We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasant enough, lots of monkeys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
London
Level Contributor
339 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough, lots of monkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location is pretty good, near to the park and places to eat. The hotel is fine, it's a bit worn looking in the room, but the water is hot, the beds are fine, and it has fridge, microwave, coffee etc for those that want it. Few geckos in the room too. They eat the mozzies so fine by me. The staff were nice, well the ladies were. We hired a car through the hotel and when we asked the chap on reception to call the company to let them know we would drop the car back, he told us it would block his line so we should call from the room. Bit rude, it's a hotel! Didn't fancy walking the 10 mins back to the room. The pool is nice enough and the breakfast and service there was good. Overall nice enough hotel, but a little dated.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    137
    50
    17
    13
See reviews for
97
182
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location near the beaches with free parking in a gated lot. This was our last and favorite spot on a trip across the country. If you've come here to see wildlife you can skip the preserves. We saw agoti, sloth, tucans and monkeys just outside our door!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy33570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. The food was hit or miss but mostly on the good side. They have white face monkeys in their trees daily and on one day there was a group of about 8 squirrel monkeys which we found out was very rare (perhaps once a month)! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although, one of the older waiters at their poolside restaurant insisted that the ham that they accidentally put in our calzone instead of bacon was "costa rican bacon". Kind of a jerk move, but if thats the worst of the stay I'll take it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joshua e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Melissa was great and the entire staff tried hard to keep us happy. Take the bus to get wherever, it's .50 and gets you anywhere and runs frequently. Good breakfast, take advantage of buying an extra fruit platter for only $2 great snack to take back to the room for later.
Walk to the coffee shop Malangro check out he carrot cake and the coffee and the falafel place across the street (great food, good price). We saw lot's of monkeys on the grounds great viewing from our room.

Room Tip: Bungalow is the way to go. Stayed in room 4 probably the best location. Bungalow 2 looked like a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The rainforest provides a beautiful backdrop to this hotel, and the property is situated so that it blends seamlessly with the landscape. We stayed here for 3 nights, and we saw a group of monkeys in trees right next to the balcony. We also saw other wildlife, including an unusual animal that we could not identify.

The hotel has no elevator, but a staff member assisted us with carrying our bags up the stairs. There are a LOT of stairs here (the restaurant is down below by the pool, so you need to go down in order to eat). This wasn't a problem for us, and we enjoyed looking at the variety of plants along the way. Rooms were spacious and clean. The restaurant is open-air next to the pool, a nice relaxing place for breakfast. We were given a menu with various breakfast options, from heavier meals with eggs and rice & beans to the lighter fruit & granola.

Most of the hotels for Manuel Antonio are situated on the hillside next to the beach, so you do not have an ocean view. The Byblos does, however, have nice scenery because of the rainforest behind the hotel. If you walk a block downhill, there's a bus stop where you can catch a bus to the beach (or to Quepos, going the other direction) for about 60 cents if you don't want to walk (it's about 45 minutes to the public beach). You could also take a taxi, which always seem to be available.

The staff at the hotel were professional, but perhaps less personal than other places. This is understandable given the high amount of tourism here. We did have one issue regarding the service-- there were only 2 towels in our room, although there were 3 of us. We requested another towel and were told that one would be brought in. We left and returned hours later, but still no towel. After spending the day at the beach, we all needed to shower. We asked again and were told that they could not get one at that time, which seemed really odd. Perhaps an isolated incidence, but I did deduct a star for this reason. Otherwise, I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I selected this hotel because of the reviews that i read about the abundance of wild life close by. When we checked in, I asked if we could see the monkeys from our room, and was told that most of the monkeys and sloths had migrated into the Manual Antoino state park at this time. I was disappointed by that response. But my biggest disappointment was the path that we had to take to get to our room. From the hotel check in location, we had to go down about 20+ steps to get to the landing where the restaurant/pool area was. (where the complimentary breakfast was also served). THen we went around the pool and down about 10 more steps. Then we walked across a bridge where a small creek ran below us, then up about 8 steps on the other side. Then we walked about 10 feet and up 7 more steps to the door to our room. The hotel provided someone to carry our luggage to our room which I would never have been able to do on my own.

The room was a descent size with a very small refrigerator and an old fashion microwave. The bathroom fixtures were outdated. THe balcony had a table and chairs which would allow you to eat a meal or snack out there. To prove that there was still wildlife around, I was awaken in the middle of the night by a repeated animal screech somewhere within 30-50 feet of my room.

The hotel staff spoke English well, and Juan Carlos was very helpful. The breakfast was cook to order from a few items on the menu. This was somewhat of a disappointment because I had just come from a hotel that had a full breakfast buffet.

I would not suggest this hotel for someone who may have problems walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMountain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had an amazing time staying at the Byblos Hotel. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and the food at the hotel restaurant was amazing! We had our own bungalow which really gave us the real jungle experience. Throughout the day I always saw monkeys and other animals on site at the hotel. We were never bothered by other guests staying at the hotel. All together it was very peaceful and relaxing to stay there. The hotel concierge was great and set up all of our excursions for the week. I would definitely recommend for other people to stay here. It isn't your typical fancy exotic resort, but it is great for the money we paid. I honestly had no complaints, the only people I can imagine who would... would be high maintenance individuals ;)

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in their bungalows for the REAL jungle vibe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enzina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#23 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Property: Byblos Resort & Casino
Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing