We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Squirrel Monkeys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Parador
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Squirrel Monkeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had an amazing end to our trip to Costa Rica in Hotel Parador. The whole hotel complex is in pristine condition and is a delight to walk around. There are a number of different pools around the hotel, all of which we sampled. Our room was very spacious and sparklingly clean. We loved sitting out on our balcony and watching the dramatic afternoon thunderstorms! The hotel is at the end of peninsula but there is a nearby beach which is very quiet where you can go swimmign and snorkeling. They will also organise transport to the nearby national park.

The staff could not have been more helpful with all our requests. My girlfriend needed some medical attention while we were there and they took all the stress and concern out of it by organsing the doctor to visit us in our room. We are extremely grateful for this as it ensured out holiday remained an incredible experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdoujap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, specifically about our staff. It make us very happy to hear stories like yours as it emphasizes our arduous efforts to consistently deliver superior customer service. Muchas Gracias!

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    468
    143
    44
    31
See reviews for
553
928
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umatilla, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our anniversary and loved it. Hotel staff upgraded our room for a minimal cost and it was worth it. The ocean views were amazing. Lots of room and below our balcony were some cliff rocks that howler monkeys visited during our stay. The pools were awesome! Food good. The spa however was not very good. The road to this hotel is very narrow and winedy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in Parador. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything that Parador has to offer - from our amazing views, our cutes little monkeys and our warm hospitality and personalized service. We’re sorry you felt you did not enjoy your experience on the spa as our goal is to provide a superior product, amenities and high quality service and hospitality Pura Vida!
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We live in Costa Rica and visit the country a lot, so we stay in a variety of hotels. We also tend to travel in off season as prices and tourists are less. In so doing, it's not uncommon to find a hotel in off season with less staff and sometimes a part of the hotel is neglected, i.e. the gardens for instance. This was not the case at the Hotel Parador. Everyone was on station and doing it well, I might add. The gardens and grounds were top notch, the spa was wonderful. I received one of the best massages ever. Good job! We loved it. The breakfast buffer was good, but I would have to add, it was nothing special, either. The restaurants, we ate at both, were outstanding for lunch and dinner. No disappointments. The wait staff was excellent as well. Good job, Hotel Parador, we will come back and recommend you over and over!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arnie615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at Parador. We are so happy we fulfilled your needs to relax, enjoyed our restaurants, and the abundant wildlife, gardens and spa on our property. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is so highly rated, we splurged on it thinking we’d end our vacation on a high note. So we were incredibly disappointed to see that the room was an average American-style hotel room with stains in the bathtub and a shower curtain set-up that guaranteed that the bathroom flooded no matter what you did to prevent it each time anyone showered. All but two restaurants were closed during our stay, one open during luch and the other during dinner. The food was Americanized rather than authentic Costa Rican (they have a Costa Rican restaurant, but that too was closed our whole stay), overpriced, and not very good. The beach that is “accessible” from the hotel is a public beach that requires a long walk through a wooded area and a very difficult uphill walk back. It makes more sense to drive half-way to the beach and park illegally like all the locals do, than to walk from the hotel. We decided it wasn’t worth the trek and never actually made it to the beach, opting instead to enjoy the beaches at Manuel Antonio. The hotel was also too far from town, making it necessary to rely on the one restaurant open for dinner. The adult pool was also closed while we were there. I’m fairly certain the state of the hotel was due to renovations occuring during the low-season, but they should have warned us, lowered the price significantly, and done a few renovations at a time instead of shutting down the majority of the hotel. I would like to clearly state that no employee ever mentioned anything to us about the renovations or the closures other than to warn us that we should make reservations for dinner because there was “high-demand."

The high points of the hotel were the breathtaking views, the mattress, the hospitality of the employees, and wildlife (SO MANY MONKIES, TUCANS, AND IGUANAS!). That said, you get those same qualities at many of the other top hotels in the area which are far more centrally located, even the ones with the views, and they are more reasonably priced. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, otherwise I can’t understand why anyone would stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the last stop of our 10 day trip. Stayed 3 nights in a beautiful exec suite. Because it is the "low" season we were able to upgrade after we got there. Exec suite was amazing with wet bar, 2 TVs, and our favorite, a Jacuzzi tub on the balcony. All 4 of our family got in there when we got chased out of the pool by the thunderstorms. Great place to watch the lightening over the ocean. It is on a cliff so there isn't an easily accessible beach, but the pools are very nice. There is a beach you can walk to (about 15 minute walk down dirt/rocky trail). We went once, but probably wouldn't recommend it. There is a free shuttle to Manuel Antonio Park and they will give you towels which was great. We somehow didn't understand the pickup directions and made the mistake of coming back to where we were dropped off. You actually get picked up in a different location. Make sure you look on the map where that is. We ended up having to take a cab back because it was pouring rain. Lots of great wildlife on the Hotel premises. Saw lots of birds, frogs, monkeys, racoons, etc. Included breakfast had lots of choices and was very good. We ate dinner at the hotel every night (not walking distance to any other restaurants). They had a special/theme each night and we ordered that each time. It was good. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are not expecting to be right on the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the high rise tower which had the best views of the ocean, but also the farthest away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you recognized and appreciated the level of personal service for which we pride ourselves. Our staff, many of whom have been with us for many years, truly take pleasure in accommodating the needs and desires of all our guests. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our expansive grounds and spectacular views. Due to the geography of this area, very few properties are directly on the beach -- which we clearly specify throughout our website -- so we are always surprised when some guests are expecting otherwise. Part of the magic of our property is in fact the location: sitting at the farthest point of a rainforest-embraced ocean-view peninsula which is isolated from the hustle of the main road and therefore offers a respite from traffic and other noise factors. Although we seem far removed from civilization, truth is we are only a five minute ride up the hill where the Park, restaurants and shops await. And, as you mentioned, we sit adjacent to the lovely small beach of Playa Biesanz, for which we provide golf-cart service to those who prefer not to walk all the way. And finally, in addition to the shuttle we provide to and from Manuel Antonio´s main beach throughout the day,

Again, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the end of May, 2013. It took months to pare down my compliments so the review could be read within a semi-reasonable amount of time.

Summary of some of the pros:

Our rooms in Las Suites 4520 and 4521 were extremely large, thoroughly
clean, quiet, and comfortable with EXQUISITE views. Excellent AC, rapid Wi-Fi and definitely a 'resort', not 'condo' ambience. We felt safe, even leaving belongings in our car. We also enjoyed feeling equally comfortable in very casual clothing, as well as in evening wear. Had we known this in advance, we would have packed lighter and not brought clothing ‘for all occassions’

The three attractive pools on the premises were clean and mostly without guests on weekdays. They received more usage on weekends. The shuttle van was spotless and VERY accommodating.

The resort had diverse fauna/flora right on the premises, many visible from our room or outside our door. As with most folks who venture to CR, wildlife was the primary draw for our trip and we were not disappointed. Some of the animals we saw on the property included 3 monkey species, white headed eagles, a raccoon who tried to snatch food from the restaurant, multiple frog species, iguanas, amazing birds, etc.

Dining - There are plenty of restaurants nearby, although it is much easier to just eat at the Parador Resort after a busy day. At La Galleria , we preferred the food on a small plate menu or perhaps it was the Don Juan Bar's menu rather than the regular dinner menu. For example, both the lighter menu, as well as the dinner menu had fish soup, each prepared very differently. We did not like the one on the regular dinner menu, but very much enjoyed the one on the lighter menu. Eric, the waiter who frequently served us was delightful .

THE PIECE DE RESISTANCE was the IMPECCABLE SERVICE we received.

Any time we requested anything, it was immediately attended to, as though we were their VIP and the ONLY guests at the Parador.

!! My daughter left her luggage in the sundry store the day of our departure. When we telephoned the Parador from Alajuela to see if it could be located, they immediately made arrangements to have it driven to us the same day, GRATIS!! How many hotels would extend themselves to this extent??

Every staff member went out of their way to make this vacation special: reservations, reception, wait staff, the lady who made the omelettes with her warm smile, the concierge, and housekeeping.

Hotel has composting on site and has recycle bins in rooms.

Summary of cons: Hmm... our visit was too short!

Do not think twice...this is the place to be when in the Manuel Antonio area.

Thank you so much Evelyn for the special vacation!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in Las Suites have fantastic views, especially corner suites with views in 2 directions. Prem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Wow, so beautiful!! Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that the actions of our amazing staff were heard loud and clear yet again! This is a common theme in the reviews and comments we receive: the gracious “beyond the call of duty” service our employees provide. And this is because we truly enjoy serving our guests and making each and every visitor feel welcome and special. So, thank you again for your lovely comments, for acknowledging our dedicated staff and the many amenities and facilities that we offer. We DO appreciate your visit and hope you return soon. It will be our privilege to receive you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It says location is everything and it is. While I did not stay at this hotel during this visit, the last time was several years ago, and how it has changed, we dined one night in one of its restaurants, called The Terrace. Parador Resort and Spa is a dream fulfilled for Dutch entrepreneur Jan Schans who first envisioned a place where European refinement mingled with the warmth and flavor of the tropics. Today, the family, together with their professional staff, continues to bring personalized service and an enticing atmosphere, as the brochure states and I could not have said it any better. Eating on The Terrace was absolutely perfect. It did not come as a surprise that the menu features Nasi Goreng, an Indonesian inspired dish, and a remnant from the old colonial days when The Netherlands had colonized Indonesia. The flavors were simply divine. The services are old world. I recommend Parador Resort and Spa highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Gracias!!! For your observation and for your commets about Mr. Schans. We are enormously proud to have such a remarkable family of employees who genuinely enjoy serving our guests. There is little that you don’t touch on in your glowing review -- from our ocean-view grounds, to the great food, customer service and first-class amenities. What can we say to such a wonderful compliment but “thank you so much” for taking the time to share with us and the world. We will be delighted to welcome you again as an esteemed Parador guest next time you visit Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana Hotel & Spa
Shana Hotel & Spa
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Property: Hotel Parador
Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing