We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture Perfect with Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
1 review
“Picture Perfect with Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We took a van from Monteverde to Manuel Antonio & kept looking out the window at the beautiful sights during the drive. We were about to take a photo of the beaches of Manuel Antonio, when the van pulled into the driveway of La Mansion Inn. We had arrived at our destination & were staying at the picture perfect location!

Upon arriving, we were given a tour of the hotel- the gym, the cave bar, the breakfast room/balcony, the restaurant, the pool, etc. The weather was perfect & we had our welcome drinks near the pool, looking out onto the ocean & the beautiful view that we had wanted to photograph just before the van pulled into La Mansion Inn. By the time we were finished with our drinks, our room was ready and we were upgraded to a junior suite. The room was perfect & even had a living room with a balcony!

The convenient hotel van took us downtown and we explored the beach and the neighboring areas. On our way back to the hotel, we asked the driver to drop us off at El Avion, and he kindly did so. There we watched the sunset and ran into friends we had met canyoning in La Fortuna! The next day, the front desk clerk suggested that we venture to La Playa Biesanz, a smaller beach. We went there and it was absolutely gorgeous & almost surreal. We saw monkeys & the front desk clerk said that a family staying at the hotel said they saw sloths. Later that night, we asked the van driver if he had any recommendations for a restaurant. He drove us to Mar Luna where we had our delicious last meal. The van driver was very accomodating and went out of his way to take us to the restaurant. Breakfast at the hotel was also amazing- both the food and service was great. For example, we asked a waiter to take a photo of us and he proceeded to move the entire table out of the way so that we could get a better photo. We tried to help him & he kept repeating that this was our vacation and we should relax.

Although we were not able to visit the National Park (we had arrived late Sunday morning, the Park is closed on Mondays & we left early Tuesday morning), our trip to Manuel Antonio was wonderful, thanks to the service at La Mansion Inn. Everyone who worked there was kind and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. We had planned to spend our last few days in Costa Rica relaxing at Manuel Antonio and could not have chosen a better hotel. La Mansion Inn left us with amazing memories & we are looking forward to returning. We highly recommend staying at La Mansion Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ariel300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    192
    75
    28
    19
See reviews for
133
641
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Arriving at La Mansion Inn for 5 days, the end and the highlight of our 12-day stay in Costa Rica, we stayed in this luxurious boutique hotel at the top of a newly paved road - a luxury in and of itself - in one of the penthouses (off-season rate) with floor to ceiling windows: flat screen TV against one window wall, dining table and chairs with a bird's eye view on another, and large balcony to sunbathe and watch the Pacific sunset. While everything was perfect, including the fabulous variety of Costa Rican breakfasts on the patio, nightcaps in the Batcave Bar with the volcanic rock backdrop, and the generously deep Jacuzzi, what truly made this hotel special was the staff. How often do you remember hotel employees' names? (Larissa, Octavio, Charlie, Christopher, Luis, to mention just a few.) In this setting, when service is both highly professional and genuinely friendly, you know you are in Xanadu.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eaugot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

I had stayed at several hotels at Manuel Antonio but this one is tucked away and I had not thought it had any view - my passion! . When my husband and I went to Costa Rica for my 65th birthday I picked La Mansion as they promised a great view from every room. We arrived late and during the rainy green season and ended up with a room with an ocean view but not high enough up for what I had hoped to see. When the porter found out it was my special day, the managment decided to improve my view and gave us the Penthouse for the same price. We were simply delighted and celebrated my birthday with a fantastic candlelight dinner from the Penthouse. I will go back again as this is the best value for money and a staff really intent on keeping the customers happy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Exceedingly charming, romantic and elegant hotel, perched on the hillside overlooking ocean, amazing panoramic views from room and balcony, great restaurants and knowledgeable, friendly staff. Pool has a waterfall and bar as well, and a jacuzzi with slide into the pool and also breathtaking views from the water. Perched hillside and surrounded by trees and wildlife – precious little development is to be seen from the views, leaving instead the glorious jugle/water/mountain views. The staff was remarkable: Octavio provided orientation tour and great information, and Larissa at the front desk was accommodating, outgoing and provided a wonderful and friendly presence. The meals were marvelous – intelligently crafted, creative pairings and delicious – and I’m from New York! Don’t miss the pancakes for breakfast. The hotel is located only minutes from Manuel Antonio national park entrance (a 5 minute drive) and about a 10 minute walk to breathtaking beaches. Tasteful and interesting art works throughout, including sculptures of wild-life tucked in nooks and crannies. This was without a doubt one of the most charming and friendly hotels my wife and I have ever experienced and we look forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryFromNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at La Mansion Inn for the second part of our honeymoon and we had a wonderful time. We arrived a couple hours before check-in so they brought us up to the pool deck to hang out. We were given welcome drinks and sat and ate lunch overlooking the view of the ocean. It's a gorgeous view. Our room also had such a beautiful view of the ocean. The hotel pool is also lovely, plus a swim up bar (the drinks are absolutely delicious at the bar!). We were often the only people in the pool so we had time to sit back and relax.
We did not eat in their restaurant but instead ordered room service one of the nights - which was very speedy. The restaurant was tough for me to eat in (probably b/c I'm a vegetarian) so we preferred to take a taxi ride up the street to the numerous restaurants/bars. There are many great options for dining along the main road and we had some great meals. However, we did eat breakfast at the hotel (which is included) and it was delicious!
The service at the hotel was excellent. I can't say enough about the employees and how extremely helpful and friendly they were. The people at the front desk are happy to arrange any tours or adventures you want to take or call a taxi when needed.The only time we had a problem was when we went into the Cave Bar one night and there was no one in there. We waited for about 15-20 minutes and no one came.
The road was under construction when we were there, which didn't really cause any problems. Just beware because the hotel warned us that the road shuts down from time to time and can cause delays with the hotel shuttle and taxis. However, it's definitely a good thing the road is being paved b/c it's a bumpy ride otherwise!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

This hotel is really beautiful! The room was very large and spacious. We had a wonderful balcony with a great view of the ocean.

All the staff are extremely helpful and very nice. The shuttle to the beach is very easy to use and the drivers are really nice. They stopped to let us take pictures of squirrel monkeys on the ride to the beach. The breakfast that was included was great.

Edgar at the front desk was the best! He is so nice, helpful, and very funny. He helped us get our room safe open, helped plan our excursions, recommended a restaurant that was wonderful in Quepos (la Cubanita). He surprised us and was our tour guide to Manuel Antonio Park, and gave a great tour. He arranged for us to go on a great white water rafting tour with Unique Tours.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

As we tried to enter the one street that goes to the Hotel, we found out that the street was closed from 7:00 am in the morning until 5:00PM at night for repair The crew was kind enough to explain tahat this was to go on for days.. Our booking agent had not informed us of this major problem. This made it necessary for us to cancel our reservation and reschedule a number of important meetings. The Hotel was totally unresponsive to our problem and refused a refund.
Of course they knew of the problem, because there is a sign at the top of the Hill referring you to a restaurant for assistance. Of course no one was there to help out. Also the website made no mention of the road closure, because if it did they would have lost a lot of business.
So if you want to walk several miles or be a captive in the Hotel - stay. Otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrybodaan, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Your review is improper. The road was not closed all day. They would close down for a while, then open the road back up for a while.. all according to the amount of work load and how many cars were waiting. This went on for weeks and we worked around it. The crews were most cooperative. My hotel was full for most of this period for reasons of which some you can read op TripAdvisor i.e. greatms, great views, great staff and all what makes a vaction enjoyable (I forgot the special green season rates!!!). If you had a problem communicating with my staff or if they were not as quick to respond to your refund request I do apologize. However, you giving as a bad hotel review because the road was closed while you were not even at the hotel is not appreciated. We are all so glad that after 15 years we finally were able to raise $400.000.00 to fix this road and we are jumping for joy. Until we got you comment that is which reminded us progress is not always appreciated by all.

Harry Bodaan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Property: La Mansion Inn
Address: | P.O. Box 380, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we look forward to welcome you to our "one of a kind" and super-friendly Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing