We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Less than three miles from Manuel Antonio National Park, Blyblos Resort is nestled in a mature jungle-like tropical garden. From the balcony we watched monkeys playing in the treetops. Tiny babies clung to their mother's backs as they jumped from tree to tree. Iguanas sunned themselves in the tree canopy. Toucans fed, flitting from treetop to treetop and a small mammal called an agouti fed quietly about the grounds. We found unusual frogs by the stream that meanders thru the resort. The rooms were huge and the beds comfortable. This isn't a luxury resort but is very good. There are some stairs. The restaurant was excellent. Best of all was the friendly staff who graciously went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating in every situation. We would love to return!
\

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    137
    50
    17
    13
See reviews for
97
182
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spent our first night at a place with a super uncomfortable bed and lumpy pillows. We needed a place where we could take our dog, so we called and found this place! It was AMAZING! They accommodated us with our small dog, and offered us the best room available for a great deal (since it was still green season). We had an incredibly cozy king bed, comfy pillows, and a big balcony overlooking the jungle where we saw monkeys and all sorts of birds. I'm totally stay here on my next trip to MA!

Room Tip: Stay in a bungalow room. We stayed in #2 which was close enough to the pool but far enough away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knstinnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The setting makes Byblos unique. The very lush, well-kept rainforest vegetation was nicer than Manuel Antonio itself, and I saw a lot more wildlife (white headed capuchins, agoutis, basilisks, many birds, including toucans, aracari, motmot, parakeets, tanagers, hummers) at Byblos than I did in 3 visits into the Parque. Go to the Parque for sloths.

The restaurant wait staff and front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. Kitchen maybe a little slow, but the setting and the head waiter were so nice we didn't mind. We had the kitchen prepare some spanish mackeral that we caught, and even though spanish are often considered cat food, they were fantastic!

The rooms were fine, but not luxurious. We were confined there by rain a few times, and a comfortable chair or two would have been nice.

The steps were a bit of a pain, but understandable. We stayed 5 nights, and wished we could stay more.

Room Tip: We all agreed that the bungalows are the best, especially the middle ones. We were in #4, it was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were there for 3 nights and from the moment we went to our room, we were impressed to say the least. The grounds of this hotel was awesome. We saw sloths, iguanas, monkeys, couti's and frogs like I have never seen before. This is quite common to see all of these each day we were there. The grounds of this hotel were lush with all kinds of vegetation and and georgous flowers and it was amazing to wake up each day to listening to the animals in the "jungle". The dining room /bar was very good and the waiters there very friendly and helpful. So was Melissa at the reception area. She spoke fluent English so there were no communication problems. I would go back there in a minute if I ever return to this beautiful country.

Room Tip: We were offered a bungalow but chose a queen bed room on the 2nd level. It was perfect because you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavisFromAustin, Owner at Byblos Resort & Casino, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Zohn,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor, we appreciate kind feedback! It was not only a pleasure to be able to host you at Byblos, but as you experienced yourself.....being located in a wildlife corredor means the animals give you a hearty welcome as well! Sometimes the howler monkeys are overly enthusiastic during guests visit, though the guests rarely mind! We look forward to hosting you again soon in Paradise!
Pura vida,
Davis Henley (owner) and Melissa Guevara (Guest Services)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently, I had a wonderful stay at
Byblos. I've come to Costa Rica with my dog and we needed a place for a few days.
There doesn't seem to be many hotels that take dogs. What good fortune to find Byblos listed with Hotels.com.
U
Melissa at the front desk arranged a ride from the airport in San Jose at literally the last moment. A nice man named Victor who was taking dinner home to his wife. Our bungalow was exceptionally lovely. Pure luxury for weary travelers. My favourite was the beautiful patio overlooking a bubbling stream. Quite the welcome to Costa Rica. Breakfast was included and delicious. Try the Bill-Fish salad in the bar...it is truly a marriage of lovely flavour. Byblos also has a variety of amazing live music and activities most nights. And the best thing??? My dog Lilly was welcome at all. In the restaurant, the bar and the gardens.
I saw monkeys cavorting about the pool during the day and apparently they sleep in the palms at night. That's the life!!! They know what's going on...

I needed to find a place to rent....I had a few leads but finding one that takes dogs can be complicated. Juan Carlos at the desk helped me find an apartment.
So really...the staff at Byblos not only gave me a great hotel stay...they helped me start a new life in Costa Rica. And it was agreeable to my budget....that's a 5-star resort...by my book!!!

Room Tip: ...stay in one of the bungalows...they are quiet during the day...and you can open the door to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alinor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavisFromAustin, Owner at Byblos Resort & Casino, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Alinor777,
It was a pleasure meeting you! Thank you for your kind comments, and welcome to the area. We and the Byblos staff look forward to seeing you around town, at the restaurant or Billfish Sports Bar, or feel free to just stop in and say hello!
Pura vida,
Davis Henley (owner) and Melissa Guevara (Guest Services)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, oh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The service and compassion we received at Byblos single-handedly inspired me to review Byblos. In a country full of caring, fun-loving and beautiful people there is a person who stands above the rest - MELISSA. She will ensure that your stay and everything attached to it is positive and memorable.

Thank you Melissa! You are a tremendous asset to Byblos and a wonderful person.

Anyone visiting Quepos or Manuel Antonio should spend a few nights at Byblos in the bungalows. Other reviewers go into further detail, but its a grand experience and I cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: The bungalows are unique and unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My daughter & I were given an upgrade to one of the bungalows. It was great, a little dated but still nice. Loved the balcony and L-shape chaise. It was nice to sit out there at night and listen to the sounds of the frogs and creek running through the property. We had a nice view of the pool and restaurant from our balcony. Front desk was very helpful in getting us excursions set up and taking luggage to room (there are a lot of steps to climb to get to the bungalows). Casino is real small, not like we would expect here in the states, but its ok. Both restaurants were good and the one upstairs always had some type of entertainment. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing a lot of steps the bungalows are worth getting. Otherwise, I would g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbs1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#21 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Property: Byblos Resort & Casino
Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing