We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente Servicio y Calidad Humana.”
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Estuvimos en este hotel por 4 días la semana anterior y realmente lo recomiendo. Tiene excelentes vistas, y el personal es realmente amable sin hacer distinción de nacionalidad lo que es muy importante. Además de esto debo destacar la calidad humana del personal en especial del gerente, esto porque mi hijo tuvo un accidente en la piscina que requirió servicios médicos que fueron brindados por el hotel sin costo adicional y el gerente siempre estuvo con nosotros durante toda la situación. Realmente les estamos muy agradecidos, y sinceramente los recomendamos.

We were there the past week for 4 days, and we really recommend this place. It has great views, and the staff is really nice making no difference on the nationality. Also I have to "highlight" the kindness of the staff and specially from the general manager, this because my son had an accident on the pool that required medical attention and that service was covered by the hotel with no extra charge and the manager was always supporting us. We are really grateful with them and we really recommend this place.

Room Tip: Recomendamos en penthouse. We recommend the penthouse.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatianaCR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Many thanks for your beautiful write-ups which reflects the "over and beyond" attitude of our staff. I know I probably do not say it enough but I am very proud of them because they are what makes my little boutique Inn successful - I appreciate your comments and will share them with all my staff.

Harry B.
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
There are newer reviews for La Mansion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is one of the few places that has a view south to Manuel Antonio Park, and north to Quepos and beyond. My group had 3 rooms and all had great views. Although, AC was not working properly in one of them. The staff was very gracious and helpful when requests were made. A big deal is made of the Bat Cave Bar. We didn't use it because during it's open hours, there was a very strong chlorine odor. We guessed it was from the interior fountain. The odor was not there when the bar wasn't open. Having made to order breakfast included is a great bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thanks for your nice comment and yes we clean the fountain inside the cave with a chlorine subsitute to avoid the usual smells associated with a Cave - The Pirate/Bat Cave is home to several bats as the description indicates and we need to keep this area as clean as we can to avoid musty smells. This little Bat Cave Bar is one of the most unique little caves in Central America but not for everybody but it makes our little Inn special.

Harry Bodaan
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our last hotel on our trip before heading back to San Jose. The views from the rooms are just stunning. Ocean views on all floors. If you head up to the top deck you can see water views going to other way also. Pool is nice. Staff was so friendly and helpful especially Steve at the front desk. The manager Robert is quite the character. A born and raised New Yorker from Brooklyn. The food was very good here and they even have a chef guarantee. They have you fill out a comment card at the end of dinner. Again another place where the seafood (scallops) was over cooked. We will see if the chef guarantee works or not! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have balconies, lower level have front lawns!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

On behalf of Robert and myself thanks for the nice review... Sorry about the Scallops and if you did not like it and they did not take it off the bill please let me know... The "money back" guarantee absolutely works and keeps us "on our toes"! We appreciate your business very much and like tothink that we go that extra mile to make our guests happy!@

Harry Bodaan
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great food, spectacular decorations (especially for Americans), great character, no cookie-cutter rooms, NOT on the beach, enjoy the animals all around the resort grounds!! Owned by the former owner of DC's National Press Club. He brings movie stars and politicos to show off this fine property!!

Room Tip: No cookie-cutter rooms!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Than you David E. for this nice write-up! However, while it is true that I was a long-time General Manager and C.E.O. of the National Press Club in Washington D.C. and hob-nobbed with some of the world's most interesting people I was never the "owner" of the National Press Club. Nobody is! It is the more than 5000 members that own this, one of the world's most noble, institutions. I have been blessed tp have been part of this place for more than a decade and moved on to Moscow to open Russia's first, independent and non-profit press center. I learned a tremendous amount of knowledge about the world;s famous and "not so famous" and am proud to have played a tiny part in shaping what the world is today. The Fourrth Estate, the institution (when properly executed - which is oh so difficult) that keeps the other three Estates om their toes! It also taught me about hosting people which comes in very handy now I have my own little place in the jungle of Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Manuel Antonio offers travelers with an abundance of options to fulfill their travel needs. We are very happy that we chose La Mansion Inn. We cannot imagine having better views at any other hotel. It was breathtaking. The best part is that we were regularly visited by all kinds of wild life (in a good way). The rooms are large, comfortable, and super clean. The beds are huge and extremely comfortable. I have great difficulties with sleep but not at this hotel! The free shuttle to and from Manuel Antonio National Park is a huge benefit as is the fact that you can order what ever you'd like from the breakfast menu and are simply charged the service fee. The majority of the staff are friendly, knowledgeable, professional, and eager to meet your desires. We would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamilandPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Patty:

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. Most appreciated! I will share this with all our staff and hope you had a safe trip home!

Harry Bodaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay.. The service was impeccable and what an asset Robert is to this place!! We were immediately greeted and given a tour of the property. All of the staff were wonderful, and Manuel Antonio was a great choice for our first visit to CR. We actually requested a different room (from the one they initially gave us) and Robert accommodated us no questions or problems. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgweezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

On behalf of Robert and I and the rest of the staff we thank you for your nice review. It was a joy hosting you and it makes us feel good when we find out we have succeeded! Until we meet again,

God Bless,

Harry Bodaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the moment one arrives, which is a thrill ride in itself, one is impressed by each aspect of this wonderful ' Mansion on the Hill!' Warmly greeted by the delightful young women at the front desk and then by Robert, a 'new yawk' guy who caught a dose of 'PURA VIDA' and moved to CR, who gave us the grand tour of this grand (but modestly sized) hotel. Our room was more than comfortable with a private balcony on which we were seated and enjoying a misty view of the Pacific and Antonio Manuel National Park when our complimentary cocktail arrived. Delicious appetizers arrived from room service which we enjoyed while we soaked up the wonderful atmosphere and the damp but delightful view.
A drink in the 'bat cave bar,' that's right bat cave, followed by a delicious meal and restful night completed our day.
Here sadly is where we wished we'd had more time. The park is closed on Monday's so we opted for an impromptu 'tour' with Alberto, arranged for us with the help of the young woman (of German descent) at the desk. He raced us down the hill towards the Park (better than any ride at Disney) all the while looking to the right and left for signs of monkeys or colorful birds. Other vehicles parted as he did his best James Bond impression ...only no Astin Martin. Finally a monkey sighting so we stop in the middle of the narrow road for the requisite touristo photo. MISSION ACCOMPLI!
When we got back after our 15 minute roller coaster ride we got out and as we headed to the door Alberto chased after us to return my wallet that had tumbled from my pocket in one of the loop de loops!! What a fine young man and fine staff as well.
If you looking for a day stay or much longer Le Mansion Inn would be an excellent choice.

Room Tip: All 22 rooms were superb we are sure...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLeeJacksonville_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Sorry about the Aston Martin! The car was being repaired... There will always be a next time! On behalf of all of my staff, thanks for the very nice write up and we enjoy that you had a great experience. We will be here waiting for you when you decide to come back! We are here to please our guests and realize that we must work hard to accomplish that. Robert says hello as well...

Harry Bodaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Address: Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $147 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we look forward to welcome you to our "one of a kind" and super-friendly Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing