We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location - beautiful”
Review of Hotel Arboleda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arboleda
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location - beautiful”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

If you are looking for service or a beautiful room- not the place for you. But if you care more about location and natural beauty, then this place is perfect. The rooms are very basic, but clean.
But if you want to be right on the ocean - which is a rarity in Manuel Antonio - then this is the place for you. Most all other hotels are up on a hill. You can sit here at a basic wooden bar looking at the sunset and it is beautiful. I love it here, but I care more about the surrounding beauty than the room I only sleep in. Many Europeans stay here because they like to travel for less and are not as demanding about the rooms they stay in as many American travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank islandgirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    8
    7
    31
See reviews for
8
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This place has been beset with problems since I've been going to Quepos/Manuel Antonio, 19 years. It really is 2 places--a "hotel" and then cabins very close to the beach. I stayed in one of the cabins for 1 night.

I love this place for the restaurant and their beach bar--both right on the beach. So when you're walking the beach, look for it. It is to the north of Karahe hotel maybe 100-200 yards. Stop for ceviche and a beer.

Never, ever consider staying at the Hotel or the cabinas.

Room Tip: Any room in Quepos/M.A. other then there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The ONLY thing this place has to offer is its location. This would be great if you were camping on the beach. The rooms are beyond creepy. If you are a person that is very low maintenance and dont mind staying in a shed wo basic things like a safe shower, than this place would do, but why would you pay this much to stay at a run down place like this? For what this "hotel" offers it is SUPER overprized to say the least. I am currently staying at this place and it is 4am, cant sleep creeped out and we got one of their nicest rooms! They priced their rooms wo airconditioning or windows (something like the trenches in WWII but wo the airflow) at $65 a night! Lol that is hilarious considering that it is 100% humidity and hot as hell in this location. Their bathrooms are the freakiest of all... I should probably snap a few pics to give you guys an idea bc no imagination will do it justice. I ended up here bc my husband didnt feel like driving around to look for a better place and I didnt feel like arguing at the moment. I wish I screamed on top of my lungs... the beach however is sooo beautiful and i would totally just camp out there but we were told by the staff that after 8pm it is not safe. I dont know what they mean by that, but I dont wona find out.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianaa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The owners of this hotel shut and padlocked a gate in my face stranding my family and one of their own guests on the beach on Thanksgiving Day. We had young children with us aged 4 months, 1 year, 5, 6, and 7. The next access to get off the beach was not nearby and involved getting a taxi ride back. I was staying at a rental house a little farther up the same road. The pamphlet in our rental gave directions to the beach and said we should go to the beach down the street by the hotel and could even order drinks or rent chairs there. The hotel staff and owners told us that we did not have permission to access the beach at all. The hotel owners were complaining that they were not being paid to maintain the small walkway that leads to the beach. So, they chose to take out their failure to collect money from the other property owners on the street onto our family. Apparently there are lawsuits pending regarding the beach access. They have done this before. We were told to call the police. I didn't care to spend time during the vacation that was planned over a year's time to celebrate a milestone birthday and bring together family that is spread all over the U.S. by engaging further with these people.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank dizzyday45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend a few days in Manuel Antonio so she went on the search for a place to call home. She found Eco Hotel Arboleda and after reading some reviews we decided to give it a try. We had a terrific time with all the tranquility we were looking for. First off the hotel is a little older and could use some touch up so if you are looking for 4 or 5 star, it's not happening here. If you are looking for clean rooms, a crystal clear pool with a view of the ocean, WiFi that actually works, and excellent service, then this is the place. Most importantly, from the front door of our room to the ocean was maybe 30 or 40 steps right past the beach front restaurant and bar.

You are in the middle of a nature preserve so to give you an idea, in the morning on your way to walk on the beach, look up and you will see a troop of monkeys having breakfast in the palms. Watch where you walk as well because most of the time you are sharing the walkway with a large iguana or two. We live in Costa Rica and our time spent in Manuel Antonio with Hotel Arboleda as our base of operations was a real treat for us. We opted for one of the 8 lowest and closest bungalows right on the beach so the unit is furnished with a frig (that actually works) and ice cold AC, there is no TV. This was quickly fixed after dark by getting on the WiFi and dialing in Netflix for a movie and beer in the middle of the jungle.

Now to why we decided to write the review. We went in the low season, the slow season. On our last of three nights we had the entire hotel to ourselves and it was raining. Add to that it was after 8:00 pm at night shortly after we returned from Raphael's Restaurant right next door at the top of the hill (see our other review), so if service was ever going to be bad, this would be the moment. We had excellent and courteous service during each day getting information about places to go or things to do. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Well when Sandi stuck the key in the door to unlock it at 8:00 pm at might on this rainy Sunday night, the key broke off. I happened to have a business card in my pocket that was given to us when we checked in and the front desk took the time to circle one of the two numbers on the card. She said... "this number is answered 24 hours a day so if you ever need anything, call".

We did; at 8:00 pm at night; in the rain; when we were the only people at the hotel; and on a Sunday. In less than 3 minutes (really! 3 minutes!), we had the on-site person standing on our front porch in his PJs bringing us a key prepared with tools to get the broken key out of the lock. If you are looking for a cool place, off the path, at an affordable price (that sells ice by the bag, an important feature in CR by the way), then you will like this place. Oh, and from the beach front, the walk down the beach to the main part of Manuel Antonio and the end of the road where all the shops and restaurants are located is about 5 minutes along the sand. It's a beautiful walk!

Room Tip: Go low and get a room on the beach. you really don't need a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug-n-Sandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful beachfront hotel. Very relaxing and a real natural paradise, filled with exotic plants and palms trees.
They have a cool tiki bar with ocean view and some great cocktails, a medium pool but its pretty deep and clean.
The food at the restaurant is awesome! Everybody was very nice to me and I'd love to go back!


Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Perfect location for family vacation or romantic getaway! The rooms are clean and neat with air conditioning and cable tv. The beach is easily accessible and the views are amazing! The staff is wonderful and make you feel welcome and at home. I highly recommend this hotel! Price is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Inn on the Park
Hotel Inn on the Park
#43 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#42 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arboleda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arboleda

Property: Hotel Arboleda
Address: Manuel Antonio | Manuel Antonio,frente a playa Espadilla, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arboleda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a short five-minutes walk north of beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park in Quepos. Costa Rica.Here our guest enjoy lush tropical landscaping, a refreshing pool beautiful balcony with views and convenient beachfront,access right in own backyard.Its the perfect place for surfers,to stay for surfing in Manuel Antonio. Special price for Back packer.Enjoy our facilities and service includes:Beach front access,swimming pool,gift shop,Ocean front resturant,wifi,tv,cable,parking,and very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Arboleda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arboleda Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing