We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, with Exercise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel in Manuel Antonio. It suited our active lifestyle, but I can understand that the hilly location may not be for everyone.
We were in one of the new suites high on the hill above the resort. The room had all the amenities one would want including a hot tub on the balcony. This grouping of rooms also has its own pool and restaurant / bar ( lunch only). A wonderful place to relax and appreciate the views over the bay.
Exercise is also what we wanted and we got this at the Parador. It is a five minute walk from the lobby to the new rooms. Once there we walked up the 5 floors to our room - normal people took the elevator. The highlight of each morning was the walk to Playa Biesanz, the local beach. It is a 15 minute walk down the road and through the forest. Once there at 7am it was deserted and ideal for a relaxing swim.
Dining options were limited due to the season but the dinners we had in the main restaurant were good. The only disappointments were the buffets. Breakfast was limited, particularly the fruit section and the Italian night buffet was a disaster.

Overall we would recommend the Parador for its service, luxury rooms and location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We are so happy to hear about your recent experience at Parador and that you enjoyed the suites and our amenities. Also, we appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast and Italian buffets as it helps us improve our offerings. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was our last stay of the 9 day trip to Costa Rica where we stayed for 3 nights during Thanksgiving week. Beautiful property with some awesome views of the Pacific ocean. We were very impressed(with the property) from the time we were checking in, except for one thing I found very strange... the personnel who was checking us in asked for all our passports and made a copy of all, I found it very strange and have never been asked for passport like that ever in any hotel or place I have traveled to, don't know why this was done; I wasn't too happy with that and am still not!
More I think about it, it makes me sick that I agreed to such a condition, why do you need to make a copy of the passport, are you just discriminating against some?? I would like the management to explain this kind of unusual request!!

Rooms are very nice and clean with a balcony, saw many monkeys, toucan and eagles (I think) off the balcony. Good bathrooms with ample towels, very comfortable beds and linens, good toiletries. It doesn't have elevators, so you are climbing stairs, about 3-4 flights, didn't bother me, but may not work for some.

The breakfast spread was presented very well and offered sufficient variety. the staff is very courteous, including the guest service personnel, at the restaurant, bar and the buffet. We walked through the property including the monkey trail it has, really nice walk, recommended if you have time, short and easy hike. We loved the pool area and also enjoyed the happy hour specials while we were hanging out by the pool.
It offers enough for all, including adults only pool, common areas include a lounge area to chill near the breakfast/buffet area, reading area on the upper level, hot tub (which I believe didn't work, and the water wasn't warm either). The hotel is located at the very end of the road and offers complimentary shuttle service to Manuel Antonio beach, which is very helpful.
You could spend enough time at the hotel, a quick and easy hike or relaxing by the pool area, or using the spa or the gym, having dinner buffet, using the bar and enjoying happy hour specials and so much more!
Overall, we had a great time, as we met many people that we enjoyed talking to at the hotel, traveling from different parts of the world.

I would recommend the hotel, as a getaway with family, or for honeymoon or a special celebration destination, and so much more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

I was thrilled to read your most kind feedback of your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments about the hotel amenities including the adults-only pool and compliments about our staff. There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guests’ expectations. I am very happy to hear that you had the opportunity to see some of the wild life of our Costa Rica including monkeys, lizards and sloths, and of course, loads of birds and butterflies!

I also want to explain briefly the reason for the hotel to request a copy of your passport. As stipulated by the Costa Rica Ministry of Immigration and Foreigners, hotels are required by law to have records of people staying at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing holiday! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Parador had beautiful scenery and great rooms. The staff were helpful and accommodating beyond our expectations. The nearby beach was beautiful and had warm waters. Definitely a place to stay for more than one night as we did not even get to try out all the pools! We had a great walk through the monkey trail and watched a sloth for 30 minutes in amazement. We booked a Manual Antonio National park through the hotel and found it to be a great value - great guide and very convenient that they transport you and carry food, water, and beach towels for you through the park! Will definitely stay here again if we visit Quepos again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBranch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at Parador. We are so happy we fulfilled your needs to relax, enjoyed our restaurants, and the abundant wildlife. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Gorgeous setting in a tropical paradise with monkeys , iguanas, and parrots visiting everyday. The staff is outstanding and they really do care if you're happy. We had a major suite but all of the rooms looked great and it was always super quiet at night. This is our first night back in L.A. and I already miss Parador. We'll be back. SOON. Thank you Parador

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mikey3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in Parador. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything that Parador has to offer - from our amazing views, our monkeys, parrots and wildlife to our warm hospitality and service. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had lunch at this hotel recently. We sat on the patio but the view was blocked from the patio roofs below. Better food and view at La Mariposa. We love the area and have always been happy wherever we've stayed!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Pura Vida! We are bit puzzled about your comment as none of our restaurants provide a patio for lunch or are located on a higher level where patio roofs below block the views. In fact, all our restaurants offer panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and the tropical forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for a few drinks and shopped in the gift shop. The hotel was beautiful. The service was excellent and the drinks were great, we sat by the pool area and it was breathtaking.
We stayed at La Mariposa and we were content but the property had maintenance issues with a/c and leaking plumbing. We put up with that and even let a $ 20.00 dollar tip for the front deck but travels beware of La Mariposa they decided to bill us an additional front desk tip of $ 75.00. In all my travels I have never had this happen. Just a tip next time I will stay at Parador!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank loulou215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your insightful comments. We always aim to please and are happy to hear that our service was friendly and accommodating. We all take great pride in making sure our guests’ and visitors' needs are always met. While we can’t take credit for Manuel Antonio’s spectacular sunsets, we will take credit for the views that the hotel offers! Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future—but this time as a guest! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend here for second time, great service, very nice hotel, walking distance to a wonderful beach, where you can spend the day under the sun, clear sand and warm water
The food and service at the restaurant is excelent, pools very clean and nice
I definitly will come again
Love the place

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JMBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Parador once again. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and service, as well as the comfort of our rooms, pools and restaurants.
Although your stay with us was short, we hope to welcome you back soon with your friends! Thank you for sharing your experience on this forum. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $193 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing