We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hideaway hotel with cabins on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arboleda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arboleda
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little hideaway hotel with cabins on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend a few days in Manuel Antonio so she went on the search for a place to call home. She found Eco Hotel Arboleda and after reading some reviews we decided to give it a try. We had a terrific time with all the tranquility we were looking for. First off the hotel is a little older and could use some touch up so if you are looking for 4 or 5 star, it's not happening here. If you are looking for clean rooms, a crystal clear pool with a view of the ocean, WiFi that actually works, and excellent service, then this is the place. Most importantly, from the front door of our room to the ocean was maybe 30 or 40 steps right past the beach front restaurant and bar.

You are in the middle of a nature preserve so to give you an idea, in the morning on your way to walk on the beach, look up and you will see a troop of monkeys having breakfast in the palms. Watch where you walk as well because most of the time you are sharing the walkway with a large iguana or two. We live in Costa Rica and our time spent in Manuel Antonio with Hotel Arboleda as our base of operations was a real treat for us. We opted for one of the 8 lowest and closest bungalows right on the beach so the unit is furnished with a frig (that actually works) and ice cold AC, there is no TV. This was quickly fixed after dark by getting on the WiFi and dialing in Netflix for a movie and beer in the middle of the jungle.

Now to why we decided to write the review. We went in the low season, the slow season. On our last of three nights we had the entire hotel to ourselves and it was raining. Add to that it was after 8:00 pm at night shortly after we returned from Raphael's Restaurant right next door at the top of the hill (see our other review), so if service was ever going to be bad, this would be the moment. We had excellent and courteous service during each day getting information about places to go or things to do. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Well when Sandi stuck the key in the door to unlock it at 8:00 pm at might on this rainy Sunday night, the key broke off. I happened to have a business card in my pocket that was given to us when we checked in and the front desk took the time to circle one of the two numbers on the card. She said... "this number is answered 24 hours a day so if you ever need anything, call".

We did; at 8:00 pm at night; in the rain; when we were the only people at the hotel; and on a Sunday. In less than 3 minutes (really! 3 minutes!), we had the on-site person standing on our front porch in his PJs bringing us a key prepared with tools to get the broken key out of the lock. If you are looking for a cool place, off the path, at an affordable price (that sells ice by the bag, an important feature in CR by the way), then you will like this place. Oh, and from the beach front, the walk down the beach to the main part of Manuel Antonio and the end of the road where all the shops and restaurants are located is about 5 minutes along the sand. It's a beautiful walk!

Room Tip: Go low and get a room on the beach. you really don't need a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug-n-Sandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    8
    7
    31
See reviews for
8
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful beachfront hotel. Very relaxing and a real natural paradise, filled with exotic plants and palms trees.
They have a cool tiki bar with ocean view and some great cocktails, a medium pool but its pretty deep and clean.
The food at the restaurant is awesome! Everybody was very nice to me and I'd love to go back!


Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Perfect location for family vacation or romantic getaway! The rooms are clean and neat with air conditioning and cable tv. The beach is easily accessible and the views are amazing! The staff is wonderful and make you feel welcome and at home. I highly recommend this hotel! Price is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I love this hotel its not like a Vegas hotel but it has the perfect Costa Rican charm its right on the beach the food at the restaurant was amazing and its so close to the national park I have to say if u plan on staying in Manuel Antonio stay here at Hotel Arbolera

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyxF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was so impressed with the location of this Hotel, is located right in the beach, the pool is so clean and beautiful. The hotel is surrender by big and amazing trees and flowers. If you want an Eco experience just to enjoy a hotel in front of the beach, with nice rooms, a big pool and all the forest that you want to see, you must visit this hotel.
The rooms have what you need, a good bed, air condition and some of them have a Big Plasma TV, but if you are me, you don’t need a TV when you go to the beach. They also have a bar right on the beach when you can have good food and national beers and other type of drinks, which was very convenient when you are taking the sun and want to have a Imperial( national beer).
Now this hotel is also good to exercise because is so big that you can walk to the rooms, then go to the Pool and then come back to the Restaurant and have a nice breakfast all in 20 minutes walking around beautiful trees and sometimes you can see Monkeys.
If you are looking for an Eco experience this is your hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NHLBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner and I just returned from 4 days in Hotel Arboleda. The experience was poor to say the least. The only, and I mean only, redeeming quality for this poor excuse for a hotel is that it is directly on the beach in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. The negative reviews on this site are, from our impression, accurate and speak of the poor quality of the rooms, food, cleanliness, and general impression of the place. The cost of the room is very high considering the quality and cleanliness of the accomodation, the poor towels, bedding, furniture and overall appearance. If this hotel is the only one a visitor to Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio stays in it will leave a terrible impression of this lovely country and the beach community.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our first anniversary near the beach. The hotel is perfectly located right in front of the beach, but that was the only good thing about it. The room was awful. For the price we paid we should have stayed at a better hotel. You are paying just for the front beach. I had seen bad reviews here but the lady who booked me said she had sent other people that had not complained. Well, I don't know what type of people did not complain because everything went wrong from day 1. Just opening the door you can see it's not well kept, it has very old and scratched wooden furniture. The TV did not have remote control and every time we changed channel manually it took us to the configuration screen. The bathroom was tiny and we barely got a water stream from the faucet. No wifi although they said they had it, then they explained that only in some parts. Well, we tried other parts like the restaurant, never got a signal. The staff was not helpful. The restaurant food was disgusting. We ordered fried fish that was raw and second time was burnt. Breaksfast included but not worth it. It was just coffee, canned juice, one toast, butter and jelly, and two tiny pieces of fruit. For the price we paid it was ridiculous. We ate in Manuel Antonio downtown from the second day on. Very, very dissapointing. I would say more but it's just not worth it. The cleaning ladies were very nice and at least it was kept clean with clean towels. So again, you are paying a lot of money to have the beach right at your feet, but so not worth it. The room had a partial view to a tiny piece of beach. So don't believe if they say it has a view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozartlady65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#35 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#42 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arboleda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arboleda

Property: Hotel Arboleda
Address: Manuel Antonio | Manuel Antonio,frente a playa Espadilla, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arboleda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a short five-minutes walk north of beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park in Quepos. Costa Rica.Here our guest enjoy lush tropical landscaping, a refreshing pool beautiful balcony with views and convenient beachfront,access right in own backyard.Its the perfect place for surfers,to stay for surfing in Manuel Antonio. Special price for Back packer.Enjoy our facilities and service includes:Beach front access,swimming pool,gift shop,Ocean front resturant,wifi,tv,cable,parking,and very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Arboleda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arboleda Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing