We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Hotel with Great Views and Spider Monkeys!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel with Great Views and Spider Monkeys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is up a hill in Manuel Antonio. Away from the main street. There are some other hotels, restaurants and bars along the road.
The reception is lovely with an excellent view over the Pacific Ocean. They like mosaic glass windows here and it's very pretty. Check-in was easy and we were shown to our room and helped with our bags.
Our room was very nice. A big king sized bed and a seating area with a sofa and coffee table. We were on our honeymoon and found two champagne flutes and a bottle of sparkling wine with a message on our arrival, which was a nice touch (not sure if other guests got this as well). Our balcony had the same view as reception and it was lovely to sit and look out at the view. The room had a mini bar (not included but reasonable prices) and good air conditioning. The bathroom had a shower, toilet and two sinks. There were toiletries. It was a nice bathroom with a coloured glass window with fish on. We slept well in our room.
There are two pools. One slightly more family orientated pool and one for adults only. The adults only pool was empty, as we went out of season. There is a main swimming pool with fairly cool water and a swim up bar. The bartender was friendly and chatted with us while making us cocktails. There is a Jacuzzi up on the sundeck at the adult pool, which is nice and overlooking the ocean, but the water is the same temperature as the pool. Probably great in the hot summer but not so great when it's very warm!
Family pool is nice with another swim up bar. There is happy hour for cocktails and drinks (the 2 for 1 offer only applies for exactly the same drink, i.e. you either both have to have the same drink, or you have to drink two!). The family pool also has a slide, which we went on. It's good fun and picks up some speed at the end!
This hotel has a cinema and shows films every evening. We didn't watch any but we did poke our heads and look. It looked pretty good and had a good sized screen. They showed Skyfall and Monsters University while we were here.
We went to the restaurant attached to the hotel one evening (seafood restaurant). Lots of the hotel staff gave us 15% off food vouchers for this restaurant (only one voucher per meal). The calamari was very tasty. The seafood platter was good but the lobster was a little overcooked. The waitress serving us wasn't particularly friendly, and they seemed keen to go home, as there were only two tables in. It was a nice meal and had a lovely view. I'd recommend going there one night to try it out.
Breakfast was ok. Fruit, cereals, some hot options, cakes, biscuits. Nothing too exciting and not as good as the other hotels we'd stayed at in Costa Rica, but ok.
The best thing about this hotel was that, one morning, a whole troop of spider monkeys came down through the hotel. They were on the roof of the breakfast area and running down the bannisters around the sundeck. It was a great opportunity for photos and the monkeys literally ran passed right next to me!
The staff were nearly all friendly and helpful.
Come here for the views.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KA1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Katie A:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an overall positive and detailed review. We feel your appreciation of the resort’s amenities, atmosphere, and helpful staff convey what’s an important part of Greentique Hotels who try their best to provide great vacation experiences. Regarding the unique incident one evening at our restaurant, we truly were surprised and immediately reviewed your comment with our manager and do apologise. We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future and maybe consider including our other Greentique Hotels here in Costa Rica and a dinner on us.
Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    350
    90
    34
    22
See reviews for
514
494
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Awesome staff, beautiful rooms and location. The breakfast was really wonderful too! The staff manager went above and beyond to help us add a fifth traveler. They also gave us an upgrade since we visited during a slow week.

Room Tip: High floors had the most beautiful views. I never heard any noise from any neighboring rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Merci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Merci R:

It was really nice to meet you all during your stay. We are pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your time with us! It is always very rewarding to have guests that compliment our staff, our biggest asset, where clients often go out of their way to mention as a big part of their Costa Rican experience at Si como No! We hope you'll join our family of repeat customers and consider also including our other Greentique Hotels, including Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel & Nature Reserve in San Ramon and Aguila de Osa Inn near Corcovado National Park.
Best regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Si Como No. The setting is beautiful with the resort built into the rainforest. Everyone on staff was very accommodating and friendly. It is very easy to get to the beach, and there are several restaurants and shops within walking distance. Just be aware of the road as people drive very fast and it is narrow. The movie theater was a nice option for something to do at night too. Our kids loved the kids pool as well. For the area, we felt Si Como No had a lot to offer. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Jkeaz:

We appreciate your encouraging comments and are pleased that you and your family enjoyed the hospitality of Greentique Hotels! Thank you for your special recognition of our staff, whose commitment to support our mission, is translated into exceptional service and authentic Costa Rican experiences we continue confirm from so many positive reviews. We hope you’ll consider returning and including our sister hotels in the Cloud Forest of San Ramon at Villa Blanca and the Rain Forest of Corcovado National Park at Aguila de Osa Inn.
Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Following a very long and cramped van ride from Monteverde to Quepos, we finally arrived at Hotel Si Como No. Immediately upon entering the open air lobby, we felt ourselves begin to relax. A yummy fish taco and drink at the Rico Tico grill further mellowed our mood. The Hotel provides outstanding views of the rainforest and the Pacific Ocean. Definitely spring for a deluxe room with a sea view and private balcony. The hotel has separate adult and family pools – we ended up spending our time relaxing near the cozier family pool/bar area since it was near our room (No. 24) and no children were on property. As with most hillside resorts, there are some stairs and climbs to get around the hotel, but this site was well laid out. We enjoyed a dinner at the on-site Claro Que Si restaurant – try the steamed fish! Best of all, is the hotel’s location – near the rainforest, but conveniently located to be able to walk to other restaurants as well as the beach (if you are fit). A free hotel shuttle can take you back to the resort rather than walking the steep road back! We were able to see numerous species of wildlife right on the property – sloths, toucans, monkeys, and iguanas – even before going into the Manual Antonio Park. A word of advice if you go on a guided tour of Manual Antonio - the tour guide will only walk you on a short portion of the trail to the beach. If you have the time, are more adventuresome, and in halfway decent shape, spend more time and do the loop trail that winds around Cathedral Point and provides beautiful views. Again, the hotel offers a free shuttle back. Before getting on the shuttle, however, stop and have a well-deserved frozen drink at the Marlin Restaurant in the hub of town.

Room Tip: Upper level deluxe rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear P B:

Thank you very much for staying with us and allowing our staff the opportunity to share our brand of sustainable hospitality with “The Magic of Nature” and good natured staff of Si Como No! The tropical jungle terraces, overlooking the coastline of Manuel Antonio as our backdrop, combined naturally with our resort amenities, seem to be good reasons why so many Guest Reviews agree with you why they loved their Si Como No stay with all of us. Our commitment to "Exceptional Costa Rican Experiences” start and end with the resort staff who we feel are as important as our valued gusts who they host every day throughout the year. We will let our chef know how much you enjoyed our Claro Que Seafood Restaurant with their recipes based upon farm to table ingredients. We hope to see you back with us again soon and please consider adding the other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.

Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and Eco friendly. Their service is impeccable. Breakfast was wonderful. The view from the room was amazing. They have a theater and offer free first rate movies each night. There is no tv in the rooms but there is so much to do that is does not matter. The location is truly paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the top. It will be less steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drenfroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Drenfroe:

Thank you for your positive feedback and finding us worthy to be a part of “paradise”! We’ve never featured a TV in our resort since we believe "paradise “ stands on it’s own merits to assure an exceptional experience with us. However we do provide satellite TV in our pool bar and one of our restaurants along with our private THX movie theatre for those that need their TV fix. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you again as our guest here or at our sister properties at Villa Blanca Hotel or Aguila de Osa Inn.

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Really nice and unique boutique hotel nestled in dense greenery on steep overlooking the Pacific with islands in view. Good location on main drive thru Manuel Antonio. Manuel Antonio is the most contemporary locale that I've visited in Costa Rica after 4 visits. The staffing and service at Si Como No was very good and friendly. I certainly would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwight m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Dwight m:

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive Si Como No experiences. As a boutique resort we feel that the many facilities available for our guests, including both a family and adult pool option, are good reasons to return and become a regular customer of Greentique Hotels.

Best Regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was a wonderful location and beautiful resort for our stay in Manuel Antonio. The staff was very accommodating with any request we had. The rooms were comfortable and the views spectacular. A full American breakfast buffet with eggs made to order was a great beginning of active days of hiking and being on the water. We even went to the on site spa for a wonderful hot stone massage. We even enjoyed the movie theatre on site that showed recently run movies. Highly recommend Si Como No!!!! Hope to come back soon.

Cathy C

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ccutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear ccutt:

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this encouraging review. Seems that you took advantage of many of our resort amenities that altogether we believe is our goal to provide you our brand of “Exceptional Costa Rica Experiences" as a member of Greentique Hotels. We also appreciate your recommendations to future guest and will be happy to invite you to become part of our regular family of repeat customers with many of the added values we feature each month in our website. Hope your next visit includes our sister properties at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Resort and Aguila de Osa Inn so you can experience even more go the magic of nature and good natured boutique hospitality we pride ourselves to deliver everyone who vacation's with us.

Saludos,
Jim Damalas
General Manager,Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing