We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had clothing dissappear four different...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We had clothing dissappear four different days from our room and management would not reply to our concerns. When we returned home we realized our car keys were removed from my purse. Upper management never acknowledged our complaint. If none of that would have happened, I would have recommended the hotel as long as you stay on the newer tower. It was lovely and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raven6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,634 - 1,640 of 2,534 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at Nayara in Arenal for our honeymoon, which was spectacular, and then traveled to Hotel Parador in Manual Antonio and were quickly disappointed. We checked into a premium room to find that it was severly outdated, covered with ants, although it did have a spectacular view. We then had lunch in the restaurant which was really really bad. We were staying for 4 day so I called my tour company, Costa Rican Tours, who called the manager for me to see what he could do.
The general manager turned our honeymoon around by moving us to a suite, which was a 5 star suite compared to the 1 star outdated room we were initially put in. He also gave us a private dinner in their wine cellar.
We had a fabulous time and would recommend going to this hotel, but only if you get a suite, it is worth every penny. The rooms are very spacious, with a jacuzzi both inside and out, a bar, a great view of the pacific. The suites also have a private pool, jacuzzi and bar, which is only for guests in the suites.
This place is a hidden gem, but make sure you get a suite!! The food was really good for dinner but just average or below average for lunch..fyi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mellow55098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Just returned from a week here over Labor Day 2010. One of my favorite stays ever. You can't go wrong here. The road is fixed now! No problems getting to it. Service was amazing. Chef and staff accomodated personal requests. Loved the fanishing edge pools! I felt so at home there. Don't hesitate to experience this hotel. It is well worth it to spend the extra money per night to get the Premium Plus room. The Spa was first class - one of the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icu812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Very nice hotel. Handsome decor . Lots of various places to hang out so never felt crowded . Pool immaculate . Great breakfast. Other. Restaurants limited menu. Good concierge for tours .

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newportrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel was beautiful, the grounds were extensive and the people there were so service oriented we were amazed at the treatment we received! From the tour desk to the front desk to the waiter to the bellhop, everyone was wonderful! Everyone in Costa Rica is all about going the extra mile, and the hotel accommodated us in every way. The view from the breakfast restaurant was amazing! What a way to start the day!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
Thank traveler4everFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I recently stayed in the Hotel Parador while visiting Quepos, Costa Rica. There are a few things people need to know about this property, primarily based upon its location.

1. It is part of a string of new properties that are built on the side of a mountain. The road is long and dangerous. In fact, one early evening I witnessed a car hanging precariously on the side of the hill after going off the road. (Luckily, the couple got out of the car.) As a result, there is not walking this to get to the top of the hill.

2. The road is also about 1 mile in length, and is a huge incline (if you're leaving the hotel), and was not paved. Therefore, they literally CLOSED the road daily to work on it! If you did not catch the hotel's bus before 9 am to go to the beach, you were stuck on the property. (Or, you had to take the arduous walk up the hill.) If you're considering this property, FIND OUT IF THE ROADWORK HAS BEEN COMPLETED.

3. This property offers no complimentary shuttle service to the top of the road and back (beyond that of the bus, which, by the way, does NOT run that frequently). As a result of this lack of service, it costs $10 (American dollars) each way to leave the property. A newlywed couple who was also staying at the property commented how this $20 round trip cab ride was adding to their dinner expense each time they wanted to leave.

4. Access to their beach is through the woods on a path merely cleared by a bulldozer. No pavement to walk on, very uneven, and no lights to light the way. In fact, the walk to the beach is a bit creepy. Definitely leave there before it gets dark.

DO call ahead and ask about an update to the roadwork, though.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickd845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for two days, and it was pure paradise. I've traveled to many places, and this is by far one of my favorite hotels. There is an infinity pool that overlooks the Pacific Ocean. There is a convenient shuttle which runs to Manuel Antonio Park, in about 15 mins. The staff was very friendly, and the place was very well run and clean. I would definitely come back here again just to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tami415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
564 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,513 reviews
1 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $253 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing