We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager very unfriendly...”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 9, 2006

We were recommended to stay at this hotel by some American friends who live in Manuel Antonio. Eight of us booked hotel rooms at the end of October for a wedding party. The accommodations are very beautiful, but we were disappointed that both the pool with the water-slide and the jacuzzi were not in operation.
During our stay, we wanted to have some of the small wedding party come back to the hotel to enjoy appetizers and drinks by the pool, but were shot down very rudely by the manager. We offered to pay extra and give the hotel some excellent business with prominent Hollywood studio executives as the guests. May I add that this was in the low season, and the hotel was virtually vacant. Nonetheless, the manager, Russ, told us "NO." In fact, he rudely told us to go to another hotel for the celebration. So we did. We went down to the La Posada Bungalows, and the warm and generous owner, Mike, hosted the most fantastic party. Too bad for Hotel Si Como No. We visit Manuel Antonio every three months and we will never stay at Hotel Si Como No again..

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank thelii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junglefan, Resident manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2006

Management reply:

The customer unfortunately does not describe accurately the circumstances of his complaint, nor the hotel’s response to them. They requested permission to bring non-hotel guests to use the pool facilities (for swimming etc) after attending an event off property. They were first informed by the front desk that hotel policy is that the pools are exclusively for hotel guests. Our longstanding policy is based on several good reasons: to respect our other paying hotel customers, to maintain the security of our hotel guests and to maintain a tranquil atmosphere at the hotel for all our guests. The customer then insisted on speaking to the manager, again requesting/demanding permission to break the hotel rules, so that persons who elected to stay at other properties could utilize Si Como No’s “nicer” pool. The manager replied that we are very sorry to say no, the pool rules need to be respected throughout the year. The customer then asked what to do, and the manager suggested that they have their get together at the hotel where their friends were staying.

While we regret that the customer is upset about the incident, we are sure that our other customers, past and future, will appreciate the fact we uphold these policies, even when “prominent Hollywood studio execs” come to town. Fortunately, this complaint is a rare example of customer feedback, which year after year normally endorses our policies with excellent customer satisfaction ratings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Si Como No
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2006

I booked this hotel in Manuel Antonio after reading great reviews here and in books, but I left it feeling mixed. The concept is great - the hotel is built into the side of a hill in the rainforest. Which is very unique but the is also very loud! Our room smelled like a sewer (I think they have plumbling problems there) and the mgmt offered us a 10% discount at checkout, which we accepted.
The rooms are in bad need of renovation, they are very run down, although spacious and they have their own patios.

The breakfast is served on this amazing terrace overlooking the water - the food is quite good for breakfast and for dinner. The pool is also very new and the swim up bar is a blast.

The hotel will recommend the butterfly tour across the street, but it's overpriced. I recommend El Avion - a restaurant built into the plane that started the Iran-Contra affair. It's very neat!

This is a great hotel for families, but not romantic.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank minibargrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

After spending a week in a rural village in the mountains, Hotel Si Como No provided me and my travel companion with all the luxuries we were missing and in desperate need of. The front desk staff was phenomenal! Their customer service skills top-notch. During check-in, I asked if our room had an ocean view. The gentleman informed us that we would have a partial view. Well, when we got to the room, I'm pretty convinced you couldn't get more full-view than what we had. They call a few trees in your view a partial ocean view, I think it made it more beautiful.

The restaurant staff at the Tiki Bar was fabulous, the adult pool bar was also staffed with very friendly people. Plus, with it being low season, I was prepared for diminished services, but Si Como No kept everything open the same hours. Even the movie theatre was open. We took advantage of it one of the nights. It was very nice!

The hotel is close to everything. You're 4 km from downtown Quepos and 4 km from Manuel Antonio. Plus, you can pick up the direct bus back to San Jose right outside the hotel, so it makes things very convenient. The grounds at the hotel were vast and beautiful. There's a free shuttle to Manuel Antonio, too. Fantastic! I'd stay here again in a second. This place was fabulous!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Desi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

After a wonderful 10 day tour of Costa Rica with Caravan Tours (which I can't recommend highly enough - Caravan Tours is the way to go for a fun and well rounded trip to Costa Rica!) we said goodbye to the group and headed to Hotel Si Como No for 5 nights. The grounds and accomodations are beautiful and luxurious and the views are magnificent. Our superior room had floor to ceiling glass windows/french doors that opened out to a private balcony with the most breathtaking view of the ocean and rainforest. We loved sitting on the balcony listening to the many sounds of the rainforest gazing out at the breathtaking view. There is a resident iguana that lives on the property and we loved seeing him at various times throughout our stay. We loved the food at the Rico Tico Cafe (which we liked better than the more expensive restaurant) and the staff could not have been better or more helpful with our many questions. One of the reception staff even made special arrangements for my husband to see a doctor on Friday night when he needed attention for an eye infection.
The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and we had fun seeing the movies in the state of the art movie theatre at night.
We also booked spa treatments (they have their own spa right on the grounds) and we really loved the pampering. The location is great - there is a terrific cafe (Cafe Milagro) across the street about a block away and other great restaurants a short cab ride away. We booked a river rafting trip and surf lessons through the hotel and had so much fun doing both. The two swimming pools are great - the adult pool and the "family"pool. We had fun going down the slide and we are both in our 40s!!!
All in all - it was the best vacation I have ever had and I have travelled a lot. Si Como No and Manuel Antonio was up there with the 3 most beautiful places I have ever been - if not the most!
I look forward to going back to Si Como No someday.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank apotozkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

While in Manuel Antonio stayed one night at Si Como No. It is definitely a resort type property, designed so that you can spend most of your trip there, hardly leaving the property. Two restaurants (agree with other posts that the more expensive one was not that great, and not worth the money, although the view is nice), two pools (one adults only which is very pretty, one for kids with slide -- both with vistas to sit and enjoy views of the Pacific) and two bars adjacent to pools. On-site theatre shows DVDs at night which was nice during the rainy night on our stay. Most hotels in CR serve free b'fast. Si Como No's breakfast was great, a pretty impressive spread. Grounds were lush and tried to keep outdoors in -- lobby has clear plexi ceiling so you can see the trees above.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2006

I just got married at Si Como No in July, and have to say everything was perfect! I brought about 30 people to the wedding with me, and a little over half of them stayed there too (others stayed at Villas Nicolas next door- also great, but smaller hotel). I was very nervous that with so many people someone would be unhappy, but can honestly say everyone had a wonderful time and loved the restaurants at the hotel, the swim up bars in the pools, and the beautiful grounds. We couldn't have been more pleased with the friendly hotel staff. Whatever we needed they could help us with, and there is someone at the front desk 24 hours a day. They will book tours for you, call you a cab, provide umbrellas if it's raining, etc. You can also exchange money for the local currency at no extra charge. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel is also very good and we took advantage of it every morning.

The room we stayed in was a deluxe suite and was beautiful as well. It had a large shower, comfortable sofa, overlooked the ocean with 2 balconies, and had a mini fridge and kitchen sink. A few friends stayed in the deluxe rooms (not the suites) and also liked them a lot too. They have vaulted ceilings and are just as nice as the suites, but have smaller bathrooms. Everything in the rooms seemed new and not dated at all.

The wedding planner (Erika Acevedo) does a great job and did everyhing I needed for the wedding. I was only able to chat with her over email while planning, and everything I requested was done, she even got the exact flowera arrangements and bouquets for me even though all I did was send a picture of what I liked. The food at the recption in the Claro Se Que seafood restaurant was also great, as was the private dinner we had the night after the wedding. Really nice live music is provided most nights at both restaurants.

The beach down the road is beautiful. It is about a kilometer and the hotel offers free transportation there every hour. You do not have to pay and get into the beach in the park, as the previous post says. There is a public beach that is very nice right in front of the national park. I would suggest only using the one inside the park if you are actually going in the park for a hike. The public beach is much nicer for swimming, as the one in the park has lots of rocks in the water and is kind of crowded. There were also lifeguards on duty at the public beach and I did not see any at the beach in the park.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2006

We (me, wife, two kids ages 7,10) just got back from four nights at Si Como No. The Hotel was nice, but the other two hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica (Finca Rosa Blanca and Lost Iguana) were much nicer and better values as well. We had thought this part of our vacation would be the time to play on the beach, but the "calm" beach is about a 1.5 mile walk into Manuel Antonio Park (after a shuttle ride to the park). It's a nice walk, and a beautiful park, but it's not something to do every day with kids.

We did enjoy the Rico Tico Bar and Grill restaurant (especially the breakfast and the snacks poolside). We also liked the Cafe Milagro (one is a short walk from the hotel, the other is in downtown Quepos).

The kids loved the water slide at the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $169 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing