We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay on our honeymoon!”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best stay on our honeymoon!”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My new husband and I stayed four nights at Si Como No on our honeymoon. We loved every minute of it! After a busy trip to the Arenal area, we enjoyed relaxing at Si Como No. We mentioned it was our honeymoon at check in and they improved our room. We had a perfect view and location. The bed was so comfortable and my husband enjoyed lounging in the little balcony.

The food was excellent. It was a wonderful breakfast each morning. Who new we had to go all the way to Costa Rica for good banana bread? We had lunch each day at the Rico Tico restaurant. The ceviche is great, we had both the fish and shrimp. We enjoyed the swim up bars, too. We had two dinners at the nice restaurant and they were both wonderful. Just for variety, we walked over to the pizza restaurant at the Byblos hotel one night (very good and inexpensive). And one night we had a marvelous dinner at Kapi Kapi.

The staff was so helpful and friendly. We got some free internet time at the gift shop. We also received 50% off of a spa treatment and I had a super hot rocks massage. We also enjoyed the movie theater one night. What a great idea! We really didn't miss a TV at all, although we did pop into the bar at the adult only pool and ask to watch the French Open tennis a few times. They were incredibly helpful.

We did a walking tour through Manuel Antonio National Park one day that was really good. We saw some very large iguanas right by the pool at the hotel each day, though. We could hear the Howler monkeys every morning and got a peek at some right from the hotel, too.

Honestly, this was the best part of our honeymoon. Every morning, we wake up at home and wish we were back at Si Como No.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATLtravelbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    373
    95
    36
    23
See reviews for
559
532
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We reserved 4 nights in this hotel and had high expectations. I am typically not one to complain about hotels, but I had to mention this experience due to the fact that we thought this would be the nicest place on our trip to Costa Rica.

Upon our arrival to our room we noticed several bugs flying around in the room and dead ones on the comforter. We realized that a window in the bathroom had been left open. We also noticed another stained glass window (see photo) in the bathroom that did not shut all of the way and could see large cracks where bugs were crawling through. We also arrived to an old mattress and a trash bag outside of our room (see photo). We asked to be moved from this room all to find out that all of the rooms had the stained glass window (with no lock and cracks to the outside).

In our next room we continued to have problems with bugs and geckos crawling through the bathroom stained glass window cracks. I am originally from the Midwest so bugs don't bother me all that much but the security of having a window to the outside that doesn't lock was more concerning.

We also looked forward to the live band that was suppose to play every night in the Rico Tico Bar but this band NEVER played!

The hot tub they advertise near the family pool isn't a hot tub - the jets are broke and it is basically a gross pool of water

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KCollins25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

The hotel was divine. Our room #1 was perfect. Huge bed, super soft sheets, separate sitting area with great view, private little balcony with 2 chairs, scrumptious breakfast, superb staff, 50% off spa services - You must get a deep tissue massage by Rosario -,

** It rained very hard one night and we did not want to take our 6 month old out. We ordered a great dinner from their Claro que Seafood restaurant and they so kindly brought it to our room. I highly recommed the Tropical Fish Salad and then add avocado and heart of palm to it! The best I have had! '?

My only con was the Internet Service. Although they give you a free one hour coupon- you have to go next door to use it and the computers are turtle slow - even for CR.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereintheworldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This was a last minute spring break trip (with sons 14 and 15 years old) so we booked with Costa Rica Experts which simplified the process and their suggestions were perfect. We stayed 3 nights here and 2 nights in the Arenal area. We were pleased with this hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was perfect. The room had lovely views of the ocean as well as the trees. Beautiful birds and butterflies greeted us on our balcony. There were 2 pools (one with a slide for the kids and one quiet one for adults). They have 2 restaurants. Breakfast was included daily. We had dinner twice here (since we were tired after full days of excursions) and the food was great. The hotel is on a slope so it may not be a good choice for those who cannot walk stairs. We did zip lining with Canopy Safari; did a private nature hike with a naturalist (saw monkeys, toucans, sloths, lizards, etc)and spent time at the beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelboundsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We were initially disappointed with Si Como No since we had just spent 3 nights at the amazing Springs Lodge and Spa in Arenal. On our first impression, I felt our room was a little bland. The photos on the website made it look much more colorful. But after we settled in, we quickly fell in love with this comfortable hotel. The room was actually perfect for us, if not a little cramped. It was nice that it had a little kitchenette although we only used this for making coffee (good coffee, by the way!). There is no TV in the room which really isn't an issue but sometimes with kids it's nice to have so they can unwind at the end of a long day in the sun. We peeked into the movie theater which looked very nice and had a great movie line-up every evening (Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Slumdog Millionaire) but these are not kid movies and the movies are all played at 8:30pm, too late for our kiddos.

Our kids loved the pool and especially the slide! Yes, the pool is a little on the cool side but it is hot in Manual Antonio and we had no problem whatsoever, jumping into the cold water.

The included breakfast was your typical fare and it was very good. We ate at Rico Rico's for 2 dinners and a lunch and it was very good. Very extensive menu, lots to choose from and it was very reasonably priced.

We used the shuttle a couple times to get to Manual Antonio Park but both times we had to take a taxi back ($5). The shuttle runs on the hour every hour but takes a 4 hour break from 10:30am-2:30pm which always seemed to be the time we'd need to get back.

We took the night jungle tour at the Wildlife Refuge (owned by hotel) across the street and it was excellent! The kids saw tons of frogs, lizards, bugs, crocs, etc. The fact that it was dark and it had just rained a ton, made it even better. The kids loved it!

I almost forgot the monkeys! Every morning at breakfast and every afternoon, they would put on a little acrobatics show for us around the pool and Rico Tico restaurant. It was so much fun to watch them!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpmurphyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2009

This is exactly what we expected from a "Eco" Hotel. It was nice place to stay and relax. The rooms were clean and without a television (Thank-You). The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds made you feel very secluded and it were well kept. The movie theater is a nice feature, and the restaurants we're both great places for /breakfast/lunch/dinner. I highly reccomend the ceviche, it was fantastic!
We did have one issue with one of the trips they booked for us, but that issue was resolved by the friendly staff. (It was more a fault of the Trip Comapny used, apparently it was from a service they normally don't offer. - That wasn't mentioned, but we appreciated them going out of the way to book it)
The hot water was off and on, but other than that, it was a fantastic experience. The view from the room was spectacular as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ry064255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantucket
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We happened upon this hotel when we had an opening in our itinerary and were really happy. It is a pretty big place, with nice amenities and nicely integrated in with the natural landscape of the area. It would be a really great place for families with children, and couples travelling alone like us. The front desk staff helps to get your activities arranged, and can be a little pushy trying to sell more tours etc, but overall were really helpful and it was really safe and relaxing. The breakfast was impressive, and the restaurant that specialized in fish was really good and picturesque.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wife-o-chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing