We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just got back from a week here in a Deluxe Suite with my wife and two teenage daughters. The staff was friendly, and the property was very well kept up and comfortable. My wife said it was the nicest place we've ever stayed and I think she's right. There are two pools, one adult and one family, both with swim-up bars, and one with a water slide. They have WiFi if you ask, as well as tethered netbooks for guests to use in the lobby. WiFi coverage was spotty and inconsistent but that's my experience in many U.S. hotels as well. We were closer to the road than many of the rooms but the room was very quiet. Too often our family of four feels really cramped in anything short of a two-room suite, and while this was a single room, it had two king beds (one pull-out, one regular) and it never felt small. The fact that we were on a corner also gave us fantastic visibility. Most of two walls was window. They asked us to keep the A/C set no lower than 22 C (72 F) but compared to the humidity outside, and with ceiling fans, the room temp was always exceptionally comfortable.

I had read in various reviews online that there were lots of animals visible from the hotel property, so I was a little disappointed not to really see anything, until one morning when my daughter woke up early, looked outside, and saw monkeys swinging through the trees. According to the staff that's really hit and miss. Families of monkeys migrate through the area occasionally and it's very unpredictable. Beyond that it was mostly the occasional butterfly or bird, plus quite a few salamanders in the breakfast area near the family pool.

I arranged for a driver from the airport directly with the hotel. A hotel rep was there on-time to meet us, and stayed with us for a few minutes until our driver arrived. The driver spoke a little English, and was very friendly and enthusiastic. Our family's limited Spanish enabled a nice conversation on the 3-hour trip to the hotel.

The hotel has two restaurants on site, a casual grill where they also serve breakfast, and a more formal finer-dining place. The breakfast was like you find all over the U.S.: made-to-order omelets, cereal, fresh fruit, etc. The grill had awesome guacamole and a few other good things, and is a really reasonable place for family dining. The more formal place, where we also ate several times, was less inspiring. Fish tended to be overcooked; meat tended not to be very tender. But there are other restaurants close by. Barba Roja, for example, an easy walk from the hotel, had great food and friendlier service, and was somewhat lower in cost as well. Our cheapest dinner of the entire trip was at Barba Roja, where thanks to happy-hour prices the four of us ate and drank for about $56 including tip. We also tried another restaurant across the street from Barba Roja and one down by the beach (there are only 2 or 3 there), as well as Ronny's Place, apparently a well-established Quepos hangout.

The hotel runs a shuttle to the beach 6 times a day, but we really took taxis anytime we left the property and couldn't walk. Taxi prices were about $5 for a 2-mile trip into town or to the beach. I did walk one morning down to the beach, although it ended up being several miles, and given the humidity, most people will prefer the shuttle or taxi.

We took two hotel-arranged tours, one night-time one to their "nature park", which was actually very cool. They said it's their property but connected through a "biological corridor" to the national park. I was expecting something zoo-ish, but only a couple turtles and some reptiles were captive. Everything else (sloths, snakes, tree frogs, bats, other stuff) is wild, and the guides are really good at finding stuff and pointing it out to you (and spoke fluent English). It was amazingly humid but still a hit. We also then booked an estuary tour which you can do in kayaks or on a boat. Since there are crocodiles in the channel we would travel, we opted against kayaking, but the boat was a better idea anyway because the boat can go somewhat faster and further, and we saw a lot more. Besides a baby crocodile and lots of birds, we also stumbled on two separate families of monkeys, all of which were within a few yards of us, and a couple of which joined us briefly on the boat. So this tour was another big hit. It also came with a really good lunch, and as with the other tour, the guides spoke fluent English and were exceptionally accommodating.

So overall we had a great time, and Si Como No made a great base for exploring the Manuel Antonio area. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other families. It's a little expensive but with the pools and free breakfast and on-site grill (I'd skip the more-formal restaurant in favor of one of the nearby restaurants), Si Como No is extremely family friendly.

Room Tip: We had a corner Deluxe Suite, which was very comfortable for 4 people, with two king beds. Not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Alan M:

Thank you for taking the time to write your candid review of our resort. It’s not often that we can read such a detailed review that we can share with our managers and staff. We trust you were able to get some photos of the animals that travel through our property normally quite regularly.

Regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    349
    90
    34
    22
See reviews for
514
493
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed in a couple of different hotels in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. This is the best, by far!

They have bungalow style rooms, with separate living rooms, air conditioning (luxury for the area, many hotels do not have), most with patios that over look the ocean, two pools, one with water slide and one that is adult only, a delicious restaurant, and the best part: You feel like you are in the jungle! There is a nice spa on site as well.

A 10 minute walk to the beach and close to Manuel Antonio National Park. Resort is in the heart of Manuel Antonio, plenty of restaurants and bars in the area. It's right off of the main road so you can get a cab easily. Walk outside during the day and see large iguanas, toucan, and monkeys. In the evening, bright green frogs and other wild life make their appearance. Across the street, they have a wildlife refuge area. Although I visited as a couple, this is a great place for families to stay as well.

Note: If you eat breakfast there at the right time, the restaurant is an open air patio and the monkeys swing in from the trees and try to swipe your food! They are pests to locals, but tourists like us think it's really neat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Deanna-m:

We are glad that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you could take in all the flora and fauna in our resort’s jungle habitat that continues to be a natural animal corridor through to the National Park and our Wildlife Refuge. We look forward to your next visit and trust we will do our best to have you become another one of our repeat customers at Si Como No and hopefully visit our other Greentique Hotels in the Cloud Forest of San Ramon, at Villa Blanca Hotel, and within the Southern part of the Rain Forest near Corcovado National Park at Aguila de Osa Inn.

Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I just want to write this review to say what a wonderful time I had at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We stayed at Hotel Si Como No in our last 4 days and this place is a “Must” to see and a “Must” to stay! I traveled a lot of countries for vacation and adventure and so far Hotel Si Como No is on top of my “best” list. Hotel Si Como No is situated is set on a place which makes it so just Magnificent and Marvelous. The view from our balcony was just amazing. At night we enjoyed just relaxing on the balcony hearing all the different sounds of insects, frogs and lizards. In the morning we woke up to the chirping of birds and sounds of monkeys, squirrels and some critters. We even saw a female cappuchino monkey carrying her baby. All the staff were wonderfully friendly and doesn’t bug you or hinting you to be tipped (if you know what I mean!). The pool was great and I spent many hours there everyday after our activities offsite. I like to thank the all the staff at Hotel Si Como No for our wonderful and superb experience. To Omar, Steven at the lower pool and to Joel at the adult pool and to those I can’t remember all their names. We love the cocktails and the food. Thank you! Thank you! Pura Vida!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FPAWSTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear FPAWSTRAVEL:

Thank you for taking the time to share what we believe is the exceptional Costa Rica experiences we offer at Si Como No as are part of our brand of sustainable hospitality. We believe our commitment to conservation not only extends to our adjacent wildlife refuge at Manuel Antonio Nature Park, but also within the property where you took the time to appreciate the dedication of our gardeners who highlight the native flora that attracts so many animal species to our jungle terraces. We hope to see you back with us again and perhaps consider adding our Greentique sister hotels on the Osa Peninsula, and also in the Central Highlands of San Ramon, where we believe more of the Magic of Nature is offered to experience and enjoy.

Best regards,
Jim Damalas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have been traveling with my family of 4 for the past 10 years. I have never written a review for anywhere else I have stayed. This is one of the most beautiful places on Earth to visit. If you are into adventure or just want to relax. Hotel Si Como No was amazing! The views from the room were awesome. The food excellent and the service was perfect! The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Joel and Steven were great and anything we needed they helped any way possible. I can
Not wait to return in 2017 as our kids asked to go back as a graduation present! See you then guys!!!!! Fred Warner

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear FredWarner:

Greetings from all of us here in Manuel Antonio. We thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you and your family enjoyed our efforts to provide you our sustainable hospitality that includes “The Magic of Nature!!” and the good natured Costa Ricans of Si Como No, including Joel & Steven that were happy to read your comments about the Rico Tico restaurant. We look forward to your return with the family in 2017 and trust you will be encouraged to write another travel review about more of the experiences that you and your family have with us.

Best regards
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Greentique Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a family vacation to Costa Rica and we're so glad we chose Si Como No for one of our two lodgings. We have nothing but positive things to share about the property, the staff... the total experience was wonderful.

We stayed in a Deluxe Room with Rain Forest/Ocean views. The room was clean, well furnished and comfortable. No AC but not a problem, with the open sliding doors and the ceiling fans we were very comfortable. The balcony was a delight and nice that is was covered as we were able to lay in the lounges and view the rain storm with lightning coming in off the Pacific one night. We also saw some wildlife off the balcony (Toucan, Monkeys, Capybara). The bathroom was spacious and colorful - loved the large shower with atrium.

Every staff we met was friendly and helpful - from the front desk to the gardeners. We visited both pools but perfered the views from the family pool - and the water slide if fun for kids as well as adults (it goes faster than you think - be prepared). The swim-up bar was a treat and one day a Capuchin Monkey swang in as well to the delight of us who were enjoying the day at the pool.

We absolutely loved breakfast each morning at Rico Tico - the views are primo and the food does not disappoint. From made to order eggs, to the freshest - sweetest fruit we've had to the baked breads (a kitchen staff member bakes these wonderful breads), it's a great way to start your days in Manuel Antonio.

We also enjoyed lunch and dinner several days while here at Rico Tico - the Ceviche was SO good and our family agrees that their hamburger was likely the best we've tasted. The servers are GREAT, and the poolside appetizers and cocktails were a real treat.

I highly recommend every visitor to Si Como No (and those visitors to Manual Antonio who do not sat here) to visit the Butterfly Garden. It was a rich experience - to not only see so many beautiful creatures but to have several land on you was peaceful and rewarding.

Lastly - we also highly recommend the night tour in the Wildlife Refuge. The frogs you'll see up close were phenomenal. We saw a snake as well but the frogs, especially the red-eyed green frogs (we saw more than 20) were a real visual treat. Our guide - Johnny - was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and did a great job (he can even mimic the frogs calls so they help him find them!).

The icing on the cake is the special certification Si Como No strives for (and receives)... to experience such a beautiful place and know that your choice of lodging is intentionally greet and positively affecting the land and it's people - that gets an A+ in our book.

It may sound like this is a phony review - but I can assure you I am simply a very satisfied customer. Thanks to whole team at Si Como No... you do it right!
Pura Vida - Chet & family

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerchetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Travellerchedt

Thank you for choosing Si Como No and for the gracious recommendations. Delivering experiences that are family friendly is a big part of our overall commitment to hosting families and couples who can find plenty to do on our resort property. Our operations meet the national standards of CST (Certification of Sustainable Tourism), maintaining the highest rating of Five Green Leaves as pioneers in conservation since 1994. We appreciate your recognition of our sustainable practices that we all are very proud of. We regret our A/C unit was down, but it’s true that the natural breezes and ceiling fans can often do the trick. We hope you and your family can come back and enjoy more of what we have to offer, including our sister properties at Villa Blanca, our cloud forest hotel, and Aguila de Osa, located on the Osa Peninsula near Corcovado National Park.

Best regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was a lovely hotel in a glorious setting. It felt quaint and intimate, but at the same time was very family-friendly. We spent hours at the hotel pool going down their fun slide! We woke up many mornings to the sound of howler and squirrel monkeys and could see them climbing in nearby trees. The view of the ocean from the hotel rooms was also spectacular. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the two restaurants were delicious. We love this hotel and the whole Manuel Antonio location. We also got lucky with weather. It hardly rained at all, even though we were there in the rain season. Apparently we hit the mini-dry season that occurs sometimes in July.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level suite for the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Hope M:



We always appreciate when we continue to read reviews about family's who found our hospitality exceeded their expectations. Our goal, as part of Greentique Hotels, is to surround our guests with an atmosphere we call the "Magic of Nature", as well as share our brand of Tico hospitality with our good natured and dedicated resort staff. We feel fortunate that so many guests take the time to share their experiences with us through their comments, including reviews on TA. Hopefully you’ll plan a next visit soon and consider including time at our sister hotels at Villa Blanca, in the cloud forest of San Ramon, and Aguila de Osa, in the rainforest on the Osa Peninsula. We look forward to hosting you and your family with even more of the exceptional Costa Rica experiences we’ve been offering for over 20 years.

Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I just have to say, thank God! We were tired from a winding, 4 hour drive from the Arenal Volcano region, but from the moment we walked into the gorgeous lobby and were greeted by the warm staff, and were given an upgraded room upon request, we were so happy! Lovely bungalows & amenities. We saw so much wildlife just on the grounds of the hotel. Each bungalow offers lots of privacy and we had a wall of windows and balcony that had a beautiful view of the Pacific. Anything we needed, the staff promptly responded and it was very convenient. The kids pool was adjacent to the breakfast brunch area and we sat at a table watching our 6 year old swim. We enjoyed meeting some of the staff, Joel and Omar in particular, and we hope to see them again on another day. This part of our vacation was PERFECT for us! Walk across the street and they had a wonderful night tour and a butterfly garden that we spent an hour in and never saw another tourist. This felt like a 5 star experience if you can handle a bungalow jetting out from the hillside with wildlife and a fantastic view!

Room Tip: Top floor has a better view and was given to us at no extra cost simply for asking for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alilgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Alilgril1:

Glad you were able to handle all the wildlife and "fantastic view" from your own private jungle ocean terrace. We are very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay at Si Como No ! Is our commitment to deliver a unique boutique experience to assure we are part of your vacations highlights and lasting memories. We’ll be sure to give your regards to Joel & Omar at t5he Rico Tico Bar and Grill! We hope you'll join our family of repeat customers and consider also visiting our Greentique Hotels in San Ramon, within the cloud forests of the Central Highlands, and on the Osa Peninsula, at Drake's Bay, near the Corcovado and Cano Island National Park.

Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing