We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Parador in April 2010 (for our honeymoon).
Our room was clean and nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious (especially Sushi).
The swimming pools were clean and enjoyable, and the resort had a wide range of tours which we could chose from.
The overall experience was very positive.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shandris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,653 - 1,659 of 2,529 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2010

My friend & I stayed for a week. The hotel is lovely, the pools gorgeous, the food, excellent & the presentation lovely. The grounds are beautiful. They have their own trails if you like to hike, however, it's a little steep the descent to the beach. The views are of the rainforest & the Pacific Ocean.
The staff are friendly, efficient & polite. I really don't have one negative thing to say of this Resort or the people that work there. It really deserves 4.5 **** instead of 4.
However, like many reviews before me, the 2K road to the resort is horrendous. The good news, is that by next year it will be paved.
The elevator broke during our stay & they moved us to the new building & gave us a suite with a jacuzzi on our private balcony. King size bed, flat panel tv, wi fi access,
beautiful ultra suede couch & leather ottomans. Plus a private pool.

Stayed: April 2010
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Most hotels we have visited don't quite live up to the glossy brochure and online pictures but the Parador was quite the opposite. We had been touring Costa Rica with Costa Rican Trails and had stayed at a variety of hotels, some good, some not so good so we really didn't know what to expect when we arrived here, but we needn't have worried. From the moment we arrived at the gate our every need was taken care of by the excellent staff. Iced towels and a cold drink really helped to make us feel like valued guests. We had been upgraded from a superior room to a suite and wow! what a surprise! For the next five days we lived in the lap of luxury and if we could have stayed longer we would have done. If I was really nit-picking I would criticize the lack of choice in the restaurant at dinner. As the hotel was quiet there was only one restaurant open and because of the location of the hotel, going into town for a meal wasn't really an option so we ate there each night and if we had stayed longer I woulod have been sruggling to find something interesting for dinner. The food was cooked and served beautifully, and breakfast was heavenly, but I would have liked more choice in the evening, but with everything else being so superb I feel mean mentioning it.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Me and my husband went here with high hopes on our vacation after reading all the positive reviews. We traveled to different locations in Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio was our last stop before we return to the states. When we got to Parador what a disappointment. It was the worst hotel we stayed at throughout our whole trip. We paid extra money to stay in the Premium room which was not cheap I tell you but the room was so out-dated that they still had a CRT TV with a curved screen not even a LCD. The bathroom was out dated as well which reminded me of an old motel. I must say the view from the room was pretty nice looking at the ocean and all but when I started to walk around the hotel and saw how they maintain their premises, it was a big disaster. The yoga room they claimed to have had dead crabs everywhere that they started to stink so bad and the wooden floor was all cracked up and pretty much deserted. It was totally not usable at all!! The gym was at least in a better condition but had no air conditioning which was impossible to work out in a humid hot weather of Costa Rica.
4-5 restaurants they claim to have most of them when you go there nobody is around to serve you so it is pretty much closed down and you only have 1 restaurant to choose from which is the main one near the lobby. 4 of the swim pools they have 2 of them they don't even turned on the water filter so nobody is around and the water is dirty with dead bugs floating around. Oh yeah I forgot they also had dead crabs in them too!!! rotting away in the pool. How GROSS is that!!!! Also our room was 3 stories up and the bell boy told us the elevator just broke down that day and they will fix it the next day but the whole time we were there for 3 nights nobody came to fix it and the door to the elevator had a big lock that looked like it was locked away for a long time and the bell boy probably just lied to us it broke down the day we arrived. Trust me it is not fun to clime up and down 3 story stairs everyday multiple time when it's hot and humid. All and all I think this hotel could have been or was in the past a nice hotel considering the location and how big the hotel was. It is just sad the owner of the hotel stop caring about it and didn't maintain anything which made this hotel to become a big disaster. There is nothing worse than to stay in a hotel the owner doesn't maintain or care about. If it was much cheaper I wouldn't be so disappointed but considering it was near $300 a night this is so not worth it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cecii83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The Hotel Parador is a full service hotel with 2 pools, pool bar/food service, spa and other amenities. The Parador is located overlooking the jungle with magnificent ocean and harbor views. In the morning we were able to see monkeys swing through the trees as they traveled.

The most amazing event occurred prior to the late afternoon rain storms. The jungle comes alive with the sounds of frogs, crickets and monkeys serenading us as the storm approached.

The included breakfast was wonderful with lots of offerings, including an omelete and waffle station. The lunches and dinners were good as well.

When you travel off site there is plenty to do. The hotel offers a regular shuttle service to the beach and Manuel Antonio Park. There is another beach (with no facilities) a short walk from the hotel. While it is close, the walk is tiring and uphill one way in the hot sun. You are better with the shuttle. Also, the tour desk is very helpful and was able to arrange good fishing and sailing trips at reasonable costs.

The one negative about the hotel is the access road to the hotel. It is the worst pothole, rutted dirt road you have ever seen. We were told that the road is scheduled for paving in May 2010. If this happens, the hotel will seem less remote.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazy4jamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the Parador hotel. They have a very nice beach, really quiet and peaceful. The breakfast buffet was not spectacular but the dinner was nice. They also have a sushi restaurant which was really nice as well! The pool gives spectacular views over the bay! We have seen a family monkeys passing by the hotel, nice experience! Watch out for the crabs at night!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLLbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We were given one of the "jungle" rooms when we arrived. Very disappointed with the room. Very dark, bathroom old, and worst of all no view ~ just a view of an old tennis court with a couple huffing and puffing trying to play tennis in the extreme humidity!!! ~ bad! Next morning asked for an upgrade. Were shown 3 different rooms and opted for the premium plus. What a difference! Beautiful room, clean and airy. Huge wrap-around balcony, and on the 4th floor with a divine view of the ocean. Room accessed by a funicular, which our grandson loved!
Well worth the extra $60 per night. After all, when staying at the beach the room should have a view of some water. The first room was a real downer!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK2OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
556 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,511 reviews
1 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $252 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing