We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience at Si Como No”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Si Como No. We had our 7 and 11 year old daughters with us. They had a great time in the pool and enjoyed the swim up bar and slide. The movie night was a fun experience and the breakfast buffet was quite nice. They have a shuttle to the beach which was very convenient. Many restaurants are within walking distance. It was fun to sit on our balcony and watch the monkeys play in the trees. The staff was very friendly. We would definitely recommend it and would go back. Beautiful views!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank lovetotravel60621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear lovetotravel160621:
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Although the West Wing of the resort caters to couples with a Adult Pool Terrace and formal restaurant, the fact we also have the Family Pool Terrace and family menu has earned us our "family friendly" credentials. We appreciate you valued our Nature Park and Wildlife Refuge and we never get tired of the complements about our friendly staff of which many have created long time friendships with clients who have become regulars at Si Como No.
We look forward to your next visit as a repeat customer and hopefully you will be able to visit our other Greentique Hotels in the Cloud Forest of San Ramon at Villa Blanca or the Rain Forest near Corcovado National Park at Aguila de Osa Inn.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Si Como No
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Although the property does not have beachfront, the views are wonderful. However be forewarned that getting to your room can be an adventure. The hotel is on a hillside and there a significant number of steps and paths to get to a room. My room was at the very end near the adult pool and I got my exercise. The pool was the best part after the view. The restaurant served redundant and uninspiring breakfast fare and the rooms could use some serious updating. I get the beach vibe, but my room was leaning toward shabby complete with flying ants, worms, and other little critters in my shower that featured a rock garden with plants. On the positive side, the owner of the property has invested in preserving a forest where we took a night walk that I highly recommend. Frogs, toads, snakes, crocodiles, and an array of flora. Well worth the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust2travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Wanderlusr2travlers:
After reading so many previous reviews complimenting our Costa Rican style buffet breakfast, we are sorry we did not have the opportunity to provide any special diet requests. Please note that as a Five Leaf CST certified property in Sustainable Hospitality, we are unable to use harmful chemicals to control insects, and due to the fact we are within lush botanical rain forest terraces that overlook the coastline, we encourage our guest to keep screen doors and windows closed, especially after a tropical rain, since we are located in a natural jungle corridor so our guests can enjoy all the animal life that share our natural habitat with their own menu of flora and fauna. We will certainly look into your other comments about the vintage of our resort, but again we seldom find our natural concept of architectural designs an issue of blending in to the landscape which includes our interiors that we try our best to maintain. We have looked into your comments and will do our best to see if we have overlooked any details and are sorry we did not deliver to our expectations.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Si Como No. Hotel had family and adult pool and 2 restaurants. there are other restaurants near by but we stayed in house to avoid the walk. the Hotel is on a hill, which they warn you about, but you do need to walk uphill from most rooms to the restaurant and registration desk. there are a few rooms at street level. The views are great over the lush foliage to the ocean. One minor issue is that during out stay the sunset was to far to the south so we could not see it directly from our room.
We were in a deluxe suite which had a large sitting area and a huge bathroom.
Resort restaurants had good range of choices and a reasonable wine list.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 643retiredguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

643Retiredguy:

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and the views from your jungle terrace that looks over the coastline. At Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica our objective is to do our best to deliver the values of “Exceptional Costa Rican Experiences” and appreciate your recognition of our mission. We would like to invite you back to visit our sister properties of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel in San Ramon de Alajuela & Aguila de Osa Inn near Corcovado National Park
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We are currently staying at this resort close to the Manuel Antonio National Park. It is a beautiful property situated on a bluff that runs down towards the beach. The hotel has approximately 56 rooms -- it does not front the beach but is approximately a 5 minute shuttle ride away. The room rate that we paid for includes breakfast at the Tiki Rico (sp?) restaurant which we have overall found to be excellent -- breakfast is a really nice sized buffet with made-to-order omelets and pancakes, etc.

This is a Costa Rican eco lodge and so it is integrated into the landscape and pays attention to things like whether you want your towels changed each day, etc. The design is very nice if not a bit quirky -- wonderful pathways run up and down through the property with dense foliage and vistas of the pacific and the islands just off the coast. There are small lizards occasionally running across the pathways as well as a few resident Iguanas who laze around in the sun.

2 downsides to mention -- the bathrooms are a wonderful size but the shower heads use such low-flow spouts that it takes a LONG time to get completely free of soap and shampoo. I think that they have gone too far overboard in trying to save water to the point that the shower is nearly not usable. It is a large glass shower and there is a jacuzzi tub but really the showers need to provide more water.

Second issue is that our room backs to the road. You technically don't ever see the road itself because all rooms face the other direction towards the coast, and there is a high wall so that the road is not visible as you walk out of the room. There are bouganvillias (sp?) and lovely flowers surrounding the walkways. But I did not realize when we booked the hotel that it is just off of the main busy road -- this is not an issue for any of the rooms further down the slope but I would recommend that you do not book rooms 25, 26, 27, or 28, or rooms 44, 45, or 46. The road noise is notable throughout the day and through the night as well. Room 46 is the room that we are staying in and it is a corner room so it has views of both the coast and a side panoramic window over the adult pool, but again you will notice the road noise.

Room Tip: t I would recommend that you do not book rooms 25, 26, 27, or 28, or rooms 44, 45, or 46. The road...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear JSAATY:
Its's very rewarding that you decided to share your experiences with us and future guests. Unfortunately the issue with water & traffic noise was due to the high occupancy in the area because of the extremely popular Spring Break peak where traffic increased by approximately 300% as did the demand for water provided by our national utility company which in turn failed to keep up with the demand of our water storage normally provides. We would like to invite you to consider having another positive Costa Rica experience with our other Greentique properties in the Cloud Forest of San Ramon at Villa Blanca and in the Rain Forest of the Osa Peninsula at Aguila de Osa and we'll gladly offer you a special discount for your inconvenience, including another stay at Si Como No.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we stayed 3 nights at end of 12 day tour. Rooms are large and all have balconies with views of Pacific as the hotel is built into the cliff .. Rooms do not have TV but do have Interent which is included . 2 heated pools and hottubs one of which is adult only. Bars at or near both pools. Grounds very lush , you may well see monkeys and you will cerainly hear them . There is a night hike right across the street and you can get deals at front desk. worth 2 hours of your time in the evening . Make sure you go to Manual Antonio Beach and Preserve aboslutley worth the $10 entry fee

Te hotel has nightly movies often aimed at families since there is no TV. also some nights have entertainment in one of the restauaunts . Service was friendly and efficient

would recommned and certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear HRW1953:
We are quite pleased to know that you "would recommend and certainly stay again". For nearly 20 years that's been our ongoing commitment by both our management team & friendly resort staff to deliver “Exceptional Costa Rican Experiences “ and share with our clients the natural surrounding, including our Wildlife Refuge Jungle Night Tour and Nature Exhibits that are all filled with the native Flora & Fauna of the Central Pacific. We hope you and your family can come back and enjoy more of our brands of sustainable hospitality and include our Cloud Forest and Corcovado Rain Forest properties that are all part of the family of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family came to si como no to relax after tiering trips through Costa Rica and I can not say we enjoyed here. Our only benefit was that the kids of our group enjoyed at the pool... The rooms were so close to the jungle that if you kept the door open for too long lizards and bugs came in, as much as the jungle is beautiful, it's too much for us. The rooms were quite small, had no T.V (not that it worries me), the shower barley had hot water and we were not given enough towels. The food was quite awful and there was barely a variety.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Yaron H:
After reading so many positive Trip Advisor comments we are reminded that we can't always hit home runs. What seems peculiar is that they were 180 degrees off the rest of the opinions we receive from Trip Advisor and our own Weekly Guest Surveys that continue to average a 98% positive overall rating and will also recommend us to their friends. So it's that 2% we need to do our best to turn around or perhaps accept we are not cut our for everyone.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My stay at Si Como No was flawless! We were picked up at the airport and driven to the resort by Pablo. despite not speaking much english and my little spanish Pablo showed us the sights. The Staff at Si como No were cheerful and helpful. Everytime I needed anything I was greeted with a smile. The Breakfasts were delicious and plentyful. Happy Hour was a nice way to end every active day we were there. The pool was beautiful,and comfortable. The end of our week came very quickly and Pablo Cheerfully drove us back to San Jose. I would go again in a minute.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginta6toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Ginta6toes:

Thank you very much for sharing your "wonderful adventure" with us. Pablo has been with us along with many other members of the family of Si Como No for several years and we appreciate your recognition that wel continue to deliver exceptional experiences that complement our sustainable hospitality. We call it the "Magic of Nature" and the good nature of the Costa Rica. We also appreciate that you enjoyed our menus, the panoramic views and the rest of our resort facilities that we try to keep in balance with the natural jingle landscape. S for Pablo and the rest of the staff we hope that the time passes fast so we can see you again and maybe next time include our sister hotels that are all part of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $171 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing