We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacuzzi on the balcony, loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Jacuzzi on the balcony, loved it!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The Parador is a lovely hotel. Our room was amazing , fourth floor beach view with a jacuzzi on the balcony, what could be better? That said we had friends who stayed in a garden room and they said it was like a Holiday Inn. Honestly you aren't in your room much but it's good to know. Also this is not the place for a beach vacation. There is a public beach down the road a ways but there are no chairs or food or facilities. The pools are nice and the tours are great so that really didn't bother us. I highly recommend the mangrove kayak tour, and when you go to the park definitely get a guide, we'll worth it .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Parador. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Jacuzzi and relaxing time in our facilities and most importantly, that you had the opportunity to enjoy yhe mangrove kayak and the wildlife of our National Park. We hope to see you again soon! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,509
    572
    178
    55
    35
See reviews for
667
1,109
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. The room we had was outstanding with a magnificent view and hot tub on the terrace. Breakfast is excellent. Pool is lovely.
The only drawback for us was that the hotel is far from anywhere, and unless you have your own transport, you have to rely on taxis or the hotel shuttle bus (limited hours) to get anywhere. Ultimately, if you prefer not to move then it's great, but if you are the type of person who likes to eat out and explore, it's not ideal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We were so overjoyed to have been a part of your special trip and hope that you always think of Parador Resort & Spa as the place to create beautiful and loving memories. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks for sharing your experience in this forum. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

On Christmas day, after spending the a few hours at the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, we left in mid-afternoon on a 3 1/2 drive to Manuel Antonio, Quepos and the Hotel Parador. We arrived at night, but we were immediately greeted by a very professional and friendly staff and were taken to our rooms, which were absolutely gorgeous! Our luggage was brought up a short time later (within minutes), so we actually had time to get cleaned up and just relax for a little while before our 8:30 dinner reservation. We had decided when planning our trip to reserve "La Reina", the hotel's private dining room (a $30 surcharge), and had the most wonderful, never-to-be forgotten Christmas dinner! The room was very nice, elegantly decorated with beautiful artwork and a big table that gave the 4 of us more than enough room, Our hostess/server, Beatrice, was as nice as could be - answering all our questions, explaining and making suggestions regarding the menu - just simply catering to our every whim, which included 2 separate wines from the wine list!. I checked out the huge buffet in the main dining room and decided that would be my choice, but the rest of the family all ordered off the extensive menu. Nobody was disappointed, and in fact we were all very pleased with our meal. By the time I went to the buffet, there was no steak left (I think we were the last people eating), but Beatrice was right on it - she immediately went to the kitchen and minutes later brought me a piece of steak cooked just the way I like it - great service. To top it off, we actually had desserts from both the main menu and the buffet group - we sampled lots of goodies! This was one Christmas dinner that we will remember forever.
The next morning we awoke to the weird sounds of the howler monkeys - heard but never seen at dawn and then again at dusk every day - and perched in a tropical tree outside our lagoon view window was a brightly-colored cockatoo. You feel like you are enjoying luxury right in the middle of the jungle. We ate at the hotel's breakfast buffet, which was thoroughly enjoyable, and then made the short trek down the road and a short, rocky path to a secluded pacific ocean beach, spending the entire morning relaxing there.We went back to the hotel and had a grat lunch at the pool bar, then went to the "adults only" pool. Here you can wade in the water, swim, lay in the sun, read a book, take a nap - all in total quiet. It was truly a special way to rest and relax.
We had dinner that night at Kapi Kapi, a very nice restaurant in Manuel Antonio, only a couple miles from the hotel. The next morning it was off to Manuel Antonio National Park, again only about 20 minutes from the hotel. We got there early, as advised, and spent a few hours walking the trails, and also sitting on a beach watching white-faced capuchin monkeys, raccoons, iguanas - wildlife we had never seen before! It was an amazing experience. There was a long line waiting to get in as we were leaving, so be sure to get here as early as possible. Unfortunately, we had to head back to the hotel, checkout, and drive to the airport, for all good vacations must come to an end. The beautiful Hotel Parador was definitely one of the highlights of our visit to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views, and if you are into beautiful sunsets, get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Navidad is one of the best time of the year!!! I was thrilled to read your most kind feedback of your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments about the hotel amenities including our Christmas dinner and compliments about our staff. We just have to let you know Beatriz blushed a bright red when we told her about your comment! There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guests’ expectations. I am very happy to hear that you had the opportunity to see some of the wild life of our Costa Rica including monkeys, lizards and sloths, and of course, loads of birds and butterflies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am a seasoned traveller and was very apprehensive choosing the hotel in Manuel Antonio Costa Rica. After reading multiple reviews we decided to stay in Parador hotel Manuel Antonio . I was impressed: they made all the arrangements for us, upon arrival their English speaking driver was already waiting for us, the car was very clean in excellent condition, on the way the driver pointed out a lot of attractions.
The facility is beautiful, spotless clean, lots of art work, all modern facilities right in the middle of the jungle.
The service is impeccable, everybody is very welcoming and friendly.
Special thank to Sylvia guest Relation manager.She was able to immediately resolve some of my concerns upon arrival, made sure we were comfortable. Checked up on us several times and I always saw her in the midst of everything making sure everything was well.
She is very dedicated to make sure guests are having wonderful time.
The tours were great too. Danny is good guide.
Overall great trip, highly recommended for people who love comfort and beauty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Als53130559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Parador. Our staff is still talking about how wonderful and gracious you were and how much we enjoyed having you as guests. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities - from the comfort of our rooms, pools, the restaurants, the driving from the airport to the Hotel to the wildlife life surrounding our hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding Sylvia and Danny—they loved them!
Although your stay with us was short, we hope to welcome you back soon with your friends! Thank you for sharing your experience on this forum. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
225 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hotel Parador Resort and Spa. We have stayed here before, and enjoy the place -- but it has slipped since our last visit Once a winner of an award, for years in a row, as "Mexico and Central America's Leading Hotel", but has not won this award since 2011. The exterior appearance is pretty good, but inside the rooms are dated and showing signs of age. The grounds are beautiful, but marred a bit by a ruinous and crumbling putt-putt course that should be removed. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly dull. Stale cereal. Very limited set of ingredients for omelets. Dinners and lunches and the pool bar were much better. The rooms are large and comfortable, with medium-sized baths and good showers. Oddly, no clock in the room. A very bright spot: the staff tour guides, for either the trails on the grounds, or into Manuel Antonio National Park, were wonderful. Really among the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your valuable comment as it helps us to continuously strive for excellence in service and hospitality. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our guided tours of the resort's nature trails and Manuel Antonio National Park. Many thanks again for sharing your comments in this forum. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I can confirm many of the nice things said about the Hotel Parador by others, so I’ll address something a little different that made our stay there special – the bike tour excursion.

There are many excursions to choose from at the Hotel Parador. Our top choices unfortunately could only go out at certain times because of the tides. The available times conflicted with other plans so we had to “settle” for the bike tour that would go through local country side and stop at a waterfall. Sounded nice, but it ended up being much more than that. It became the highlight of a Costa Rica vacation that was filled with many great moments.

Our guide, Danny, was fantastic. He gave us lots of info about the surrounding area as we drove 40 minutes to where we would start. We biked up a typical unpaved Costa Rican road that passed through a small residential area next to a creek. I suddenly had a new appreciation for the locals who had been biking next to our tour bus on similar roads – it is tough! Danny stopped a couple times to describe a few items of interest before we reached the waterfall.

The waterfall felt like a secret treasure. It was tucked back on private land, but had a changing room and a pavilion nearby. The bike trip was just tough enough to make a swim in the waterfall’s pool incredibly refreshing. Swimming the deep pool was great fun in a beautiful setting. Afterward we had fresh tortillas and coffee made at the pavilion.

Then our driver took us to a beach to watch the sun set into the Pacific. The beach seemed visited mostly by locals and felt like the closest we got to life for average Costa Ricans during our one week trip. The kids had a great time at the beach and the sunset was absolutely spectacular. Danny delivered a perfect ending for our Costa Rica vacation.

One consideration for the bike trip: the bikes were not kid-sized. Our 11 year old was about as short as someone would want to be on their bikes. If the bikes are too big or you don’t like peddling on the bumpy road, the driver will still take you up to the waterfall for the rest of the excursion.

As for the hotel – it is a wonderful location with great staff. We saw capuchin monkeys right outside our window. The rooms were clean and we slept well. The Garden Rooms where we stayed show their age a little and the hallway flooring outside our room had a funny rubbery smell. While I liked seeing the monkeys, I might have preferred a different room (hopefully still with a monkey view). Some of the higher rooms looked newer and based on photos from other travelers they had a better view.

One final note – Since the hotel really isn’t on a beach you’ll probably go sometime to the nearby Manuel Antonio park. If so, go early. We arrived a little after 8am (I think) and had no trouble getting in. However when we left around Noon there was a line to get in that might have literally been a mile long.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicahDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We're so happy to hear that you experienced our new bicycle tour offered by our professional certified guide, Danny, and described it as "the highlight of a Costa Rica vacation that was filled with many great moments." It's an excursion full of education, exploration, entertainment, exercise and fun activities! From enjoying the rural community, landscape, its flora and fauna, swimming in the freshwater pool to enjoying fresh tortillas and coffee and finally enjoying the breathtaking suset at Matapalo Beach, we have to agree with you that our new bicycle tour is truly a memorable experience! We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you can enjoy Parador's amazing wildlife, exotic nature trails and amenities. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I can't say enough great things about the Hotel Parador!! From the time we arrived we were treated like very special guests with nothing other than first-rate service, kindness and hospitality! We actually got engaged our first night at the Parador in the restaurant there and after one restaurant employee found out word got to Miguel and we had one special surprise after another including beautiful rose petals and candles in our room one evening! It made for such an incredible vacation and we have told so many of our friends and family members about what an amazing place it is! We even had a professional photographer take some engagement photographs for us and had several taken at the Parador at sunset because it is such a special spot for us now!

Miguel was amazing from the time we arrived and is a fabulous employee!! We enjoyed visiting Jonathan each day in the restaurant by the upper level pool and thought he was a wonderful server! My fiancé couldn't get enough of the mango smoothies and I loved the pineapple smoothie!! Delicious!! We made such wonderful memories at the Hotel Parador and greatly appreciate the kindness that was shown here!! Thank you!!!!! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
CONGRATULATIONS!!! We couldn’t be more pleased that Parador’s facilities, service, amenities and overall experience from beginning to end surpassed your expectations. For this is our humble goal -- to ensure that our esteemed guests want for nothing and leave with a suit-case full of good memories. Miguel will be happy to know that you mentioned his name on TripAdvisor and that you had such a good time. We do hope you will come back and I know that Jonathan will be more than happy to prepare more mango and pineapple smoothies!. It will be our privilege to serve you any time here in the Pacific. Congratulations again and thanks so much for your stellar review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,401 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,358 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing