We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Lived Up to the Reviews”
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It Lived Up to the Reviews”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in room 11, the Presidential Suite, the first week in February, and it was all the name suggests. Two large wonderful rooms, super ceiling air conditioners (one in each room with remote control), two separate bathrooms, built-in jacuzzi, very comfortable bed in the bedroom, overlooking a large balcony and view of the ocean bay of the Manuel Antonio beaches. This description doesn't do it justice. However, everywhere on the property, you can get a wonderful view of the sunrise from your unit.

The food for the included breakfast, lunch, as well as dinner, was as good as any of the several restaurants we tried in the area-a little more formal setting, but not fancy. Nice swimming pool with a bar, and a great deck overlooking the ocean on both sides of the peninsula. All the staff aimed to please, with special kudos to Robert (manager), Paolla (front desk with a smile always) and Jorge, very attentive at the pool bar. Your comfort is their priority.

Small inconvenience- parking is somewhat limited, but not a big deal, and it is hilly for walking so be prepared

Tips for travelers to the area:
Don't be afraid to drive from San Jose airport- all nicely paved highway, 3 hour drive, follow directions from www.manuelantonio.net/driving-directions, but stay on the toll road and keep driving on that highway (built since the directions), going through Jaco and beyond. Probably worth the extra money to buy "no liability insurance" if you do rent (they don't tell you how much it adds when you get the low-ball on line rate confirmation) and it eliminates much anxiety driving these two lane roads

They take U.S. currency (500 colon to the dollar) so bring a bunch of dollar bills for tolls and before you can get to an ATM (DON"T CHANGE MONEY IN THE AIRPORT)

Stop in Jaco at the Maxi Pali (big store next to the road, on your way) and buy a couple of folding beach chairs for beaches that don't rent them for the day (only about $15 each)

Check the tide times (listed in the local free magazine at the hotel) when you want to beach in Manuel Antonio area- it comes very high and wipes out the beach at Biesanz, which is down the road from La Mansion Inn- also, if you drive, there may be a guy asking for $4 to "watch your car"- it is income for some people with no job-- don't think he does any damage if you don't pay but....

restaurants- Ronnie's is local, informal, good food,, but down a long rutted road (don't need 4
wheel drive though)
El Gran Escape (Quepos marina) just ok, but nice setting
Z seafood- also just okay
Water here is fine to drink right out of the tap, and electricity is same as in the states
Everybody warns about speeding- if cop stops you, don't pay a bribe or "the fine" to him- he
may take the money and still process the ticket
DO GO to the street market in Quepos on Friday p.m. and Saturday (lasts all hours)- all kinds
of produce and souvenir items

If you don't rent a car, bring a flashlight with you, so that cars see you at night walking the road

DUTY FREE WARNING- If you are making a connection after landing in U.S., then put duty free liquor you buy at San Jose duty free, into your luggage before you recheck luggage for your connecting flight- otherwise, you cannot take it on the connecting flight with you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edjan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks for your nice review and I truly appreciate some of the suggestions your made. - As I mentioned some of them were so on point that they will become standard operating policy! On behalf of all our staff I thank you!

Harry Bodaan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    198
    75
    29
    19
See reviews for
138
655
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs UK
Level Contributor
235 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent 4 glorious days at the end of our vacation. The hotel is in an idyllic location with stunning views over the bay. The main beach is within a 20 minute walk and another lovely beach a 15 minute walk away. The hotel runs a shuttle service to the main resort which is very convenient! The pool is fab ( a must for me! ) deep , clean and just big enough if you want to do a few laps!!!The staff work very hard also.
The only very MINOR fault was that we wanted to get a beer one night at about 2130hrs and all the bars were closed!
Would I recommend? Absolutely YES!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I truly appreciate the nice comments and am investigating why the bar seems to have closed early. The Cave Bar is normally open until at least 11PM - drinks are "on the house" for your next stay~

Harry Bodaan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in suite number 12. Very quiet and private. No stairs to climb. Balcony with a nice view. Decent food. All over comfortable stay. Nice large bed great air conditioning. Loved the pool bar. Not really walking distance to much especially in the hot sun!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review - Suite #12 is one of our latest additions with more than 100 feet (100M2) of space - and we are happy that we made your stay special.

Harry Bodaan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at La Mansion Inn in January 2014 and we were beyond satisfied! This was absolute perfection from our unbelieveable suite with the most comfortable bed and outstanding view! The the food to the staff were outstanding! We instantly felt welcomed and part of everything. The bat cave bar was so cool, a must see! I actually found La Mansion Inn on my own an dam so very happy I did. We will deffinetly be back and have already recommended it to friends! The only downfall to La Mansion Inn is that was it was time for us to leave. We will be back in the very near future. If you are looking to stay at a place that is as beautiful inside as the area is outside La Mansion Inn is the place to stay!

Room Tip: I believe we were in # 2, it was on the main flooor to the left of the front desk. Suites offer so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheyennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We all appreciate your nice review and your business. As you have noticed the Mansion has been extremely busy and we are glad that with all these different nationalities and different cultures we are keeping everybody happy. Thanks for your comments! We have a great staff..

Harry Bodaan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived to our parting hug with Paola at the front desk, our experience was exceptional (Paola was definitely the highlight of our stay). Our room was beautifully appointed with one of the most comfortable mattresses we've slept on to date. Jorge at the pool bar was fantastic not only for his great concoctions but his knowledge of the area and fluent English which made it much easier for this gringa to communicate. Housekeeping was efficient and the added touches of fresh flowers and cute towel animals made us laugh and were truly appreciated. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and hope to return in the future. Keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cousteau suite. It was a beautiful room but with only a partial view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyrn360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Shout out to William (front desk), Juan Carlos ( bat bar & restaurant), Chris (pool bar), and Steven (front desk)! The hotel is amazing and these guys made it even better. Thanks to Costa Rica Vacations for getting us reservations here. We had room #24 - three amazing views from this room at the very end of the hall. Roomy and so pretty. Maid service was impeccable! Flowers on the towel animals left on the bed each day and flowers in the bathroom. Turn down service when they could catch us out late enough ;-). We had a fantastic time and were often so tired from our day that we were in bed by 8! Bed was so comfy we slept like babies! Up every morning to an amazing sunrise on our private patio. Howler monkeys and spider monkeys right off the patio! The restaurant food was as good as any restaurant in the area. Notes to others visiting the area - it is pricey everywhere! We were glad we did not have a car but to go anywhere it was a $10 cab ride. 2 blocks or a few miles to town. $10. All restaurants charge about 13% tax and a 10% gratuity so be prepared. The hotel has a great shuttle to the beach area and we used that a few times. They were even nice enough to drop us off if the destination was on the way. There is a bus but we never took it. So you can save $$ if you try harder than we did ;-). The state park was amazing and we did 3 fishing trips! Caught 9 sail fish and lots of other cool fish. Thanks to Pez Rey fishing (captain Pepsi) and captain Roberto of the Carib Sea! All in all a great vacation!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
On behalf of our staff and our Howler and Spider Monkeys I thank you for taking the time to write this review.. Good reviews are our motivators and as you have notice we do almost everything you have a great experience while staying our our Boutique Inn. I always tell our staff that it is the special "touches" that makes the difference and I am glad to see that it works time after time. It is very hard to be unhappy at the Mansion because we have all measures in place to make sure it stays that way. From a daily call to each room to our management staff making sure that everything goes smooth with our guests to our Money Back Food & Beverage guarantees we are here to make sure your stay is the finest it can be. From a warm and sunny Manuel Antonio we thank you.

Harry Bodaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We just returned from a week-long trip to Costa Rica and our last two nights were spent at La Mansion Inn. It was an ideal way to end our trip. The first half of our trip was mostly rainforests while Manuel Antonio was warm and dry. La Mansion is a wonderful, intimate boutique hotel that feels more like a family. The views are magnificent - you're on a peninsula so you can see the ocean on almost three sides. The sounds of then jungle (howling monkeys) can be heard from the rooftop terrace. The first morning, while we sat on our terrace, a family of white-faced monkeys scampered past on the railing. Simply magnificent. Kudos to the entire staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank Dixon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks for your nice write up and help us "spread the word"! Word of mouth advertising is so important! As you noticed we are more of a family and treat our guests more like friends than regular guests hence our slogan "Come as a Guest an Leave as a Friend" - We look forward to a return visit and hope the Alabama weather is not too cold. We are in the mid to high eighties here and feel bad for the folks up North! Wish you were here!

Harry Bodaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Property: La Mansion Inn
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we look forward to welcome you to our "one of a kind" and super-friendly Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing