We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel near Manuel Antonio National Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel near Manuel Antonio National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Outstanding small hotel, blends in perfectly with the environment, beautiful rooms and grounds, great views of the canopy and the sea. The main/family pool is great with beautiful views from the pool and the dinning area. Staff is fantastic - friendly, attentive and flexible in accommodating our large party. Our room was set up to accommodate a 2 year old including a sleeping playpen and netting on the balcony to avoid the small one falling thru. The fridge was stocked everyday with cold drinks at reasonable prices - a rarity in hotels.

There are no TVs in the rooms (a plus but some may not find it so) and the wifi reception is not very good but that just makes it better in many ways.

There are some tours available within the overall property of the hotel, we did a night tour of the forest and saw 20+ types of life ranging from multiple red-eye frogs to termites and snakes to squirrel monkeys - it was great, just be prepared to sweat...

Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ocean view (i think) are the ones facing the canopy and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronin6050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Ronin6050:

Thank you for your encouraging review and especially how you appreciated the architectural design of the hotel, strategycally positioned on the jungle terraces to take advantage of the panoramic views of the pacific ocean and at the same time to blend with the surrounding tropical forest that allows the local fauna to roam within the hotel premises. Thank you also for mentioning our staff, which we are proud to say are the most important asset of our boutique resort thanks to the Costa Rican “pura vida” vibe that helps to create the ideal atmosphere for our guests to enjoy. Hopefully we will see you again soon and include our sisters hotels, all part of Greentique’s boutique hotel experience.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    320
    87
    33
    22
See reviews for
477
454
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Beautiful views, great staff( Hilda, Stevie ,Ronald, Jonathan, Homar) and great buffet breakfast. Lots of stairs. If you have mobility problems they have rooms at the top which are accessible but you will have a hard time utilizing the family pool and lower portion of the resort. It is built on a hillside after all. That being said my 81 year old mother managed ok with a little support from her daughters. Many of the handrails are to large to get a good grip. I loved it here especially since i was not paying the bill. I have not stayed in any other resort near by so I'm not sure how it compares.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear mmgorman:

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica and thank you for your review. As you noted the resort is perched on natural jungle terraces overlooking the Manuel Antonio coastline. Besides the stairs we have included access ramps to almost all of the facilities, but please note that our reservations department takes special requests regarding room location and access when special needs are to be considered. Thank you very much for your compliments to our dedicated staff and we’ll be sure to share your comment with them!

Best regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Spent four nights last week here at Si Como No. Started off on right foot with driver (Graven?) picking us up at airport. Weather looked ominous so he went out of his way to scan for some wildlife for our girls to see, iguanas, a flock of red macaws followed. Arrived and front desk promptly squared us away. off to our room (deluxe suite to the left) and then the rains came. Hey its the green season. in exchange for light crowds, you make do with the weather's unpredictability. We had dinner there once at the Seafood place. It was good, service was accommodating. the highlights of this place is the pool and the views from Rico Tico. the waitstaff here seemed more alive, on top of their game every afternoon with drinks (mojitos) and appetizers after a day's travels or a few hours in the pool. Breakfast was always a pleasant experience. Guava juice a personal fav. We went twice to the movies, intimate. the room staff kept our room spotless. Location is everything, this place has it. easy walk to the grocery, café milagro, very quick ride (shuttle or taxi) to beach and Manuel Antonio entrance. Wifi could be stronger but really you should be busy enough while in CR not to really need it too much. Keep your eyes open during your walk around the property, you'll never know what wildlife is there. Kudos also to the staff at the nature facility across the street. Knowledgable and personable. do the butterfly visit and night walk. frogs galore!

Room Tip: just make sure your room has a balcony facing the ocean for optimum views of the pacific and for mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband, two daughters and I just got back from an amazing eight day trip to Costa Rica. We stayed for four nights at the gorgeous Hotel Si Come No. The property is so beautiful with such incredible views of the jungle and ocean. The breakfast buffet was so delicious!! Thanks to Cassandra for getting us espresso's every morning! The hotel has two pools and two bars with great drinks. The hotel is a great location!! We could walk to some fun restaurants and bars and were only a five minute drive from the National Park entrance. We also went on the full day San Juana Tour which was unbelievable!! I can't recommend it highly enough! It included a canopy tour, hike and swimming in a spectacular waterfall and horseback ride. It was our favorite day in Costa Rica!!! We were so happy with our decision to stay at the Hotel Si Come No!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickiA1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear MickiA1111:

We can only add a “Pura Vida” thank mucho for your gracious review. Your enjoyment especially of the Santa Juana Rural Mountain Adventure and Canopy tour again confirms why its been rated our most popular tour we represent which has planted over 10,000 native trees, provided jobs for the local village community, as well as protect the precious watershed. Great to know breakfast was so pleasurable, and that Cassandra took care of you with our Costa Rican coffee. Hopefully on your next visit you will include our Cloud Forest hotel, Villa Blanca, and on the Osa Peninsula at Aguila de Osa Inn, both sister properties of the family of Greentique Hotels.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

First things first, the Si Como No has really stunning views of the Pacific Ocean from almost every area of the hotel (lobby area, pools, the Rico Tico restaurant and room balconies). The rooms are spacious but I felt they were outdated and the sun loungers on the balcony were old, tatty and rusty. The bathroom was clean with a very large shower but no bathtub. Also no TV's in rooms but there is a theatre in the hotel where they show movies nightly. Please note that there is also no beach access for anyone wanting to walk to the beach - this is not your hotel. We also only found out on the last day that there was a beach shuttle service - this information should have been provided at check in. There are 2 pools and one of them is adults only which is a plus, again the poolside furniture needs updating. We found the staff in Rico Tico restaurant to be unhappy and the furniture in the restaurant needs to be updated. The breakfast was also very average for what we were paying. Compared to other hotels in the area, this hotel is very expensive and we didn't feel it was personally worth what we paid for. We are regular travellers and have a lot to compare this against.

Room Tip: Note that there are a LOT of stairs to get to/from reception to the rooms - particularly on the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingernutla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Gingernutla:

After so many encouraging reviews justifying the good value we deliver, including many seasoned traveller’s, who are all do gracious to praise our friendly and accommodating staff, our popular restaurant menus, and many resort amenities we offer, we found your own review respectfully quite out of sorts and wondered how you ended up choosing Si Como No to begin with. Perhaps you had not visited our website, nor read any of the informative materials, including our oficial Tour Guide or Resort Map, or somehow you missed our orientation? We do appreciate that you found one common value, "great views”, and otherwise below your personal standards or expectations with lots to compare.

Regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is WONDERFUL! The staff is great, the pool is cool and refreshing. Each day spent here is a treat. The spa is 1st class. Our room was kept clean by a great house keeping staff and the grounds are kept picture perfect. The food was fabulous. The local Beach is spectacular. We enjoyed every minute here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Pamela B.

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Si Como No! Is great to see that you enjoyed our Cala Spa facilities which we promote as a perfect complement to one's vacation experience. We hope to see you back with us again and perhaps consider adding our Greentique sister hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve!

Best regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Hotel Si Como No was very centrally located. Our family of four was pretty comfortable in a standard room although it sounds like the deluxe rooms give a better view. The room itself was very plain but we had everything we needed including beach towels. The view of the ocean was beautiful. The breakfast buffet here was amazing. So many choices including made to order eggs. Make sure to order a pina colada here- the best we have ever tasted. Staff was very attentive and helpful. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby. It was a very short drive to the beach and the Park which made this very convenient. You have to pay for parking but it worked out well.

Room Tip: We stayed on the right side of the lobby. We had a good view of the ocean from our balcony. A smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mar55:

It is very rewarding to know that another happy family enjoyed “The Magic of Nature”!! . We would like to thank you for your kind mention regarding our staff which really are always looking out for our guests to assure a truly Pura Vida experience!! Thank you for your comments and we hope to have you return again as part of our extended family of valued guests of Greentique Hotels.

Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing