We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$175
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$239
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$216
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$331
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$352
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,201 results
Traveler rating
837
228
84
32
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
837
228
84
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbat cave barsky loungecosta ricaswim up barpresidential suiteamazing viewsour honeymoonboutique hotelbreakfast was includedplaya biesanzthe main roadmanuel antonio beachwelcome drinkwonderful hotelnational parkpool deckprivate balcony
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,201 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2017

This place is awesome! Was the perfect place to end our honeymoon (we kind of hopped around Costa Rica!) The view from our room was AMAZING, waking up to it everyday was the best. We spent our days at the pool bar and the hot tub. So fun. The infinity pool looking out over the water was just beautiful. Make sure you visit the Bat Cave Bar :) oh and of course, a day trip to Manuel Antonio.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kellycf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear Kellycf78,

First than anything many thanks for making us part of your vacations in Costa Rica!

We welcome everybody in our property and as your example, Honeymooners are part of those guest we love to receive or even preparing your wedding as an exotic destination!

As mentioned in your comments, our great advantage is our location and ocean views, this is something people always enjoy a lot during the stay here.

If you want to repeat that amazing experience, we are waiting for you here!

Pura vida!
Waharner V.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we could not have been happier! We stayed in Penthouse 4/Room 26. There was a decent sized balcony that looked out over the ocean where we spent quite a bit of time. There were windows all along the other side of the room which looked out over the nearby trees and where we often found Howler Monkeys hanging out right off the hotel premises. From the balcony we were able to spot Macaws and Tucans just about every evening. The pool area is beautiful and has a nice patio area with tables and lounge chairs and the bartender will bring you up drinks. Happy hour is everyday from 5-6 and we never missed it, the view is amazing and you can't miss the sunsets! We also saw Capuchin monkeys 3 different occasions in the pool area! They were up in the trees and came down to drink water off the tables and run around with their babies on their backs. There was one day where we saw Capuchin monkeys, Howler monkeys, an iguana, AND a sloth from the pool area. You literally do not have to leave the hotel or search around for these critters, it was great!

The beach is not super close but they have a shuttle running 4 times a day that will bring you down there. There is also a gravel path nearby that you can walk to get to the beach which is what we did since we wanted to see as much wildlife as possible and get some exercise. It is probably a 20-25 minute walk or so if you're actually walking....I'm not quite sure but it wasn't anything crazy. We took our time to check out the monkeys and birds so it ended up taking us around 45-60 minutes....again, not quite sure since we weren't really checking the time ever during our trip. Once you get to the beach you can take a left to get to a nearby town where you can rent an umbrella/chairs and there are people who will bring you down food and drinks which is pretty sweet (of course it costs money...but totally worth it!). There are a couple restaurants and bars here as well as a supermarket and a couple little souvenir shops. Taxi's from here back to the hotel were $8.

The food here is AMAZING!! It is a bit on the pricier side...I think the cheapest option was a pasta dish which was $18, most options were $20-$22. We ate here the first night then said we would eat in the town the rest of the nights to save money...then we tasted their food and realized how delicious it was! We honestly ate here every single night haha. Their breakfast is also perfection, we never missed a breakfast!!

The service was great. Marvin was our usual server in the evenings and he was so attentive and always nearby if we needed a water or wine refill...as was Roy (spelling??)! He was the bartender outside some nights and also worked at the restaurant and he was the best!! He was also pretty much our tour guide and made sure to point out all the monkeys around at the pool and took the time to show us a very hard to see sloth, we wouldn't have spotted him without him! Everyone there is quite wonderful and they all take their time to make sure you are comfortable and feel right at home.

You will not regret staying at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kelsbo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear kelsbo87,

Wow, wow & wow! What an amazing review!

Definitely what can we add to this?? Not much!

All We can say is, thanks a million because this give us even more energy to continue delivering unforgettable e experiences to all our visitors wich is finally our main goal.

Do not forget, we are waiting for you here as many times as you want to return!

Pura vida!
Waharner V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

I couldn't say more about this hotel! I'm a little picky about cleanliness and the room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable and there was great water pressure. We had room #3 which was superb and had a private balcony/sitting area with an excellent ocean view of Manuel Antonio beach. My husband and I are vegetarians, and the on-site restaurant had some delicious options for us. Although the accommodations and food were delicious, I would have to say the best part was the service. At the end of our four-day stay, I felt like I was part of a family. The staff was incredibly attentive and we were treated with the highest respect and kindness. Werner, the manager, went above and beyond for us, and our favorite waiter, Josue, was the most courteous, attentive, kind waiter that I have ever met. I highly recommend La Mansion Inn and would love to stay there again.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank robdianaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear robdianaknight,

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel!

As our slogan: "Come as a guest and leave as a friend", the impression you had during your stay was the one we are looking for in all our visitors!

More than just a hotel, we want to be a place where all our guest feel what "Pura vida" really means!

We hope to see you back soon in our little piece of paradise!

Pura vida!
Waharner V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

This was a great place to enjoy delicious food and beautiful views. My husband and I love to visit new places and eat at different restaurants. This was a real treat as I had food that I do not normally order and it was amazing! We will definitely come back for the great location and the delicious food! The people were very friendly and accommodating as well. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crtropical2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear CrTropical2016,

We much appreciate you taking your time to tell us about your stay, and much more your good comments about what La Mansion offers to our visitors.

Our goal is to make you have a good stay and experience during your visit to the area.

You and your husband are always welcome!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

We spent 4 nights, having been in two other great hotels already I was really looking forward to staying in 5 star La Mansion Inn. Sadly we were to be totally disappointed with our stay. We arrived at 2:30 to a small reception area without the air condition operating to be told our room was not ready, check in is not until 3pm so no surprise really. So we went to the pool area to wait. There were two main reasons why I chose La Mansion Inn, the first is that children under the age of 12 are not allowed. So seeing a child of about 8 running a screaming around the pool area was a bit of a surprise. We later saw him again playing football at breakfast. At 3:10 we went to reception again and was told we still could not get in our room, we eventually got in at 3:25. I had booked one of the Penthouse rooms as this was our honeymoon. The room was large and spacious with great views of the Pacific. They advertise a mini bar but you have to go down to reception and fill in an order form and then it is brought to your room later, a bit of a pain after travelling for 5 hours then waiting to get into your room. While getting ready for our evening meal we could not find the iron or hairdryer both advertised as being in the room but not. The evening meal was ok, nothing on the standard of the two previous hotels we had stayed at that were 4 star. The other reason I chose this hotel was because of the “The Bat Cave Bar” where you can have a cocktail while you listen to water running and bats overhead etc which they advertise on their website. All a complete lie, as we found out. You can stand in the bar but no chance of getting a drink. This was confirmed by a couple of waiters in the restaurant. Breakfast is advertised as being free and included in the price, but again this is not true, you have to pay a 10% service change (We did not pay this in the other hotels that offered free breakfasts). The very loud jazz music played at breakfast was not appropriate. The Wi-Fi did not work for a day and a half despite it being reported a couple of times. The toilet did not work in our room and we had to get it fixed twice, the shower tap fell off while taking a shower!! On one occasion I went to reception to be greeted by a chap cleaning his teeth and toothpaste running down the sides of his face, the sort of thing you expect in a backpackers hostel not a supposedly 5 star hotel. The gift shop is a joke, it is a glass cabinet with 1 packet of Pringles, sun cream, 3 packets of condoms, some mugs and a few wood carvings. I looked again through the reviews because I could not believe I had made such a bad choice and noticed that on the bad reviews the owner responds by saying there is no record of the reviewer staying. Well I stayed and can tell you that it is certainly not a 5 star hotel more like a 3. The hotel is not very clean but I suspect this is because the owner just does not have enough cleaners hence the later than expected check-in. It is run down and in need of attention but again I think it’s because the owner is not investing in his property and only concerned about profits. Damian the manager, who only came and saw us on departure even though we had spoken to another member of management the day after we arrived and apologised and suggested that I did not do a bad review as they were going to refund the cost of 2 days of the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Propietario at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017


As owner I would like to share with you the correspondence I sent to the Travel Agency that sent these clients before these guests departed my hotel. Luckily we do not get many of these guests. On average we get these kinds of comments about once a year and most of the time there are alternate motives for writing these kind of (single) reviews. While we (and other hotels) are always subject to human and mechanical errors, we do our absolute utmost to please our guests and in some instances offer a "Money-Back Guarantee" in case we can not resolve a problem in a timely manner. In this particular case our staff went out of our way to please this European "Honeymoon" couple by offering them an upgrade, complimentary drinks and a bottle of Champagne, all to no avail and we were not willing to comp their stay for some of their (mostly) trumped-up complaints.

"Dear Yermi,
As you well know, our Motto is "Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend" and furthermore "The Client is Always Right". However, we had one of our most unpleasant guest experiences in 18 years of operating on Mansion with Mr. Allan Henry and Mrs. Donna Marwick. Let me try to explain:

Upon Check-In on Sunday 20th of August, Mr. Henry and his wife were given our standard personalized Welcome Letter. They had to wait for their room an extra thirty minutes. The reason for this small time delay was that the Operations Manager decided to upgrade them to a Penthouse Suite (they were paying for a Superior Room) as our staff was informed that they were on their Honeymoon (the difference for this Upgrade was $645 plus taxes).

During the time they waited, they were escorted to the pool area and offered two sets of Welcome Cocktails because of the delay. When they came back to the Reception Desk complaining about the presence of "children" at the pool. Later that night they repeated the same complaint to the PM Dining Room Supervisor.

The children in question stayed in a room with their parents and were 8 years old and 10 years old. As you know in rare ocassions, we make an exception to the 12 Year-Old Minimum Age Rule. Other times parents bring them without giving us any notice because they did not read our rules. These guests and their children left the following morning. Mr. Henry and his wife and the family were in two different buildings, the only brief contact they actually had with the children was at that moment at the pool for a short period of time.

Their other complaints came on Monday morning. Mr. Henry talked with our Operations Manager and complained again about the kids, complained about the Cave Bar, Internet Access, a toilet problem and not having a hair dryer in the room.

Our Operations Manager apologized and explained him our Children Policy and that the reason they were in the hotel to begin with was due to a misunderstanding on the part of the parents.

Regarding Cave Bar Access, she explained him that the Cave Bar was unfortunately only open upon request because of the strict enforcement of Health Department Law #7600 that makes us unable to open the bar for regular service due to the lack of handicapped access.

Regarding the internet, this was something beyond our control due to the fact that the whole area of Manuel Antonio had Internet, Phone and Electricity problems, due to a tropical storm that damaged several power lines. It took several days for the Electrical Company (ICE) to restore the utility services.

Mr. Henry also mentioned the lack of an Iron and an Ironing Board in the Suite and our Operations Manager explained that we had a special laundry room for our guests, but we would immediately put these items in his Suite. Regarding the hairdryer, they had two bathrooms available in the Penthouse and the hairdryer was in one of the two bathrooms, not in the one they were looking,

Regarding the toilet problem, our Operations Manager accompanied by a member of our Maintenance Staff, went with Mr. Henry to the bathroom ajnd it turned out that it was nothing more than a loose chain in the water tank which was resolved immediately.

Important to note again that their Penthouse had two bathrooms. Later that day, Mr. Henry called the front desk again and reported the same problem, when Maintenance went back to the Suite they found out it was the same “loose chain” (???).

What strikes us furthermore as strange, is that they never asked to see me, the owner (as the Welcome Letter suggests in case of dissatisfaction) and as "unhappy" as they were, they never went out for food service and enjoyed all their meals on the property.

Why did they not ask your Agency to be moved to another hotel? Regarding their observation about us not giving them anything for their honeymoon is a complete falsehood. The upgrade to a Penthouse Suite, Champagne and restitution of food and beverage money as compensation was well in access of $1000.00

Mr. Henry’s also complained about one of our Receptionists having toothpaste in his mouth, this was due to the fact that he came out from the bathroom while he was brushing his teeth just to let them know that he was going to take care of them in a moment.

In summary, I wish these guests a happy life together. They deserve each other! However, I will not allow them back for their Anniversary and hope they find a place more suiting,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews