We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Omgoodness!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Parador
Certificate of Excellence
Fulshear, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Omgoodness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first time to Costa Rica and what a wonderful trip it has been. The Hotel Parador has been fantastic from the time we got here until now which is our last night here. The service has been impeccable from emails when I was planning the trip Marinella was amazing. The food has been fantastic with Juan Carlos, Eric serving us everyday always with a smile. The other wait staff Jonathan, Andres and others paid such attention to us, I want to take them home! We leave tomorrow but because this hotel has been so wonderful and the grounds are beautiful (you will not see a dead leave at this place) it will not be forgotten.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room and it was amazing. The room wrapped around so we could see both sides. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Wow Marianella, Juan Carlos, Eric and Jonathan had a big smile this morning after reading this review! MUCHAS GRACIAS and thanks so much for sharing. We do our best to make sure our guests have a complete 5-star experience, from the accommodations to the food, the pool, the spa, and yes, our staff is a big part of it as well. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    490
    152
    46
    33
See reviews for
591
976
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations!! I purchased a Living Social coupon for this trip for a friend and I. I contacted the hotel and Evelyn was excellent in guiding me all the way - from booking the room, to air and ground transportation.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we never left - well except for a Zip Line excursion and a Whale Watch trip on a Catamaran. The hotel booked all of this for us - no brainer!!

Being in the rain forest - we did have one day that it just rained all day. What's a girl to do? HIT THE SPA!!! So beautiful and professional. Great treatments and friendly staff!

Everyone in the restaurant and bar areas were friendly and helpful. They remembered our names right away and what we preferred to drink.

The resort itself is so self contained and so large - with the hiking trails and numerous pools and bars, that we just never had to leave!!

Such a beautiful and tranquil spot. Our room was # 2506 - direct ocean views overlooking the rock islands and the adult pool with a waterfall.

Would I go back!?!? In a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: We had a huge suite overlooking the adult pool. Beautiful balcony with a Jacuzzi tub...WOW!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sgauthier31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We truly enjoyed your stay with us and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our excursions and amenities
The entire staff already misses you and hope that you will return in the not too distant future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hello everybody !
I am from Costa Rica, and I have been in many 5 stars hotels but.. I wonder about the service in this hotel.. I don't have words to explain how I appreciate the attention and help they gave to me when .I had some troubles outside and they gave me the best attention and possibly help.
Personally the service are the best in any hotel...and they have the best service and attention possible..
The area is pretty nice, amazing view, very close to the national park "Manuel Antonio" my favourite national park... Amazing beaches, real rainforest experience, surf, snorkel, quite and comfortable...
I recommend to visit there...
If you are looking for comfortable place, amazing view, all the services, amazing adventure... You should visit Manuel Antonio and stay in the best hotel in the area..
Pura vida

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
MUCHISIMAS GRACIAS!!! Thank you for choosing Parador for your vacation in Manuel Antonio and sharing your experience in this forum. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed all that we have offer and our hospitality as our goal is to create experiences that will last a lifetime. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great hotel with wonderful views of the Ocean and forest. After reading some negative reviews about service we were pleasantly surprised by excellent service. Everyone was nice and helpful - front desk, concierge and restaurant staff. The gardens, grounds and the the pools were top notch, the spa was wonderful. My wife and I received one of the best massages ever and because of some remodeling we were taken to presidential suite. We loved it. The breakfast buffet was OK, nothing exceptional though. The restaurants were good, but little bit pricey. We had a rented car and drove around - there are many good restaurants in 5 to 10 minute drive range.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed our excellent service, the massage in our Spa, our extraordinary views, gardens grounds and our staff. For dining options, we offer five restaurants featuring menus including international and local cuisine. We are sad to hear that you were not fully satisfied with our restaurants. We appreciate your feedback. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

From our first contact with the staff at the Parador during a phone call to tell them we would be late checking in due having to wait in San Jose for lost luggage, our experience with the hotel was delightful. They were consistently helpful and had great attention to detail. Upon arriving, hot and tired but with luggage, the staff made us welcome and because we went in low season we also had an upgrade to a lovely room overlooking the forest and the ocean. We were able to delight in the playful monkeys right off our deck, the stunning view and the beautiful wildlife in the air and the forest. We stayed for six days and would have been happy to stay longer. It was great to go into Quepos, Manuel Antonio, and the great restaurants around the hotel, but it was always great to return to our lovely hotel as well. The shuttle, bus system and walking worked fine for us. We didn't have the opportunity to use the spa but the lovely women who worked there gave us a tour and we ran into a couple from another hotel who had used the spa on the one rainy day we experienced and were raving about the location, ambiance and service provided. The restaurant was great and our servers, especially Jason and Eric, were wonderful. When the operations manager asked what might be done to improve their services or our stay, frankly we were hard pressed to think of anything. All of the staff was friendly, professional always stopped to say hello and made us feel welcomed and even appreciated. The wonderful pianist who played at night added to the comfort of sitting in candlelight with rain coming down outside. Overall a wonderful experience and we definitely would like to return. Thank you Parador!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Parador. Our staff is still taking about how wonderful and gracious you were and how much we enjoyed having you as guests. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities - the comfort of our rooms, pools, the restaurants and, of course, the wildlife life surrounding our hotel. Thank you for commending our servers at the restaurant. Jason and Eric smiled when we shared your comment with them.
Although your stay with us was short, we hope to welcome you back soon with your friends! Thank you for sharing your experience on this forum. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Maybe it was because of low season, we got a free room upgrade upon check-in. However, we got another room upgrade because they messed up our requested bed size. We ended up in this spacious room with an ocean view free of charge. They sure know how to please their customers. This hotel is kind of hidden away from the "main" road, but it has its own hiking trail and a "secret" small beach. The swimming pools are nice, facing the ocean, very relaxing. Food choices are OK, resort prices. Nice hotel nonetheless.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank noirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking your personal time to share your lovely comments about our Hotel. We truly appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
litchfieldhillsCT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

14 years ago on we went to the Parador on our honey moon and loved it then. But after having come back from our 2nd visit, we appreciated it even more! We stayed for 8 days and were sad to leave. I was afraid it would be too long in 1 spot but it worked out really well. First off, I'm not one to base my review on staff members rather than the hotel/restaurant etc. but I have to say Shirley was just the best! From the minute we go there until we left, she couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Thank you for everything, it meant a lot to us all that you did! The wait staff were more than friendly, (and speak English very well for those not fluent in Spanish). Also Elias on the tour desk gave the best tour of Manuel Antonio.
We were lucky enough to stay on the 3rd floor of the Vista Suites, and it was amazing. Couch, dining table, wet bar, huge TV, Jacuzzi on the balcony~ awesome! You do have to walk to the restaurants but it's good exercise after eating all the good food. I especially liked that the Vista Suites have their own, adults only pool. It has a waterfall, and seating along the infinity edge. and your own restaurant was quite handy for a bite and they'll bring you drinks by the pool!
I went for a scrub and massage at the spa and enjoyed it so much! Be sure to go your appointment early (or stay after) and take advantage of the hot tub, pool, and chaises lounges. They brought me yogurt and fruit which was perfect. (I did go to the Raindrop Spa in Quepos while I was there and the hotel's spa was much nicer!) Even got to see monkey's swinging in the trees while I was relaxing in the hot tub.
There are plenty of monkeys and sloths around the property, saw both in the first hour we were there! There is one building under construction but it wasn't a nuisance at least to us. And with all the maintenance going on it made you feel like everyone really cared how things looked and it's progress for the hotel to keep improving.
For restaurants nearby, we loved La Luna at the Gaia Hotel and Kapi Kapi. These were probably the nicest of choicest if you wanted a special night. But still not dressy! We would highly recommend the Parador, the room was great, the pool was great, and the employees go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daiquiridreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
MUCHAS GRACIAS!!! For your fantastic review of your second honeymoon at Parador!
The entire staff of Parador Resort & Spa welcomes your glowing comments on our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort’s natural surroundings, wildlife including the Howler Monkeys, your experience at the Pacifica Spa and of course, our staff’s warm hospitality and service! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Property: Hotel Parador
Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing