We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World European charm in a dramatic tropical setting”
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband, son and I stayed for 6 nights at La Mansion. The lobby is very nicely appointed and is flanked by two huge salt water aquariums. The front desk was very accommodating. They upgraded us from a deluxe room to a penthouse suite. They worked with us as far as the increased price. Our room was lovely but as I mentioned to Robert , I would rearrange the furniture and place the bed where the sofa is to take in the million dollar view. We were in penthouse 3 and there is a lot of room. The balcony is wonderful and we had almost daily visits from the monkeys. One day we saw a sloth and another day toucans. It was a it unsettling to wake up to a large group of men cutting down trees and the understory across the street two days before we left. They were the same trees that the sloth had been in the day before. It seemed to flush the toucans out too. I'm hoping that there isn't some sort of development going in right across the street. That would be a shame for the hotel. We loved the complimentary breakfast . The staff was so efficient and friendly. The pool bartender was fun and knowledgable. I read that some guests complained about the stairs. The stairs, the corridors, the gardens are all part of the charm. One thing the front desk mentioned was the shuttle to the Manuel Antonio public which is great but she should be sure to mention playa biesanz which is an 8 minute walk down the hill from hotel. We went there every morning from 7:30 to 9 and were usually the only ones there. It's a hidden gem and the proximity is a real plus for La Mansion. The walk back up the hill is great exercise and we were rewarded with a delicious breakfast. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outliz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
There are newer reviews for La Mansion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Basic Boutique hotel with nice view of the bay.
No elevator
Poor A/C in the loby area. Also - they don't have an air conditined dinning room and with the hot & humid environment in this area it's not fun to have breakfast outside and certainly not dinner.
Also - they have a policy that they only provide the "mini-bar" Refrigerator to the room if you order stuff from the minibar. We insisited to have one for cold water purchased outside.

Another disadvantage the steep hill climb in order to get to the hotel from the near by road. You'll need a Taxi to go out to main street restaurents (~$10 each direction). It's not practical to walk the narrow street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the outside dining atmosphere. When we offered an fully air-conditioned dining room we hardly had any diners at night becasue most people prefer to sit outside. Concerning the elevator, a two-story elevator will be installed within the next few weeks. Two stories because we only have two floors in the main building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We loved our stay here! The pictures on the hotel website don’t do the hotel much justice, everything is beautiful. The hotel doesn’t have a lot of rooms (I think only 25?), so it always seems quiet and special. Our room was very large and we had a private balcony with a view of the beach. There’s a nice patio area next to the pool that has views of 2 different bays - gorgeous! And the pool is open 24hours/day. We swam at midnight one night :) The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. Felix helped us figure our way around, and Stephan helped us book activities for the next day. The parking lot is small, but hotel staff keeps your keys so they can shuffle the vehicles around as needed - we never had an issue with this. And finally, the Bat Cave Bar is pretty cool to check out. It’s small and dark and feels like you’ve been transported from La Mansion Inn to a secret pirate cave. Breakfast was delicious and our bed was very comfy. We highly recommend La Mansion!

Room Tip: Every room has a private balcony
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your beautiful review and we appreicate the time you took to write these comments. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future... Please do not hesitate to contact me direct.

Harry Bodaan
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel was near perfect. We rented a car at the San Jose airport to get around the country, and the hotel has a very small parking lot, but it worked out. We were always able to get a spot. The hotel is built out along a peninsula, and because it’s on a hill, you can see the ocean on both sides. Our room was exceptional and well-maintained. There was a standing shower, and all of the amenities you could want. There was a beautiful glass wall/sliding door that not only opened to our own balcony, but we even had our own fenced-in yard! On the morning of my wedding, I went out there to journal and watch the sunrise, and the resident iguana came to sun itself in our yard.

The staff was very helpful, from the front desk clerks, to the restaurant staff, to the maids. Everyone was great. The front desk staff helped us to book a few trips and they were able to do currency exchange, too. The maids would make towel art to put on our bed, and on our wedding day, they did the towel art twice and left us candies. The food was delicious as well. They had a large selection for their complimentary breakfasts. I enjoyed getting the “national” meal of gallo pinto (delicious!). The coffee was strong and needed nothing else. The breakfast area is set under some tents on a patio, and the lunch area is up near the pool, looking out over both sides of the hill. There were rarely people at lunch, so we frequently had it to ourselves. Dinner is in an intimate room with low lighting and fancier table set ups. For our wedding night dinner, I had filet mignon and it was cooked perfectly, with a delectable sauce.

One little hiccup that occurred was that on our wedding night, we ate only a quarter of our small, 6” wedding cake (we did an elopement). Then we sent it to the big fridge in the kitchen. When it was brought back up to us the next day, another quarter was missing. It was frustrating that some of the staff ate our small cake at night, and so we asked for a mini fridge to keep our cake safe from the night eaters! I still ate it, though. It was one of the best cakes I have ever had and no one else’s potential germs were going to put me off! I'm still going to give 5 stars, though, because of everything else!

Other than that small issue, it was a great place to stay. All of our belongings were safe in our room, and there is a room safe. We felt well taken care of and the views and food were simply amazing. I would definitely stay here again; I would just store my cake in my room! It was quite tempting looking. I can understand how the staff succumbed to it :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alittleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and so we researched our hotel options extensively and chose La Mansion Inn! It was everything we expected and more.
First, before I forget, for those concerned about currency exchanges, the airport has an ATM (baggage claim area) that charges a nominal fee. I believe we only forfeited about 1% of the withdrawal worth.
The hotel coordinated a shuttle to pick us up right outside the airport. The driver had a sign with our names on it, so that alone eliminated a lot of confusion and worry. *We were charged $170 USD for the both of us.* At first it seemed a little pricey. However, it eliminated any hassle/stress that we'd have gone through to rent a car, and as the drive from the airport to the hotel was 2.5 hours, the price seemed reasonable.
When we arrived at La Mansion, we were welcomed in the most friendly of manners and shown to the beautiful Penthouse #2. The room was spotlessly clean, and tastefully decorated. We really enjoyed the two patios, which offered different shades of sunlight at different points in the day. Both patios have an excellent view of the oceans and countryside, and the front patio has a wonderful view of the hotel's gorgeous flower garden. As far as wildlife, it's a prime spot to enjoy a cup of coffee and view the beautiful birds, as well as the cute little family of geckos that hunt bugs on the ceiling after dark.
If you are apprehensive about an English/Spanish language barrier, don't be. Although English is not their first language, most of the staff that we met were very well learned in the language, and were so helpful and patient. If you still find that you are having language miscommunications, Robert, who is from New York, is so friendly and very knowledgeable. We felt like family when he greeted us for the first time.
Dine luxuriously yet affordably at the hotel's restaurant, the Jacques Cousteau! Every meal is accompanied with relaxing music and a beautiful, open-aired view of the ocean.
Breakfast: I'll advise anyone to double-check with the hotel when booking, but our daily breakfast was complimentary. The only thing that we were responsible for was the sales tax and the 10% service fee. The servers are very friendly, and work very hard, so we personally decided to tip them more accordingly.
Dinner: The dinner menu was to die for! Each meal is started with piping hot bread with butter - so good! There is "special" every evening, including a glass of wine, an appetizer, an entrée, and a dessert. As we are light eaters and try to dine on a budget, we split the special between the two of us and were happily content. We dined here about 3-4 times over the span of our trip, and everything that we ate was exceptional! Our compliments to the chef!
As this hotel does not sit directly on the sand, be prepared for about a 15 minute brisk walk to the nearest beach. If you wish to take a less physically demanding route to the beach, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle (scheduled at various times during the day) that will take you directly there.
Don't feel like traveling to the beach? Enjoy the hotel's beautiful pool. The water was always very clear, and it was so warm! The pool has a swim-up bar that we took advantage of daily. If you like banana splits, we suggest you order the Dirty Monkey (adults only)!
Activities: La Mansion has a binder of different activities (kayaking, canyoning, etc) that you can experience on your trip. The prices are affordable, and the front desk will coordinate these for you. Of the two activities that we enjoyed (^), both companies picked us up/dropped us off at the hotel, and both provided lunch or dinner after the activity. Again, a wonderful way to stretch your money if you're traveling on a budget.
One last thing! This hotel is situated in what I'd call a beautiful countryside. Be advised that it is not within practical walking distance of the nearest town (pharmacies, grocery stores), Quepos. It is about a 5 minute drive by taxi ($16 + tip round-trip). If you are looking for a picturesque little town, you are sadly mistaken. We went into the town once, out of necessity, and decided that we much more enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the hotel! On the up side, we found a wonderful little shop that sold a wide variety of fruits/veggies. We brought 3 delicious mangoes and 6 bananas back to the hotel for a super-affordable $2 USD.
In conclusion, we have suggested this hotel to all of our friends and family, and would without a doubt choose to stay here should we ever decide to visit beautiful Costa Rica again!

Room Tip: There are a couple of things that I will notify readers about regarding Penthouse #2 (Room 19). Thes...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights mid-March and loved everything about this inn. The staff including front desk personnel Stevan,Paola and Elizabeth were all so helpful,personable making our stay stress-free and fun! Breakfast every morning on the patio was excellent again with gracious staff,and great food. We stayed in Room 10 with incredible views of the Pacific and beaches,most comfortable beds ever in a hotel and very quiet- shows the thought that went into building this inn. Again, we would come back here in a flash and hope to do so.
More of a hotel for adults as small pool, swim-up bar and peaceful.
M and J Guz,Mill Valley,CA

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our group of eight stayed here for four nights in Feb. The hotel, situated on a hillside, is "eclectic" in that there are many levels, buildings, nooks and crannies and staircases; it appears to have been built in stages. Dining alfresco, service was great, food delicious! Rooms varied as my wife and I had the opportunity to stay in three rooms during our stay. Room 9 has a great view (trees, islands and ocean) although not as nice as room 21. The latter (21) was a very nice room, size and amenities, with a view of the trees and power lines. Suite/Room 19 was by far the best with living and dining rooms, two baths, and grand bedroom. We spent time in the pool/bar and whirlpool, both great! The staff here try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, even setting up a special breakfast time for us to avoid the bus tour group. Special thanks to Robert for his gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thanks for your wonderful write-up - This is very much appreciated by all of us! We hope to see you again soon...

Harry Bodaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $148 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we look forward to welcome you to our "one of a kind" and super-friendly Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing