We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful resort. Great base for a family vacation in Manuel Antonio.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort. Great base for a family vacation in Manuel Antonio.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I spent quite a while reviewing Manuel Antonio hotels on tripadvisor before settling on Si Como No for my vacation with my wife and 2 kids (ages 7 and 9). Although the hotel it is highly rated, having now spent a week there, I'm surprised it isn't one of the very top rated in Manuel Antonio. It should be! The hotel is beautiful, with landscaping that retains the look and feel of the rainforest. The family pool has a wonderful slide and waterfalls, as well as a bar in the pool with 2 for 1 happy hour specials every afternoon. The breakfast buffet, which is included in the rate, has an omelet station, pastries, fresh tropical fruits, a variety of prepared foods, and great coffee. There's a free movie theatre which shows a different movie every night, and you can even get popcorn for the movie. Across the street, there's a rain forest preserve where you get free admission to the butterfly farm as a hotel guest. There are other tours there as well, but those are for a fee.

There are quite a few restaurants within a short walk of the hotel. Two that we liked very much were El Gato Pescadora (fresh fish & chips) and Aqua Azul (great burgers and seafood). The hotel also offers a free shuttle to the public beach where there are a few shops and restaurants, as well as the entrance nearby to the national park (don't miss it!). If you don't have a car, there are taxis, as well as a dependable local bus service that many tourists use. The bus stops right in front of the hotel.

The room we had (room 8) was great. It was labeled "partial ocean view", but actually had a beautiful view of the ocean. It had 2 king beds, both facing the ocean. Our room was quite spacious and nicely decorated in a simple way. There was plenty of room for the four of us. The room was part of a quadplex, with two rooms on top of the building and two on the bottom. We were on top which was nice as the room had a valued ceiling which made it feel even larger.

In terms of constructive criticism, I thought the food in the restaurants was just OK. It wasn't bad, but I thought other restaurants within walking distance were better. Also, for 2 out of the 6 nights we were there, we had very loud neighbors in the room adjoining ours. We could hear the neighbors through the wall in our room, and also were not able to use the balcony those days given their noise. The other 4 nights were very quiet, so I think the issue wasn't the construction, but just unfortunately having some very, very loud neighbors.

The staff at the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel. If we make it back to Manuel Antonio, I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DC_Traveler_111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear DC_traveller_111:

Thank you for sharing your own “Exceptional Costa Rican Experience” at Si Como No. We always appreciate the detailed descriptions of our customer services and resort amenities, especially each time we are rewarded so graciously. Thank you again for recommending us and we hope you and your family do come back again soon and enjoy even more of our brands of sustainable hospitality that also include our sister "Cloud Forest" hotel, Villa Blanca in San Ramon, and our Corcovado Rain Forest property, Aguila de Osa Inn, that are also part of the Magic of Nature and the Good Natured hospitality of Greentique Hotels here in beautiful and friendly Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    311
    86
    33
    22
See reviews for
466
440
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I just finished a weeklong stay at hotel Si Como No and must say it is a five star experience in the middle of the jungle and right next to a fantastic beach. The hotel is of the highest standard, the rooms are large, luxurious and with incredible views. The staff is what makes this hotel unique. Everyone working at this hotel will go out of their way to make sure your holiday is as memorable as it can possible be, and always with a smile and a "Pura vida" anyone going to Manuel Antonio area would be foolish not to stay at this fantastic resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Lars T:

We are glad to hear about your great experience at Si Como No. Thank your for your recommendations and compliments to our staff which fortunately often go beyond the call of duty when hosting our guest requests. We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future and maybe consider including our other Greentique Hotels here in Costa Rica. So please accept our Pura Vida good vibrations right back at you señor!!

Best regards,


Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We loved this hotel. Everything is easily accessible. The bus stops right in front of the hotel, so for a very low price it is easy to get anywhere in the area. The rooms are very nice, with incredible views. The wifi is spotty. Note: there are no TVs in the rooms. We did not miss that, at all. The pools are wonderful and the hot tubs. The minibar prices are reasonable enough that you can actually have a snack or drink. The free breakfast is very good, with both American and Costa Rican food available. Our group was one adult and 2 older teenagers. Everyone was happy here. There were many families with younger kids also. We took laundry to a place that does it by the pound. The nearest laundromat is in the nearby town of Quepos. It would be nice if the hotel had free or coin operated laundry available. We got quite wet and dirty during our activities in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan244667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Susan244667:

We appreciate your review and again thank you for staying with us. The resort, like our sister properties in Greentique Hotels, actually have never had TV sets in the rooms going back now over 20 years, yet just about everyone we have ever hosted seem perfectly happy without the outside intrusion. However the adult pool bar, restaurant, movie theatre and complimentary WiFi coverage, seem to facilitate connectivity without distracting from Nature’s own show, offered 24/7 from your very own jungle balcony and throughout the resort .
We look forward to your next visit as a repeat customer. Please let us know so we can recommend one of our popular Greentique Family Packages you may wish to consider.

Best regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed here during a family vacation ( 4 adults) during the slow season of May. Check-in was a breeze and the view from our room was amazing. Hotel is just a short walk or cab ride to many good restaurants and has a bus stop right our front for those that want to ride to the local town of Quepos or the the beaches or Manuel Antonio.

The staff was very friendly and they really took care of us at breakfast everyone morning, accommodating all our request. We really enjoyed going to the adults only pool and hanging out with the best bartender Steven Flores! He is definitely a great asset to the hotel and I highly recommend going to see him. He makes some of the best drinks you'll ever have! Besides Steven, the best thing about the hotel was waking up to see all the monkeys invading the property. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying here the next time I'm in Manuel Antonio!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room and you will have an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwinston19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Jwinston19:

We appreciate your positive review and your kind recommendations to your own friends regarding our resort staff. TheTico’s expression of Pura Vida is in imbedded in the culture where good vibrations equate to the willingness to share, and we will be sure to share by conveying your message to Steven, who runs the adult pool bar at Mogotes, and the rest of our staff. We invite you to become one of our many repeat guests to enjoy more of our boutique sustainable hospitality and make many more friends at Si Como No.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a great boutique hotel, small and cozy with beautiful view, near many restaurants and few minute ride to the beach (transport provided by hotel). staff goes out of their way to please you, and by 2nd day know your name. Great for kids, theater has latest movies every night for family. Butter fly tour/walking in cage is part of the hotel and free, must see. Also go on their night tour of rain forest, with snakes, frogs and alegators (locked area). It was really worth the price, and best hotel in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sohail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sohail m:

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your exceptional experience at Si Como No! It is very rewarding to know that our staff made the difference and they went the extra mile to accommodate your needs and to provide memorable experiences you shared in this review. We are also very pleased that you took advantage our our invitation to discover our Wildlife Refuge and the Manuel Antonio Nature Park with the Night Walk tour you seemed to all enjoy as well as the our efforts to share out knowledge through our Nature Interpreters on how important it the conservation efforts to protect the flora and the fauna, not only in Costa Rica, but from wherever our clients call home. We look forward to have you a s repeat guest and include our other Greentique properties in San Ramon de Alajuela and the Peninsula de Osa at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Aguila de Osa Inn..

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Outstanding small hotel, blends in perfectly with the environment, beautiful rooms and grounds, great views of the canopy and the sea. The main/family pool is great with beautiful views from the pool and the dinning area. Staff is fantastic - friendly, attentive and flexible in accommodating our large party. Our room was set up to accommodate a 2 year old including a sleeping playpen and netting on the balcony to avoid the small one falling thru. The fridge was stocked everyday with cold drinks at reasonable prices - a rarity in hotels.

There are no TVs in the rooms (a plus but some may not find it so) and the wifi reception is not very good but that just makes it better in many ways.

There are some tours available within the overall property of the hotel, we did a night tour of the forest and saw 20+ types of life ranging from multiple red-eye frogs to termites and snakes to squirrel monkeys - it was great, just be prepared to sweat...

Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ocean view (i think) are the ones facing the canopy and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronin6050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Ronin6050:

Thank you for your encouraging review and especially how you appreciated the architectural design of the hotel, strategycally positioned on the jungle terraces to take advantage of the panoramic views of the pacific ocean and at the same time to blend with the surrounding tropical forest that allows the local fauna to roam within the hotel premises. Thank you also for mentioning our staff, which we are proud to say are the most important asset of our boutique resort thanks to the Costa Rican “pura vida” vibe that helps to create the ideal atmosphere for our guests to enjoy. Hopefully we will see you again soon and include our sisters hotels, all part of Greentique’s boutique hotel experience.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Beautiful views, great staff( Hilda, Stevie ,Ronald, Jonathan, Homar) and great buffet breakfast. Lots of stairs. If you have mobility problems they have rooms at the top which are accessible but you will have a hard time utilizing the family pool and lower portion of the resort. It is built on a hillside after all. That being said my 81 year old mother managed ok with a little support from her daughters. Many of the handrails are to large to get a good grip. I loved it here especially since i was not paying the bill. I have not stayed in any other resort near by so I'm not sure how it compares.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear mmgorman:

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica and thank you for your review. As you noted the resort is perched on natural jungle terraces overlooking the Manuel Antonio coastline. Besides the stairs we have included access ramps to almost all of the facilities, but please note that our reservations department takes special requests regarding room location and access when special needs are to be considered. Thank you very much for your compliments to our dedicated staff and we’ll be sure to share your comment with them!

Best regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing