We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in the Jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed a few different places in Manuel Antonio over the past several years. I thought I would try something a bit different. Byblos has the real jungle atmosphere even though I could hear laughing and loud music from the sports bar which was not too far away. It did not really bother me too much since I enjoy music and a good time. The room was nice and clean. The monkeys were also fun to watch from the balcony. Everyone was friendly and the food was good. I really enjoyed the pool bar. It has a very nice atmosphere. Not spectacular but overall a good experience. I would visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainDonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 476 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Situated on main road with cafes within walking distance. Older hotel but well kept and attentive staff. Grounds are beautiful as is the restaurant. Monkeys play in and around. Breakfasts were good Costa Rican fare but didn't try other meals. Liked our balcony overlooking the water. Wish the beach was closer (walking distance). Tiny little casino that opens at night(blackjack, slots).
Our only complaint was the bar music in the lower floor booming till midnight. Fortunately we only heard it 1 of the 3 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hondotank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

we spent 3 nites in April at Byblos. One look at our dark little room rite next to the bar and we were reaching for our wallets to upgrade to the bungalows - best move of our trip. The privacy of the cabins (you don't hear the sports bar racket much) - your own private balcony - the "feel" of the jungle with birds and monkeys all around. Front desk people were friendly and helpful (Alexandra is a real sweetheart). Breakfast was good. Pool was clean and refreshing (i sat by the pool with a drink one afternoon and watched a complete nature show for a couple hours)
There are quite a few stairs to navigate to get to the bungalows which would be a factor for anyone with mobility issues. The "casino" title is quite the misnomer - couple slot machines off the bar i think?
All in all - i would definitely recommend this place for those who want something a little different and enjoy nature.

Room Tip: we stayed in cabin 7 one nite (exposed to pool area but best "nature" location. other nite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaydee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited the Byblos the second week of February. We were there for 4 nights. The hotel is well located. You can walk to the beach by a small and steep gravel road on the other side of the street or you can take the public bus in front of the hotel and within 5-10 minutes you will arrive at the main beach and the entrance to the Manuel Antonio national park. We had a bungalow. It was clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was in need of renovation and there was always some small ants on the bathroom floor. However, there was plenty of hot water. The bungalow has a decent size balcony with a view of the pool and the jungle. The breakfast served at the hotel by the pool had limited choices but it was good. We had dinner at the restaurant by the pool one evening. The food and the service was good and the price was reasonable. The hotel also made a reservation for us for a catamaran sunset cruise which was amazing. There is plenty of small shops and restaurants close by the Byblos which is convenient. The pool was nice and clean. One reason why we chose this hotel was the possibility to see wildlife and especially monkeys on the site. We were very excited to see white face and squirrel monkeys every day. This was really the highlight of our stay at the Byblos. Overall this hotel met our expectation for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Bungalow are certainly larger and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want to watch sports when you're in Manuel Antonio, Byblos has the best sports bar. It has multiple screens with several games going on at once at times. The locals voted it "Best Sports Bar" and it's where they go to watch their favorite teams.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent hotel in Manuel Antonio park
Stuff was very helpful and friendly, tried to assist in trip planning.

The hotel is located close to Manuel Antonio national park entrance (less than 5 minutes by car).
At 5 pm you can expect for guests in pool area (monkeys :) ) and on evening you can walk to any of few cafes located nearby.

Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

While sipping a mojito at byblos restaurant with a nice view of jungle and pool we'd like to post this review. We are backpackers all the way from holland and have stayed in all different types of accomodations. Byblos hotel was far the best in costa rica. The bungalows are absolutely great and offer a beautiful view of the jungle with its wildlife. Relaxing on your own verranda after a good hike in the national park is perfect. The rooms are clean and wel equipped. The staff is very friendly and the pool is superb. We absolutely reccommend this hotel. The park is about 5 km away, however the public transport is convenient and cheap. We'd like to thank the whole byblos staff for their hospitality and making us feel like home.
Pura Vida.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rensjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,031 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#5 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $90 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing