We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Spent 5 nights at Byblos (pronounced Bee-Blos). Very good mid-price range hotel in the center of the Manuel Antonio area. Several things in walking distance- ATM machine, several restaurants, and nice coffee shop (Cafe Milagro). We even walked to Manuel Antonio Park/beach area one day (about a mile or so) but usually took the bus there (about $0.22 each way, runs every 30 minutes).

We didn't bother with a rental car. We paid for a transfer to and from San Jose (tjtransfers@gmail.com). They have very nice LARGE vans and traveling with our driver (Rubier) was a pleasure. The roads were not as bad as I expected from other reviews - but then again I did grow up in Alabama!

Phone calls to USA were reasonable direct from the room (if you don't talk much), about $0.50 a minute. We had a deluxe room with an ocean view. It was on the top level and had a decent view of the ocean but somewhat obstructed by trees. The entire staff was very nice and helpful when we asked questions.

The hotel courtyard appears to be in the path of the daily monkey migrations. Every morning right after daylight the monkeys moved through the grounds and late afternoon they came back through. One day there were two sloths in a tree right outside our room. I did not expect this much wildlife activity when we checked in. One afternoon our waiter saw a Toucan about 100 yards away at the edge of the grounds. I could hear it but only saw the limb shake- not be bird.

Met one of the American owners (Sari?) when we checked in. Heard girls squealing and thought someone found a snake- but the noise was caused by the owner and owner's daughter. The daughter had just gotten engaged and was showing her new ring to her mom.

The owner was very friendly and gave us several recommendations for restaurants within walking distance. It was funny- after naming a few she also stated (almost as an after-thought) that the food at Byblos was good (which it is). She definitely was not trying to push their restaurants!

We really enjoyed dining at Agua Azul. Probably the best and freshest seafood I've ever had, but a bit more expensive than most restaurants in the area (but similar to a nice dinner in Atlanta). Beautiful view of the Pacific. Dinner for two with a nice bottle of wine was about $100 total. You would be hard pressed to spend $100 at most other restaurants in the area. You can go to any restaurant wearing beach attire- everything is casual. We also liked Barba Roja- also had a great view of sunsets.

The hotel has two restaurants- one down by the pool and one inside the sports bar. The prices are moderate by hotel standards (about $8 for sandwich plates, $12-$15 for dinners). Beer appears to be a good deal at the hotel, less than $2 for Costa Rican beer (and it tastes good!). Mixed drinks are more, in the $4 - $7 range. Cooked-to-order Breakfast is included with your room and is very good with several choices. Their pizza was also good.

Last comment. If you book a room at Byblos, do it with a service like Expedia- you get a much better rate than if you book it directly with the hotel ($116/night versus $176/night for same room).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EEGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 476 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2008

Very nice stay at the Byblos. Highly recommend the villas, which are more secluded, yet just a few steps away from the swimming pool. Paid $108/night for a WE stay on Expedia, that was half the price of Si Como No across the stree for an (almost) as good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

What an awesome place. This hotel is located in a beautiful tropical setting, with tons of trees, birds and monkeys. Yes monkeys they swing through the trees as you eat breakfast lunch and dinner. The hotel is within easy walking distance to resturants, shops and bars. The staff were amazing. They were more than willing to go the extra mile to accomodate your needs and did it all with a smile. The rooms are clean and comfortable although I recommend a bungalow as these are among trees and you can see the wildlife better. It's close to Manuel Antonio, only a $6 cab ride, lots of sun and sand, chairs umbrellas all for rent and of course the locals selling their crafts. We booked several of trips though the hotel and they were great. I strongly reccomend the ATV trip, booked though Byblos. There are several companies out there but this is by far the best. $70 got us picked up from the hotel around 1.30 pm, taken and given the lesson on how to ride. We are then taken though the roads to a river where you stop to swim. On the way we saw a sloth, toucans and crocodliles. We then went riding again after the swim and was taken back to the base where we were given a wonderful meal of rice, chicken and salad and as much to drink both alcohol and soft drinks as we wanted. A GREAT TRIP. We arrived back at the hotel at 6.30 pm. Another good one is the Pink Panther boat trip.... awesome.
Want to say a speical thanks to the people in the resturant at Byblos. wonderful people and NOTHING is too much trouble.
Also Dexter, paul and Carolina at the office in Byblos.again...wonderful people. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is able to walk stairs. Apart from the bunglaows the hotel rooms are up several flights of staris, not suitable for whheelchairs or anyone having difficulty walking.
Thanks Byblos and the poeple of Costa Rica we really had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank morgons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

When we arrived at 9:30pm to for check-in, we were greeted with surliness, even though it is not an unreasonable hour. However, after getting into our bungalow, we were pleasantly surprised that the room was modern, clean and relatively quiet. Upon closer inspection, however, some problems were discovered. The door did not have a very reassuring lock. The safe worked fine, and the bathroom was modern and clean, but the fridge was old and musty and it was not even possible to open it all the way. The bungalow definitely seems to be the way to go, since the main building of rooms looks directly onto a parking lot and the main road of Manuel Antonio. The hotel had a deserted feeling when we were there. The grounds are quite small and we didn't see any animals. The creek that runs through the property had a strange foam and greyish color (though this may not be the fault of the hotel itself). Overall, staying here is not nightmarish or intolerable, but there are better ways to spend your time in Quepos/Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I was soooo pleased that I booked this hotel - it was fabulous! Check in was easy and wonderful and I was even upgraded to a suite!!! But the room that I had booked was on the same floor and would have been fine! The front desk was always very helpful. I booked all my tours thru them. They were able to recommend which ones and if I had a question about a certain tour they had an answer. Even if they didn't know they got on the phone and called to find out - great customer service! When I returned each day from the tours they would ask me how it went! The location of the hotel is on the main road....easy bus ride or cab to the beach or to Quepos town - about $6 each way. The bus was only about 35 cents! There is a supermarket up the road to fill up your room fridge. And many places to eat within walking distance. The hotel even cooked up the fish my friend's had caught one day and we enjoyed a great dinner!!! The pool never seemed crowded - you could always get a lounge chair. I would stay again here in a heartbeat.....wonderful! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

What a great place! Paul let us check in early, and was friendly and very accomodating. The pizza was the best! My kids loved the pool, and the view was beautiful. The room was spacious and clean. El Byblos is in a good spot, I quick bus ride to the park, and close to other good restaurants. Carolina even allowed my kids to swim in the pool, hours after we checked out. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank familyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Stayed in one of the bunglelows in the Jungle portion of the property and it was great. Had great views of monkeys at least a couple of times while we stayed there. The casino is a little small but people are nice. Nice sports bar area and the staff is great. The staff at the hotel was great. They treated us very well the entire time and booked us on some great tours. Make sure to do the park tour with the guide they use. He was great! There is ALOT of stairs to the bunglelows so be mindful of that for people that may have disabilities.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $86 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing