We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, awesome trip to San Juana”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, awesome trip to San Juana”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed the beautiful grounds, beautiful view, very comfortably furnished room at this hotel. I was particularly impressed by our standard room that had 2 comfortable chairs and a love seat with lighting in all areas of the room. We enjoyed the movies they showed in the evenings. The excursion to San Juana was awesome and the night walk and butterfly garden in the hotel's nature park across the street shouldn't be missed. The hotel guide, Mike, was great. My only disappointment was the water in the adult pool (in April) was too warm to be refreshing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear BFNewJersey:

We appreciate your encouraging review, including our most highly praised tour of Santa Juana. We are pleased you enjoyed the resort facilities & natural surrounding jungle landscape. We are very committed to both the adjacent Manuel Antonio Nature Park and Wildlife Refuge and the rural tourism conservation projects we support with the promotion of the Santa Juana Rural Mountain Adventure Tour you experienced with our guides and members of the village community. Offering both adventure and awareness to sustain the rural culture and biodiversity are part of our mission as members of Greentique Hotels. We would like to take this opportunity to invite you back again and ideally include our sister properties at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Aguila de Osa Inn where you will have the opportunity to again enjoy more exceptional Costa Rica experiences with our brands of sustainable hospitality.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    368
    93
    34
    23
See reviews for
539
514
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just a quick note that we had an excellent experience at the Hotel Si Como No. It was our first visit to Costa Rice and we were treated to excellence service, food, and accommodations. It was beautifully located in Quepos, only a short distance from the beach, for excellent surf. In addition to this, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Excursions could be made with a simple visit with the concierge. We highly recommend the Si Como No!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room on the west, 3rd floor, with a beautiful view of the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Florida13Bradenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Florida13bradenton:

Thank you for your very positive review. We appreciate that you enjoyed our brand of “The Magic of Nature” and the good nature of our resort staff. We call it the "Pura Vida" vibe that complements the atmosphere of the natural surroundings we enjoy sharing with our guests. We hope you and your family can come back soon and enjoy more of our brands of sustainable hospitality that include our Cloud Forest and Corcovado Rain Forest properties that are all part of the family of Greentique Hotels, where exceptional Costa Rica Experiences are what it's all about.

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We took a family group of 8 (ranging in age from 12 to 60) to this hotel and everyone loved it! It is a pretty, relaxing spot from which to launch out and tour Manuel Antonio, ride horses, take a bird watching excursion, or any of the other highlights in the area.

The grounds are carefully blended with the natural landscape, and nature takes notice. We saw white-faced monkeys and an array of birds and other critters right on the property.

The food at the Rico Tico restaurant was delicious family fare with a Mexican leaning, and good fresh fish.

The staff were very nice and helpful. This was our second visit, and even better than the last one 10 years ago. Terrific spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Win S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Win S:

It is very rewarding that our guests find Si Como No even better the second time around after 10 years with more than 50% of the staff still with us to share our brand of sustainable hospitality!! We have been striving to deliver Exceptional Costa Rica Experiences since we started 20 years ago, and your complements regarding the surrounding tropical flora and fauna and the excellent menus in our restaurants graciously presented and served by our friendly & helpful staff is what we strive to deliver, year after year. Thank you very much and we would love to see you and your family again in any of our Greentique Hotels where the magic of nature and the good nature of our staff look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at Si Como No for 3 nights after booking through Imagine Latin America. The hotel is in a great location near Manuel Antonio national park and has stunning views out over the Pacific. The hotel upgraded our room on arrival which was nice of them - they were pretty quiet whilst we were there which probably helped, plus we were on honeymoon (which also meant they kindly gave us a bottle of sparkling in the room when we got there). They seem to have a good sustainability policy which is good to see; not just one which pays lip service.

The room was a bit of a walk from reception and the pool (not that far but equally not right next door) but was clean, spacious and somewhat surprisingly had a reasonable sized kitchenette which I can't imagine is that well used by guests. The colour scheme was perhaps a little dated but generally the room was very good. Our balcony had a great panoramic view over the ocean.

We spent a lot of time at the pool here which was relaxing and again, had great ocean views from the terrace. The service was very attentive with staff seeming to know the right time to come over and offer us a drink! We stayed around the family pool (it's got the water slide - why wouldn't you?!) as it was quiet so we mainly had it to ourselves; not sure whether we missed out by not going to the adult pool.

The main restaurant was OK; huge portions but a bit more emphasis on quality than quantity would have been good. It was nice enough but just felt like it could do with a touch more refinement and this may have been why it was always quite empty. The restaurant up the road (El Avion) was much busier with tour groups and had a bit more of an atmosphere so worth a look if you're there for a few nights. The seafood restaurant looked like it had decent food but was so expensive we didn't actually go in. Again, probably needs a bit of thought if they want to get many customers in.

As a place to relax and spend a day going to the National Park, I'd recommend Si Como No. With a bit of work to the food offer and possibly a different colour paint in the rooms to make it a bit more contemporary, I'd probably be looking at 4.5 stars (if I could!) instead of 4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Walderr:

We are glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon at our resort and thank you for your comments. We regret the food did not completely meet your expectations or budget parameters, as most reviews on this forum and monthly guest surveys continue to express how they enjoy the good value and quality at both of our restaurants, however we will certainly share your valuable comments with our F & B manager. We hope we see you back with us in beautiful Costa Rica and take thisopportunity to invite you to visit our sister hotels at Villa Blanca and Aguila de Osa Inn, members with us in Greentique Hotels.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here last year and remembered how fabulous the venue was for me.
It is overlooking the Ocean and you can hear all the beautiful animals in their element.
(I remember viewing a Mama monkey carrying her baby while I was dining at the rooftop restaurant.( I had the most delicious Red Snapper that night also) I met the owner who was so gracious(originally from the states)-I can see why he moved out there.
La Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the ocean-there are 3 tiers of suites and some are more set back than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaJane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear RitaJane21

Thank you very much for taking the time and share your experience at Si Como No! Gladly you enjoyed our amazing views and the regular visit of the many animals that live in the Rain Forest!! We hope to see you back with us again soon or with our other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was not very fimiliar with the Manuel Antionio area when we decided to stay here. The views are great from the hotel. It is on the side of the road that ocean is on so all the rooms have great views. We met others that stayed on the opposite side of the road that said they had no view of the ocean at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful...and prompt when needing help. The hotel also has a shuttle service to take you to the beach and park...this will save you a taxi ride that would cost you about $15 round trip. I will definitely stay here when I go back to Costa Rica

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llogan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear llogan3

Greetings from sunny Manuel Antonio Beach ! We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review and we are glad that you enjoyed the stunnings views of the Pacific Ocean and the friendliness of our staff. We hope to see you back with us again soon or with our other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary at this top drawer resort and thoroughly enjoyed the amenities, relaxing atmosphere, and the superb food and drink. Upon check-in, we knew we would be well taken care of as the receptionist immediately confirmed our pick-up times for the pre-planned tours for the following couple of days. We were booked for a standard room but upgraded (without asking) to a superior room with an awesome view of the Pacific below. The shuttle to the beach and national park at Manuel Antonio is a short 5-10 minute ride and it runs right on schedule. We loved the pools, happy hour and the cuisine at Rico Tico's (on site) as well as the affiliated restaurant adjacent to the property. Service was superb at both restaurants. I enjoyed not having the distraction of TV yet was able to stay connected with Wi-Fi throughout the resort. This is a serious eco-friendly resort and it was indeed satisfying to participate in sustaining their efforts. While there is much to see and do throughout the Manuel Antonio area, you cannot go wrong in just kicking back and relaxing at Si Como No - Yes?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Don P:
Congratulations again on you anniversary! We were very pleased to have had the opportunity to share our hospitality. Thank you for appreciating our efforts and our commitment to sustainability that's at the core of our philosophy as part of Greentique Hotels. Your encouraging review again reassures us of our ongoing commitment to deliver what's often conveyed as our Greentique brands of Exceptional Costa Rica Experiences where the Magic of Nature and the "good nature" of our hotel staff seem to make all the difference. We hope to see you back with us again in Manuel Antonio and include our sister hotels in the Cloud Forest of Villa Blanca and Aguila de Osa Inn on the Osa Peninsula for another anniversary in beautiful and friendly Costa Rica .

Regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing