We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byblos Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks in Costa Rica and 5 days of that time was at Manuel Antonio. The trip so far had been organised by Gate 1 ( highly recommend ). However the last 5 days we were independent. Had a hire car and drove to Manuel Antonio from Samara. Took about 5 hours. We did not book in advance and wanted to see where would like and after trying a couple of places that were full we to the Byblos Resort. Wow loved it. We had a bungalow $130.00 a night including breakfast. The bungalow in the jungle, surrounded by monkeys 3 species, birds, iguanas and giant guinea pigs. Fantastic pool, out of the busy and a bit crazy beach at national park. We saw more wildlife at hotel than in the Natioal park. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: 01 Cabin is a great position. The rooms may get beach view only slightly but on road and more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    140
    51
    17
    14
See reviews for
101
185
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a great place. Tucked away within the jungle on the side of the mountain right across from the Ocean is a great little place!!

The room was nice, the food good, the Bartender Davy fantastic. All in all a great place to be.

Breakfast was cooked to order in the morning before you head out to explore the area. The ziplining near there one of the best in the world!

Every morning and afternoon was Monkey time and other birds and animals were everywhere! We were there last April and have already booked another stay at this resort this May!!!

Cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get a bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
513 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a treat to spend several days tucked away in a rain forest bungalow! We got an upgrade on our original room so we could stay in one of the bungalows. (An additional $40 - including tax - for the 3 nights.) We were in #6 - overlooking the pool and restaurant. There was still plenty of privacy. The monkeys came up the tree right in front of our porch, over the roof of our bungalow and disappeared into the jungle behind. What a show!
The room is charming and spacious. The porch the best feature - perfect for sitting and reading or having a drink in the evening. The bathroom is small, but the shower and vanity area are adequate. Air conditioning is a must here - as it is hot and humid - and we used it.
We loved the pool - they keep it sparkling clean - and the restaurant is welcoming with very friendly waiters. The food is good, if a bit pricey. Happy hour does not include beer - so expect to spend a bit more for if you are a beer drinker. We did not visit the bar/club that is above the reception area - but there was plenty of activity there at night, including a DJ and ladies night.
The breakfast buffet had wonderful food - the usual abundant assortment. And the waiter prepared a special papaya smoothie without sugar just for us!
The location is excellent. We walked down the hill to the Manuel Antonio Nature Preserve, but took a bus back up to the hotel as the hill is a killer. We also drove into Quepos for lunch - in search of a good casado. There are all sorts of restaurants within easy walking distance - right across the street facing the ocean for a great view while you dine. But they can be expensive.
This stay was one of the highlights of our trip to CR - as this resort had a true a get-a-way feeling. A bit of heaven!

Room Tip: Get a bungalow if you can. Although we did not check out the rooms in the hotel proper, it looked l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azle tx
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We are so glad we asked for the $12.00 a night room upgrade to a bungalow. Treetop view of monkeys and the beautiful gardens. Breakfast was cooked to order and the wait staff was great- fresh pineapple juice- delicious. Took the tour at Manuel Antonio- but left the tour at the beach so we could stay and enjoy the beach and do a hike. The hotel arranged for a spa outing for me that was fabulous.

Room Tip: We were in bungalow #1 which was the handicap model-I think it was the best because of the treetop l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redAzleTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Less than three miles from Manuel Antonio National Park, Blyblos Resort is nestled in a mature jungle-like tropical garden. From the balcony we watched monkeys playing in the treetops. Tiny babies clung to their mother's backs as they jumped from tree to tree. Iguanas sunned themselves in the tree canopy. Toucans fed, flitting from treetop to treetop and a small mammal called an agouti fed quietly about the grounds. We found unusual frogs by the stream that meanders thru the resort. The rooms were huge and the beds comfortable. This isn't a luxury resort but is very good. There are some stairs. The restaurant was excellent. Best of all was the friendly staff who graciously went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating in every situation. We would love to return!
\

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spent our first night at a place with a super uncomfortable bed and lumpy pillows. We needed a place where we could take our dog, so we called and found this place! It was AMAZING! They accommodated us with our small dog, and offered us the best room available for a great deal (since it was still green season). We had an incredibly cozy king bed, comfy pillows, and a big balcony overlooking the jungle where we saw monkeys and all sorts of birds. I'm totally stay here on my next trip to MA!

Room Tip: Stay in a bungalow room. We stayed in #2 which was close enough to the pool but far enough away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knstinnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The setting makes Byblos unique. The very lush, well-kept rainforest vegetation was nicer than Manuel Antonio itself, and I saw a lot more wildlife (white headed capuchins, agoutis, basilisks, many birds, including toucans, aracari, motmot, parakeets, tanagers, hummers) at Byblos than I did in 3 visits into the Parque. Go to the Parque for sloths.

The restaurant wait staff and front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. Kitchen maybe a little slow, but the setting and the head waiter were so nice we didn't mind. We had the kitchen prepare some spanish mackeral that we caught, and even though spanish are often considered cat food, they were fantastic!

The rooms were fine, but not luxurious. We were confined there by rain a few times, and a comfortable chair or two would have been nice.

The steps were a bit of a pain, but understandable. We stayed 5 nights, and wished we could stay more.

Room Tip: We all agreed that the bungalows are the best, especially the middle ones. We were in #4, it was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#21 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Property: Byblos Resort & Casino
Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing