We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkey's & Many Steps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Laughlin, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Monkey's & Many Steps”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This property is in a jungle setting with plenty of chances to see wildlife. They have a sports bar and an excellent pizzeria. Dining at the Byblos is very good. The only problem is that there are many steps to get from the rooms to the facilities.
Rooms are clean and nice. Would recommend this hotel if you don't mind the steps. Older persons with walking disabilities should not use this property,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    149
    55
    19
    18
See reviews for
104
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Byblos this past June. While this is by no means an all inclusive resort, there are so many other pros that it was worth it. The resort itself is beautiful and well maintained. We had a private bungalow which was lovely; there was a balcony where we could relax and look for animals (which are abundant at this resort) in the tress and creek. The staff was so sweet and decorated our room with rose petals and a bottle of campaign for our arrival. There are two restaurants which are good, and breakfast is included in your stay (at the poolside restaurant). The staff at the front desk made it very east for us when we expressed interest in excursions. We just provided them with the day, time, type of activity, and tour company we wanted to use, and we were given a voucher and everything was arranged for us, including transportation (which is included in most excursions). They even gave us several suggestions, and by no means seemed to be favoring certain companies or trying to get our business. If you choose, everything is charged to your room, and you pay your total upon discharge. My husband and I found this to be very convenient, and ended up spending less than anticipated! The staff even helped us with out Spanish which was cool. The "casino" at the hotel is kind of a joke, don't expect anything else. The beach and downtown area was just a short cab or bus ride away (both of which are readily available). If you want to stick to cabs, the staff at Byblos is able to help you out getting a cab. There were a few bugs in our room, but nothing too bad or even noticeable. Normally I would not be okay with this anywhere else, but I think this is to be expected in tropical clients. Overall, this was a lovely trip, with TONS to do and monkeys everywhere! Our only tip, DO NOT wear your glasses in the ocean, even when just walking in knee to waist deep water. My husband and I both lost a pair :-(

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location is pretty good, near to the park and places to eat. The hotel is fine, it's a bit worn looking in the room, but the water is hot, the beds are fine, and it has fridge, microwave, coffee etc for those that want it. Few geckos in the room too. They eat the mozzies so fine by me. The staff were nice, well the ladies were. We hired a car through the hotel and when we asked the chap on reception to call the company to let them know we would drop the car back, he told us it would block his line so we should call from the room. Bit rude, it's a hotel! Didn't fancy walking the 10 mins back to the room. The pool is nice enough and the breakfast and service there was good. Overall nice enough hotel, but a little dated.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location near the beaches with free parking in a gated lot. This was our last and favorite spot on a trip across the country. If you've come here to see wildlife you can skip the preserves. We saw agoti, sloth, tucans and monkeys just outside our door!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy33570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. The food was hit or miss but mostly on the good side. They have white face monkeys in their trees daily and on one day there was a group of about 8 squirrel monkeys which we found out was very rare (perhaps once a month)! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although, one of the older waiters at their poolside restaurant insisted that the ham that they accidentally put in our calzone instead of bacon was "costa rican bacon". Kind of a jerk move, but if thats the worst of the stay I'll take it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joshua e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Melissa was great and the entire staff tried hard to keep us happy. Take the bus to get wherever, it's .50 and gets you anywhere and runs frequently. Good breakfast, take advantage of buying an extra fruit platter for only $2 great snack to take back to the room for later.
Walk to the coffee shop Malangro check out he carrot cake and the coffee and the falafel place across the street (great food, good price). We saw lot's of monkeys on the grounds great viewing from our room.

Room Tip: Bungalow is the way to go. Stayed in room 4 probably the best location. Bungalow 2 looked like a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The rainforest provides a beautiful backdrop to this hotel, and the property is situated so that it blends seamlessly with the landscape. We stayed here for 3 nights, and we saw a group of monkeys in trees right next to the balcony. We also saw other wildlife, including an unusual animal that we could not identify.

The hotel has no elevator, but a staff member assisted us with carrying our bags up the stairs. There are a LOT of stairs here (the restaurant is down below by the pool, so you need to go down in order to eat). This wasn't a problem for us, and we enjoyed looking at the variety of plants along the way. Rooms were spacious and clean. The restaurant is open-air next to the pool, a nice relaxing place for breakfast. We were given a menu with various breakfast options, from heavier meals with eggs and rice & beans to the lighter fruit & granola.

Most of the hotels for Manuel Antonio are situated on the hillside next to the beach, so you do not have an ocean view. The Byblos does, however, have nice scenery because of the rainforest behind the hotel. If you walk a block downhill, there's a bus stop where you can catch a bus to the beach (or to Quepos, going the other direction) for about 60 cents if you don't want to walk (it's about 45 minutes to the public beach). You could also take a taxi, which always seem to be available.

The staff at the hotel were professional, but perhaps less personal than other places. This is understandable given the high amount of tourism here. We did have one issue regarding the service-- there were only 2 towels in our room, although there were 3 of us. We requested another towel and were told that one would be brought in. We left and returned hours later, but still no towel. After spending the day at the beach, we all needed to shower. We asked again and were told that they could not get one at that time, which seemed really odd. Perhaps an isolated incidence, but I did deduct a star for this reason. Otherwise, I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
532 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Property: Byblos Resort & Casino
Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing