We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded us!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mansion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Upgraded us!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Spent three nights there...

The amazing -
Having a large balcony all by yourself where it looks like they built the ocean for your view is pretty cool! We had more privacy than the Presidential suite. Room 17 hands down!!! The capuchin monkeys will visit your balcony daily....

The customer service was incredible, nothing more to say!

The pretty darn good -
The Bat Cave was pretty cool. It is a small and dark adventure.

The good -
The food was decent. Breakfast was included. We ate dinner one night and it was good food. The seafood is their real sell including a "catch of the day" fish option.

There are 4 shuttle times at 12,1, 3, and 5 for the beach. They should add morning times.

Great boutique resort worth the money. The views are spectacular...wake up early for the capuchin monkeys.....

Room Tip: Actually not sure if there was a spa....but I accidentally added 5 stars for it. Disregard because I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BA_from_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We appreciate your kind review after staying with us. It is great to know that our guests manage to take full advantage of the facilities and services we offer so their vacation would be all it can be. The shuttle service has always been a high priority for us. We maintain this service for our guests and that it runs like clockwork from morning until evening. It seems that you missed our morning shuttle service to the beach at 9am. This allows our guests to go down immediately after breakfast and enjoy the morning at the beach. Sometimes with a lot going on in the morning we understand it is possible to miss the 9am service. We look forward to your return to Costa Rica, you are ALWAYS welcome here at La Mansion Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    185
    73
    26
    18
See reviews for
120
614
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Highly recommend this small and elegant hotel. Rooms are spacious with private balconies and amazing views of the pacific. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi & pool which afforded even more amazing views. A nightcap at the very unique bat-cave-bar is a must! The hotel's food is well prepared and the casual but graceful atmosphere makes dining a pleasure. What makes this hotel so outstanding is its very dedicated, professional and kind staff that truly cares for its guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingResi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Mansion Inn during a portion of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. The hotel was perfect! All of the staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We really enjoyed the pool/pool bar, cave bar, and the food was excellent! The view from our balcony was beautiful, the room was spacious--and we were even able to enjoy a couples massage from the comfort of our own room. Our package included breakfast, lunch and drinks--I would highly recommend that package! The staff knew us by name and we knew them by name in return (Juan Carlos, Adrianne, Jonathan, Bart, Carlos, Jesus, Michael...among others...). I was very impressed by this hotel and we will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyAThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
It is always very encouraging for your staff when they are remembered and mentioned on trip advisor. They work very hard to make your stay the best it can be and we are delighted that your vacation was everything it could be! We look forward to seeing you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
223 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Despite the many celebrities' photos on the wall, this lovely hotel is quite simple. Large comfortable rooms with gorgeous view of the ocean, a-la-carte breakfast included, a small pool and outdoor jacuzzi, and a great staff that will help you in anything you want. There's a free shuttle sevice to the beach several times a day (less than a mile away). Don't miss the terrace above the pool with the breathtaking view of the Pacific from all sides..!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABD119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Mansion Inn. We look forward to seeing you again, any time you return to Manuel Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is an excellent boutique hotel in a fabulous location with friendly and attentive staff. We had amazing views of the Manuel Antonio coast from our room. If you are lucky, the wild life will come to you - we saw spider monkeys and a capucin monkey from our balcony. Breakfast on the terrace makes for a great start to the day. The hotel is a short walk from the Playa Biesanz - a great little beach that you access via a path through rain forest. Parking is in short supply but we always found a space. Overall this is a great choice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a penthouse suite for our anniversary trip. The room was fantastic and the price included breakfast and lunch with drinks. The pool was very nice and there were great views throughout. We really liked the shuttle service as well.

We ate dinner at the hotel out first night and the dinner service was poor. I watched the other tables getting excellent service and we felt neglected. Our tablecloth was dirty and stained as well. After seeing bread service at the other tables, we finally requested some after our salads were served. My steak was served to me without a steak knife and, catching his mistake, the waiter grabbed a butter knife from another table. A few minutes later, he brought the steak knife. Also, we requested a list of sparkling wines and that took about 20 min to receive. I supposed people do not typically order sparkling wine at this hotel. Also, they do not serve wine by the glass, which is absolutely absurd to me.

I would stay at this hotel again but I would not reccomend eating dinner at their restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HofitNagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Mansion_Inn1, Owner at La Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for your comment – I have met with my service staff and our Front Waiter remembers the episode but “assured” me that you choose to sit down at a table that had just been vacated and that you decided not to wait for them to turn the table. In regards to list of sparkling wines, I am somewhat puzzled. These sparkling wines (and Champagnes) are part of our regular Wine List and as person who loves almost any kind of Champagne with festive occasions we offer quiet a variety including my own private selection which includes Krug, Dom Perignon, La Grand Dame, Bollinger, a variety of Veuve Cliquots and even have a bottle of Louis Roederer Cristal waiting for the right occasion. Almost all of these are listed on our Wine List. We also do serve wine by the glass and, thank to your comment, have increased our selection..

However, something must have been off that night with your service and for that I do apologize. I hope you mentioned your dismay to our Front Desk which would have made amends in accordance with our “Money Back” Guarantee policy and as mentioned in our personalized Welcome Letter. If you failed to mention it, allow me to have you as my guest for dinner next time you are at the La Mansion Inn. We are in the “pleasing” business and not like it if something goes wrong especially on your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

La Mansion is a very nice boutique hotel (about 20 rooms) and the view is breath taking. BIG room spotless. Breakfast on the terrace was also great. Service was always excellent. Valet service to and from the beach is very convenient.

The only negative note is the diner; our two meals were disappointing. They weren't worth the amount spent. But don't worry, Manuel Antonio area has lots of very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 934 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion Inn

Property: La Mansion Inn
Address: | P.O. Box 380, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star ocean-view hotel is located only 2 kilometers from the biologically diverse Manuel Antonio National Park in Costa Rica. Complete with roof-top sky lounge featuring 360 degree views and a genuine Cave Bar hidden inside the heart of the hotel, La Mansion Inn is truly unique. Over time, national and international celebrities have stayed at La Mansion Inn, and we look forward to welcome you to our "one of a kind" and super-friendly Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your La Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel La Mansion
La Mansion Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing