We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Certificate of Excellence
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Very nice stay at the Byblos. Highly recommend the villas, which are more secluded, yet just a few steps away from the swimming pool. Paid $108/night for a WE stay on Expedia, that was half the price of Si Como No across the stree for an (almost) as good experience.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    149
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
104
200
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

What an awesome place. This hotel is located in a beautiful tropical setting, with tons of trees, birds and monkeys. Yes monkeys they swing through the trees as you eat breakfast lunch and dinner. The hotel is within easy walking distance to resturants, shops and bars. The staff were amazing. They were more than willing to go the extra mile to accomodate your needs and did it all with a smile. The rooms are clean and comfortable although I recommend a bungalow as these are among trees and you can see the wildlife better. It's close to Manuel Antonio, only a $6 cab ride, lots of sun and sand, chairs umbrellas all for rent and of course the locals selling their crafts. We booked several of trips though the hotel and they were great. I strongly reccomend the ATV trip, booked though Byblos. There are several companies out there but this is by far the best. $70 got us picked up from the hotel around 1.30 pm, taken and given the lesson on how to ride. We are then taken though the roads to a river where you stop to swim. On the way we saw a sloth, toucans and crocodliles. We then went riding again after the swim and was taken back to the base where we were given a wonderful meal of rice, chicken and salad and as much to drink both alcohol and soft drinks as we wanted. A GREAT TRIP. We arrived back at the hotel at 6.30 pm. Another good one is the Pink Panther boat trip.... awesome.
Want to say a speical thanks to the people in the resturant at Byblos. wonderful people and NOTHING is too much trouble.
Also Dexter, paul and Carolina at the office in Byblos.again...wonderful people. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is able to walk stairs. Apart from the bunglaows the hotel rooms are up several flights of staris, not suitable for whheelchairs or anyone having difficulty walking.
Thanks Byblos and the poeple of Costa Rica we really had a great time.

  • Liked — The surroundings
  • Disliked — All the stiars to the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank morgons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

When we arrived at 9:30pm to for check-in, we were greeted with surliness, even though it is not an unreasonable hour. However, after getting into our bungalow, we were pleasantly surprised that the room was modern, clean and relatively quiet. Upon closer inspection, however, some problems were discovered. The door did not have a very reassuring lock. The safe worked fine, and the bathroom was modern and clean, but the fridge was old and musty and it was not even possible to open it all the way. The bungalow definitely seems to be the way to go, since the main building of rooms looks directly onto a parking lot and the main road of Manuel Antonio. The hotel had a deserted feeling when we were there. The grounds are quite small and we didn't see any animals. The creek that runs through the property had a strange foam and greyish color (though this may not be the fault of the hotel itself). Overall, staying here is not nightmarish or intolerable, but there are better ways to spend your time in Quepos/Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I was soooo pleased that I booked this hotel - it was fabulous! Check in was easy and wonderful and I was even upgraded to a suite!!! But the room that I had booked was on the same floor and would have been fine! The front desk was always very helpful. I booked all my tours thru them. They were able to recommend which ones and if I had a question about a certain tour they had an answer. Even if they didn't know they got on the phone and called to find out - great customer service! When I returned each day from the tours they would ask me how it went! The location of the hotel is on the main road....easy bus ride or cab to the beach or to Quepos town - about $6 each way. The bus was only about 35 cents! There is a supermarket up the road to fill up your room fridge. And many places to eat within walking distance. The hotel even cooked up the fish my friend's had caught one day and we enjoyed a great dinner!!! The pool never seemed crowded - you could always get a lounge chair. I would stay again here in a heartbeat.....wonderful! Highly recommend!

  • Liked — Location, room size, comfy beds, and fridge!
  • Disliked — nothing - it was great!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

What a great place! Paul let us check in early, and was friendly and very accomodating. The pizza was the best! My kids loved the pool, and the view was beautiful. The room was spacious and clean. El Byblos is in a good spot, I quick bus ride to the park, and close to other good restaurants. Carolina even allowed my kids to swim in the pool, hours after we checked out. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank familyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Stayed in one of the bunglelows in the Jungle portion of the property and it was great. Had great views of monkeys at least a couple of times while we stayed there. The casino is a little small but people are nice. Nice sports bar area and the staff is great. The staff at the hotel was great. They treated us very well the entire time and booked us on some great tours. Make sure to do the park tour with the guide they use. He was great! There is ALOT of stairs to the bunglelows so be mindful of that for people that may have disabilities.

  • Liked — The room location
  • Disliked — The A/C remote was broken so it was like a meat locker in our room.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsharkattack
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2008

My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to book a few nights at the Byblos during the high season only two weeks before our trip. While the hotel didn't have enough room to host us during our entire week in Quepos, we loved our three nights in Bungelow #1. The spacious room and huge balcony above a lush garden were wonderful. We'd wake up to the sound of monkeys and birds just outside of our room. Each evening a family of monkeys would make their way across the treetops of the property - so cool!

The staff was very nice - Paul, one of the fellows at the desk, was our favorite - he arranged a number of tours for us and had a fantastic attitude.

Breakfast by the pool was nice each morning- food was fine which it certainly should have been for the price, but nothing spectacular. With all due respect to the Byblos, just about every hotel and restaurant in the area felt a bit overpriced.

The bar provided low-key entertainment in the way of billiards. The casino was small and took our money. :(

I really liked the Byblos and I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Liked — The bungelow's view of the jungle
  • Disliked — The schmuck that was staying next door.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrsharkattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
526 reviews
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
430 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Property: Byblos Resort & Casino
Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing