We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantiastic! Would stay there again in a heartbeat!”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantiastic! Would stay there again in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed March 11, 2008

I was worried at first, given some of the negative reviews. But the hotel room was beautiful and clean, with crisp white linens with a wonderfully soft comforter, a safe for valuables, huge shower, big balcony, and a view to die for.

The staff were all extremely nice and accommodating; we especially loved our waiter at Claro Que Si - he was the nicest guy ever. The food at both restaurants is fantastic. The breakfast buffet at Rico Tico is huge, with pretty much everything you could ask for, and the macadamia-crusted mahi mahi at Claro Que Si is to die for.

Having a separate kids' pool was great - we used the adult pool and enjoyed the much more relaxing, romantic atmosphere. I think I could have happily spent the entire week just lounging around at the hotel and exercising the swim-up bar. Don't buy gifts at the hotel shop, though. It's way more expensive than anywhere else. Go to Quepos or the little shop on the road down to Manuel Antonio beach, or the street vendors in Manuel Antonio.

As for things to do, we went on the mangrove kayaking tour and the canopy zip-line tour, and both were great. If you're looking for good cheap eats, there's a casado grill on the beach in Manuel Antonio (actually there's two, but the one closer to the water is better). $5 for choice of meat plus beans, rice, plantains, avocado, potatoes, and salad. It's a ton of food.

Overall, this was a fantastic vacation, and the hotel could not have been better. We both agreed that we would have to come back someday.

  • Liked — the adult pool, the room with its comfy, clean bed, and Claro Que Si.
  • Disliked — our room was located just above the kid pool, so we could hear screming kids all day. I'd ask for a different room next time.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travel7846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    373
    95
    36
    23
See reviews for
564
533
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed in a standard room at Si Como No, as that was all they had left. I would recommend paying a bit extra to upgrade. Our standard room was cramped and poorly laid out. Notice that I live in downtown NYC in a very small apartment - if I think the room is cramped, it's certainly cozy. The bedroom was a tight fit for the bed, but the bathroom was huge. The lighting in the room was very harsh - I was expecting a bit more atmosphere - perhaps some low-wattage lights? We didn't spend much time in there, so I guess it didn't matter that much.

The hotel itself was beautiful and nicely tucked into the cliffside. So many animals around you and great plants as well. The pools were lovely, although they should get some more shade umbrellas in the adult pool area - the afternoon sun is quite strong. The staff could not have been better! So friendly and helpful booking our tours.

Breakfast was wonderful, as were the swim up bars for lunch and happy hour. Dinner, even at the cheaper Rico Tico, was overpriced and a bit under-inspired. There are many other options within walking distance.

  • Liked — It's a green hotel!
  • Disliked — cramped room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Girllamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We have some very positive feelings about Si Como No and some negatives that slightly tarnished our opinion of this beautiful property. Maybe that's why the reviews here can be so varied!

First - the staff was excellent, across the board. Front desk and concierge, restaurants, housekeepers, bellmen. Also, the grounds and public areas are outstanding. Beautiful, clean, comfortable, and in harmony and respecting with the natural beauty. Comfortable pools and wonderful views. There is a nice boardwalk down to the "event hall" - it appears locked but was quite nice to wander - more like that would be great.

Sometimes there was a little too much nature. We booked last-minute and the only rooms available were standard rooms. We were in room 14 which had a nice view but felt like someone's basement. While we got used to our gecko roommate (except his occasional chirps that awoke me a couple times), the other insects weren't so welcome. At least they stayed on the floor! Door and window seals could be improved. The room itself was not particularly welcoming - especially the harsh lighting. All lights on the property are fluorescent which is great for energy consumption, but use of diffuse lighting would have been much appreciated in the room (photos of better rooms seems to show wall sconces - we had no such amenities). We expect more from a $220/night room - even if it is a "standard" room.

Oh - and for some reason, there are a couple of beach/national park shuttles in the morning, then none for a 4- or 5-hour stretch mid-day. Why? With the strong sun, we wanted a short beach visit (they accommodated our request for an extra shuttle when we got together with some other guests).

But otherwise we were quite happy. Great breakfasts (once a Jesus lizard stopped by), convenient location - and of course, they take great lengths to be a green hotel (here it's not a marketing campaign, as in most other hotels these days). We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the park arranged through the hotel - we saw countless animals that we would have never noticed without our guide.

To sum up - we'd certainly consider returning, we'd recommend upgrading to a higher-level room, but weren't impressed enough to not look for better values at other competing hotels.

  • Liked — Beautiful natural public areas, environmentally-consciousness, and friendly staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank darkpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

This was our second year in Costa Rica. First year stayed at the La Mariposa-beutiful setting, no air conditioning ( well it was there but just barely ). Thus we decided to try Si Como No and why not? We loved it, relaxed, friendly, yeah the view is not as good but it's still beautiful. The only thing La Mariposa does better is the food but one does not visit C.R. for that.
Going again next year.

  • Liked — opening up the blinds each morning and seeing the monkeys and the Pacific
  • Disliked — not enough umbrella shade during afternoon sun at adult pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2008

I stayed in the nicest room at Si Como No -- the Honeymoon suite - with a couple friends in February. The views are beautiful, the amenities are great and the staff is accommodating. However, our extremely expensive room had bedbugs - and we also spotted a cockroach in the bathroom. I recommended that they fumigate, but this is something to watch out for in any hotel you end up in, no matter what the price.

  • Liked — Plenty of things to do
  • Disliked — Overpriced!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

What an awesome time. This hotel had it all. Clean rooms, nice staff, beautiful property and great food. If you want to stay at a very nice place and also get the feeling that you are in the middle of the Rainforest this place is for you. Our room was beautiful and clean with a gorgeous view of the ocean and monkeys. I would highly recommend this if you are looking for a nice relaxing time.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SirTravelAL0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed at Si Como No for the first half of our honeymoon, Jan. 28 - Feb. 3, 2008. We loved this place! We stayed in a Superior Room, which provided us with a really nice view. We hung out on the balcony many nights, just enjoying the scenery, talking and relaxing. Almost all of the staff spoke English, which made things much easier on us because our Spanish is limited. We usually gave only a day's notice when we wanted to do an activity and they always found a way to fit us in with just one quick phone call. Everything was linked back to the room, so we could keep our wallets locked up in the safe most of the time. The restaurants had great food and very friendly staff. I swear the head waiter must work EVERY DAY! And he still always had a smile and a greeting for us. The room was a little bit "basic", but when you're on vacation, what more do you need besides a roof over your head and a comfy bed, right? Overall, we'd love to go back.... when we save up some $ again! (Going during high season isn't cheap, but still worth it!)

  • Liked — The adult pool & the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The HUGE key ring!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna33t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing