We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, great property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great view, great property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

At Manuel Antonio, we stayed 3 nights at Si Como No, which was awesome.

The hotel sits on top of a hill overlooking the jungle and sea and the property has a general use pool and an adult pool with a swim up bar. The whole property was covered with jungle which had plenty of wildlife in it. There were no TVs in the rooms, but they had small cinema on the property which showed films each night. We never ended up using it, but it looked nice.

The staff were all very helpful and were bilingual so no problems communicating.

The room was really nice – a split level with comfortable bed, sink & fridge and bathroom on the raised section. On the lower level was a built in couch facing the balcony, providing beautiful unobstructed sea views. It was very quiet and we spent each night hanging out on the balcony listening to the waves.

We arrived in the afternoon, so by the time we were checked in it was time for happy hour which runs from 4-7pm. We spent our first afternoon enjoying happy hour in the adult pool. We had a very good bartender and we were introduced to the local liquor, Guaro, in the form of 2 really excellent drinks – Guaro Sour and Guaroparina (I’m not sure of the spelling of that one, which was made with brown sugar and looked like mud, but tasted great). We saw a troop of capuchin monkeys in the trees next to the pool.

We then walked up the road to a restaurant called El Avion, which was an old transport plane shot down by the Sandinistas which was cut up and transported to Costa Rica. The bar was in the fuselage and the rest of the tables were on or under the wings. Unlike a lot of gimmicky sort of restaurants, the food there was excellent. Had one of the best steaks I’d ever had and my wife’s whole red snapper was also excellent.

The next day we had the breakfast buffet at the hotel. The food was really good food – they had an omelet stations and we especially loved the plantains. We discovered the local sauce called Salsa Lizano which we ended up putting on everything (we bought a big bottle of it when we got back). The restaurant had a perfect sea and jungle view and while we were at breakfast a troop of young squirrel monkeys came through, including one that came into the restaurant.

That day we took trip arranged by the hotel to a vanilla plantation called Villa Vanilla which was really good. They also grew cocoa, cinnamon, allspice and pepper and we got to try it all.

That night we went on a night nature walk through the forest near the property which was included in the Groupon/Travel by Jen package. It was cool, but we didn’t see much except tree frogs and some sleeping birds.

The next morning we walked back down the road towards Quepos and took a left at the first intersection, which put us on a road that took us down to the beach below the hotel (it’s a long walk). We ended up on a deserted beach which we walked on until we reached the entrance to the national park. We hired a guide to take us through the park, which was useful because it turns out to be really hard to spot the wildlife without the guide, who knew where to look and had a telescope. The park is quite small and crowded on the route from the main entrance to Manuel Antonio beach. Fact is there are so many groups with guides stopped on the main road through the park that if you wanted to do this on the cheap, you could bring binoculars and just look wherever the guides are pointing the groups. We saw more capuchin and squirrel monkeys, a sleeping howler monkey and both two & three toed sloths. Turns out the sloths hang out very high up in the trees. The pictures I took of the sloths and the howler monkey were all extreme zoom or through the telescope.

There were three beaches in the park and at the main beach we saw some wildlife all to close – some more capuchin monkeys and there were raccoons all over the beach which were stealing stuff right out of people’s hands. I had to wrestle my backpack away from one. For that reason we never ended up swimming at the beach there. We hiked all the trails, then took a bus back to the hotel. There’s really only one road, so any bus leaving Manuel Antonio (or Quepos to Manuel Antonio) passes Si Como No, making it really easy to get around.

We were sad to leave Si Como No and if we ever went go back to that part of Costa Rica we wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Tom B:

Thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience at Si Como No! By the way, the name of the drink is Guaipirinha, a popular drink at Bar Mogotes. We hope to see you back with us again and perhaps consider adding our Greentique sister hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, where we believe more of the Magic of Nature is offered for you and your family toexperience and enjoy.

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    350
    90
    34
    22
See reviews for
514
494
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed in hotel 1-10 Dec. Great time before the holiday rush. A few afternoon showers, but overall perfect weather. Our rooms had fantastic views, good AC and plenty of room. Restaurant poolside was great for all meals, pools were spectacular and drinks were perfect for happy hour. Used tours from the hotel. While not a bargain, they were professional and the guides were passionate about their country and very knowledgable. When going between MA and Quepos don't be afraid to use the bus. 80 cents and they make change. The hotel staff were pros and provided just the right amount of attention. We are thinking of bringing our children and grandchildren back in a few years.

Room Tip: I think they are all good. The closer to the front desk and restaurant means fewer climbing steps b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank INFABNRGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear INFABNRGR:

Greetings from Manuel Antonio. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday at our resort and that you took advantage of the activities we offer at both our resort, our wildlife refuge, and at the beaches of Manuel Antonio. We always appreciate the fact that you're also considering bringing your family and we well certainly be happy to deliver again the exceptional Costa Rican experiences we pride ourselves to share! You may consider our other Greentique properties, including Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel in San Ramon de Alajuela, and Aguila de Osa Inn near Corcovado National Park!

Happy Holidays!

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel and lobby area is absolutely amazing. The lobby and common areas are open to the outside and built into the rain forest. This is amazing since you can enjoy your included breakfast overlooking the water and see the natural wildlife. While staying here I was able to see an iguana, lots of Capuchin monkeys, sloths, and several toucans. The staff was very friendly and helped us book several tours. The view from our room was amazing as it overlooked the water and we had a good size balcony to sit on and enjoy the sunsets. The room itself was spacious and clean. There are two separate pools that both overlook the water (one is adult only), both have swim up bar areas and the main pool has a slide.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the water so you can enjoy the sunset from your own private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacKenzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Marc W:

Thank you for the positive description regarding the Hotel & Lobby area. It was designed to create an oasis that blends naturally with the surrounding botanical gardens and jungle terraces overlooking the coastline, and of course all the fauna of the area will comfortably roam within the hotel premises. We also woul like to thank you for your kind mention regarding our resort staff which really are always looking out our guest to have the Pura Vida experience!! Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to have you return again as our valued guests with our family of Greentique Hotels.

Happy Holidays,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The view from our room was breathtaking. The rooms are clean and spacious. The pools are divided for adults and kids both with swim up bars. There are pathways throughout the hotel are all surrounded by lush greenery. So pretty. And the stained glass windows just add to all the beauty. Great family hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHappyHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Nicole C:

Thank you very much for your nice comments and we are glad that you enjoyed both the natural & the arquitectural beauty of Si Como No. Our commitment with conservation not only extends to our adjacent Manuel Antonio Nature Park but also within the hotel grounds were youappreciated the dedication of our gardeners to highlight the local flora that attracts so many animal species to the resort usually. We look forward to have you as a regular repeat guests and hopefully include our sister hotels, near Corcovado National Park and San Ramon, that are also members of Greentique Hotels with us in Costa Rica.

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at Si Como No on a vacation booked through Travel by Jen. We were there for 3 nights, and I wish is was more! The hotel was wonderful and the views were spectaular. The room was big and included a kitchen area, large shower, and balcony. We had a hummingbird tree outside of our balcony, so I enjoyed sitting out there watching the hummingbirds and monkeys climb through the trees. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic every morning. We ate at the Rico Tico restaurant our first night, and the food was good, but we ventured out the next 2 nights to save on some money. The pizza place to the left was ok. Sancho's is about a 10 minute walk to the right (if facing the hotel). Please make sure you go there. The owners are wonderful and the fish tacos are incredible. Everything is fresh and made to order, including the tortilla chips! We also tried the fish tacos at the Fish and Chips spot (not really sure what the name of the place was) a few minutes before Sancho's. They were also very good, beer battered red snapper, as opposed to the lightly fried Mahi Mahi at Sancho's. Both were outstanding, but we ended up at Sancho's twice. I would also highly recommend the Santa Juana tour and the Villa Vanilla spice farm tour, both were excellent. We did Manuel Antonio on our own one day. You can hire a guide for like $20/person, but if you go alone, you will see all the same animals that the guides are pointing out to the other groups as you pass them, so I wouldn't say a guide is a necessity. Our stay at Si Como no was excellent, just wish we had more time in Costa Rica, such a beautiful country!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Noel G:

Greetings from sunny Manuel Antonio Beach!! We thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed “The Magic of Nature!!” Breakfast at Rico Tico is always a nice way to start the day with the surrounding jungle and the view of the Pacific Ocean so you can plan your day with our good natured Costa Rican hospitality, including the many tours, including the popular guided Santa Juana Rural Mountain Adventure you enjoyed offered by our concierge. We hope to see you back with us again and perhaps discover more of the exceptional Costa Rica experiences we have to offer as par of Greentique Hotels.

Best regards

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

During a business trip to San Jose, I was able to sneak away to Quepos for a night and found this great property.

Staff was excellent, views are amazing and food was great. I was by myself, so just stayed in their most basic room, but will consider bringing the entire family next time.

Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Jeff S:

We appreciate your kind words and we are glad that you took some time off and choose our hotel to “escape from reality”. Thank you for recognizing the friendly hospitality of our staff, many of which have been working for the hotel for over 15 years, welcoming our guests with a “pura vida” vibe!
We look forward to your next visit with your family and hopefully you will be able to visit our other Greentique Hotels in the Cloud Forest of San Ramon at Villa Blanca or the Rain Forest near Corcovado National Park at Aguila de Osa Inn.

Best regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable hotel on the road to Manuel Antonio. The room was quite basic and rather plainly decorated compared to similar priced / rated hotels elsewhere in Costa Rica but was fine for us with a decent bed, sitting area and balcony with a beautiful view overlooking the ocean.

The hotel also benefits from nice gardens which attract plenty if wildlife - we watched giant iguana, vultures, playful toucans and hummingbirds all from our balcony.

Pools are nice, with a water slide at the family pool and a hot tub at the adult pool. Breakfast was fine - although little variation day to day. The fish restaurant does an especially good 3 course lunch time special.

Staff were generally polite although I wouldn't have called any of them particularly friendly compared to other places we stayed.

Finally, guests get a free pass to the butterfly gardens opposite. Doesn't look much from the street but stick with it - after a couple of minutes walk we found ourselves in the best butterfly garden we found in Costa Rica with loads of different species (elsewhere seemed to major on one or two).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Moods_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing