We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place, excellent food, good people, with quirks”
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely place, excellent food, good people, with quirks”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at La Mansion in February 2013 as part of a Costa Rica vacation. We found the staff to be uniformly pleasant to deal with, our room was lovely, and the food was excellent.

This last is quite important, because there is nothing else within walking distance. Prices are quite fair, so this is really a "whew", not an "oops". But it would have been nice to have had some variety. We didn't use the smallish pool (a second one is under construction). be prepared for a lot of walking inside the hotel, because this hotel was several buildings tied together, and we had to walk three separate spiral staircases, and go outdoors (among other things) to reach our room.

room lighting was a bit odd, consisting of inadequate bedside lamps and several tiny bright spotlights in the ceiling - reading a paper book is challenging.

the only real annoyance came when we tried to print boarding passes, because there is no printer at the guest PC. we ended up translating a lot of computerese from Spanish to English in order to print our passes as pdf's, saving them to the guest pc, going into personal email, and sending the pdf's to the desk clerk's personal email, which he retrieved from his pc ten feet away; he then printed for us. sorry, gang, please buy a $100 printer and save your guests' sanity.

Room Tip: we were in room 23, with an excellent view. it's a hike from the front desk, but the corollary b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Great to hear from you and we do appreciate your feedback and positive comments regarding the rooms we have to offer and our one on staff service. We understand your comments about the location as you mentioned "nothing within walking distance". The hotel is actually located within walking distance of a beautiful and secluded small beach that many of our guests seem to adore. When you want to visit the main beach or go to any beach front restaurants or the Nation Park in Manuel Antonio we also offer a free shuttle service to all of our guests.

Regarding your comments about having to walk through the hotel to reach your room: This has never been an issue of complaint by any of our guests before. Since we have rooms that are spaced apart from front to back by no more than 100 meters we have never seen this as an issue.
Also, any time a guest has need of a printer, for printing such things as boarding passes, we are always happy to provide this service for you at the front desk. This is as simple as sending an email to a "La Mansion Inn" e mail address or using a memory stick that we are also happy to provide for you.

All this said, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    202
    78
    30
    19
See reviews for
146
671
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great hotel, small, intimate,one of the best view in MA listen and watch for the monkeys on the upper deck while having a pina colada, great friendly staff. We hope to get back there in April. Hello Harry!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi there! Wonderful to hear from you. We are very proud and thankful to have the wonderful views that we do, especially our 360 degree view from the sky lounge that always seems to impress everybody that visits. I am also very appreciative of the staff that I have here at the hotel, who always manage to create such a fantastic and friendly atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently stayed here as part of a wedding party. We had such a great time. Yeah the rooms are a little dated, but it didn't matter as the staff was so wonderful and accommodating, the view is incredible and the hotel was very unique. The bat bar is like nothing else. The food was better than most hotels, and we especially loved the included breakfast. Gracias La Mansion! We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndiS212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Let me start by saying we had a large group staying at the hotel for my brothers wedding. From the moment we showed up the staff was incredible. They went above and beyond their normal duties to make our stay fantastic. Jonathan, Bart "the pirate" and the rest of the staff I would like to say thank you. The rooms were very nice and the views were perfect. They did have some construction going on by our room which was a little loud at times but we understand when you expand it doesn't just happen. Overall, this place is great and you will not be disappointed. Pura Vida!
The Hill wedding party

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Let me start out by saying if you stay here you will not be disappointed! There are so many good things about this hotel that I am sure I will miss something.

The location of the hotel is nice. They have a shuttle to the Manuel Antonio beach which is really nice. There are many restaurants located close bye and is about a 10 minute ride from Quepos.

The public areas of the hotel are clean and spotless. The views from all areas are like a postcard. My favorite area is probably the pool. The view from the pool is amazing and the souroundings of flowers and greenery are beautiful. Go up a few steps from the pool and you will be on a peaceful patio area filled with comfy and relaxing chairs, also with amazing views. The breakfast area is very nice and you guessed it has amazing views.

The service at this hotel is like no other. They are happy to help you with any question or request you may have. The front desk is very welcoming. Everyday we returned from fishing they wanted to know how our day went and if we caught dinner. The housekeeping service was also great. I think great housekeeping service is when you never encounter them, but everything is always perfect and it was just that.

Our rooms were great. We had two rooms (23 & 24) as there were five of us on this trip. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. It is not real fancy, but it is Costa Rica and it is themed in that style. Our rooms where a little different. The staff was able to put extra beds in our rooms to accommodate our group. These were not rollaways, but real beds. Great service!

The breakfast that is included with your room is fantastic. It is served on an outdoor patio overlooking the Pacific. The menu has many options from eggs Benedict to pancakes and of course lots of fruit. One night the restaurant cooked our mahi we caught and it was amazing.

Overall this is a great choice for anyone looking for a place to stay in Manuel Antonio. I have now stayed here twice and can't wait to return. Give it a try I am sure you will agree.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zwpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so glad that we were able to host a great vacation for you here in Manuel Antonio.
The staff here at La Mansion Inn are always encouraged to hear positive feedback such as yours, I will be sure to pass along your review of the hotel and the services.

We look forward to seeing you again here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Four friends (40-50 something women) stayed at La Mansion Inn early December. This small hotel was perfect for our group. We loved the included breakfast each morning on the beautiful terrace. The french toast was delicious! The employees were all outstanding and incredibly nice. We booked a few adventures through the front desk. We absolutely loved ADR Adventures. The pool/hot tub and outdoor terrace were additional benefits. Of course, we took advantage of the Bat Cave and had tasty drinks at the pool. Thank you Jesus! We walked down to the beach, Playa Biesanz, a couple days and enjoyed kayaking around that bay and watching the monkeys play in the trees. The location was ideal for the panoramic views and convenient to grab a taxi to the restaurants and National Park. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to MA!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F0recast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so glad you took advantage of everything that we have to offer here at the hotel, from the bat cave to the pool. We are always very glad to see our guests enjoy everything we have to offer and see them take full advantage of the vacation they came to enjoy.

I will be very sure the let the employees know of your comments and would like to personally invite you back to La Mansion Inn as a VIP return guest at any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful small hotel with spectacular views. Great service and food (thank you Juan Carlos for getting John fresh mango juice). Rooms are spacious, pool area is lovely. Everything is kept clean and manicured. Appreciate the coffee and cookies in the lobby ( note: free bottles of water would go a long way). The staff are friendly and courteous. A first rate hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etiole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Property: La Mansion Inn
Address: Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we look forward to welcome you to our "one of a kind" and super-friendly Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing