of the hotel couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are clean. Byblos Hotel is great for a family vacation and we are planning to return with the rest of the crew. I highly recommend this Hotel for the young, the old, and everyone in between.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank voiceforpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2008

After being picked up at the airport and driven to the hotel, we were greeted by the owner and his wife who gave us a tour of the grounds. Not only where they informative but they were very personable and quick to tell us how to get the most out of our vacation in Costa Rica; telling us about the most exciting attractions, the best food, and how to communicate most efficiently with the natives. However, after seeing the great outdoor bar and pizzeria (which has the best pizza south of the border) sitting pool side in the middle of a lush and beautiful garden of exotic flowers and trees, i did not want to go anywhere. As if the pool was not relaxing enough, our room was more than accommidating with queen sized beds covered in flower peddles and towel animals every morning, cable television, a large bathroom with a beautifully tiled shower and fully functioning air conditioning, it was almost a challenge to leave the room. Every activity was booked through the hotel, which gave us a discount and saved us the hassle of trying to speak a foreign language and possibly being misled. At night the hotel has everything you could possibly want: A casino with english speaking dealers, a pool hall, a lively bar with different themes every night ranging from ladies night to salsa night (with a native salsa instructor), not to mention several TV's playing live sports (so i didnt have to miss the NBA finals).
To sum it all up, Byblos offers the ideal carefree vacation with everything thought of and taken care of.

  • Liked — The friendliness and liveliness of the staff and owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank axjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Property: Byblos Resort & Casino
Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing