We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel and best service-ask for Johnathan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel and best service-ask for Johnathan”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been at the hotel for 4 days and have loved EVERY minute. The staff has been so incredibly nice, Johnathan Castillo was our favorite waiter/bartender and even waited on us in a special wine cellar that was very romantic. This hotel has every thing you could need- great views, good food, delicious drinks and friendly staff. We stayed in the vista suite and it was once of the nicest rooms I've stayed in! I highly recommend the parador hotel!

Room Tip: We chose the vista suite and it is beautiful! Great view, clean room, jacuzzi on the balcony. You wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are so pleased that you received such fantastic service and we certainly hope you will return again. We will pass your comment to Jonathan. Thank you again for your kind review. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    582
    181
    57
    36
See reviews for
696
1,129
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I can't compare this hotel to others in the Manuel Antonio area, but I can compare it to other hotels I've stayed in and this is one of the best ever. The service alone is worth the stay. One day my allergies were pretty bad and the staff was able to find and deliver a couple of Benadryl to my room. I did pay for the pills because they came from a local pharmacy but the hotel responded pretty quick. The next day, while waiting for a taxi, one of the girls came over and asked me how I was feeling. Apparently she's the one that took care of it all.

Anyhow, the hotel is very beautiful. We stayed in the Vista Suites and I can't comment on the other rooms, but the Vista Suites building was very modern. Our room included a separate stand-up shower, a bathtub/Jacuzzi inside and full blown Jacuzzi in the balcony. The hotel has 2 adult only pools but I felt the one on the Vista Suites building was a bit nicer. Plus, the building has a restaurant right next to the pool with a very beautiful view.

During our stay we got a chance to see monkeys, sloths, toucans and some iguanas while we walked around the grounds. As a matter of fact, one iguana joined us during breakfast. One of the neatest monkeys we got a chance to see was the Titi monkey (orange furr on their back). According to the locals this monkey is not seen as much as they are on the endangered list and are numbered to less than 1700.

One of the neatest things about the location of the hotel is that a few minutes away (walking distance) is Playa Biesanz, a semi-private beach. The trail starts from the main road and through a jungle trail. What a view as you begin to enter the beach from the jungle. The first time we were there we pretty much had the whole beach to ourselves. Second time around there was about 3 couples.

If you don't want to walk down, the hotel has a shuttle service that goes to town and Manuel Antonio National Park (which has two beautiful beaches, one being inside the park). We used the shuttle for the trip to MA and/or for going to dinner. The shuttle would drop us off and we'd take a taxi back to the hotel. We did have a rental car (drove from Arenal to Manuel Antonio), but we never used it because of the hotel shuttle and taxi was around $8.

Overall, great experience at Manuel Antonio. Loved everything about it, including breakfast. Plenty of options. Again, staff was great... which reminds me, one of the girls at night, she would knock on the door around 9pm and offer towels and/or chocolates. She would put a smile on my face because of her sweetness and shyness, hehe.

Thank you Parador for a great experience for me and my family.

Room Tip: Vista Suites are well worth it, especially for couples. We stayed as a family and the only downside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ismael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so pleased you took the time to write this review! Thank you for singling out one of the most important aspects of Parador: the service. Our staff is truly happy to help create the best vacation experience possible for our guests and we love to spoil you the best they can. We hope that you do return to Costa Rica in the not too distant future. The views, the wildlife, and all of our staff will be happy to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with our two daughters (7 and 9 years old). Great place, service is excellent. Lots of Spaniards and Catalans. Nice pool with awesome views of the little islands. The path to the beach is nice with good chances to see monkeys, actually you can see them in the trees around the hotel, and sloths too.
Breakfast buffet is very good. Other food and drinks are expensive, as you would expect in any resort.
Clean and confortable rooms. Shuttle service to MA park, sharply on time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PereColls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at Parador. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all that Parador has to offer – from the resort’s natural assets to our warm hospitality and customer service. Most importantly we hope to welcoming you back in the near future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at Parador with my family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids, 5 & 14 years old). The hotel was really well designed by a cliff. The view is simply spectacular! The service is excellent as well and is what you can expect from any 5-star hotels. The hotel has its own walk trails. When we took a walk along the trail in one morning, we saw a sloth climbing up and down on a tree. One day round lunch time, we saw quite a few monkeys hopping in the trees near the pool. That was really nice. We didn't see that many things when we hired a guide in the Manuel Antonio National Park. The rooms have really good air conditioners, but other areas are designed as open area and there is no air conditioner. The hotel website described that it has access to the beaches. That is not quite accurate. In order to go to the beach, you have to walk out of the hotel gate and along the narrow road for about 100-200 meters and walk down a quite steep hill. The beach is not really that nice either. If you want to spend time at the beach, this is hotel is probably not the one for you. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel and would certainly want to stay there again when I visit Manuel Antonio next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountain60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience about your lovely vacation at Parador. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort’s natural surroundings, wildlife including the Howler Monkeys and our staff’s warm hospitality and service! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The wildlife and trails on the property are so nice that you can spend an entire day just taking it all in. This is an amazing hotel, and I highly recommend it.
I was sick one night I stayed there, and the staff gave me some delicious chicken soup (no charge) and seemed genuinely concerned about how I was doing. Speaking of food, the spread placed out each day for breakfast was incredible. Much to chose from, and they will even make you an omelette!
The location and property are ideal, add in a helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and I would not stay anywhere else if returning to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so glad you had such a wonderful time. We agree that the views of the Pacific Ocean and rainforests are amazing and cannot be beat. We love hearing that you love our breakfast buffet and cannot wait for your return to experience more of what makes Hotel Parador and Costa Rica special. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The wildlife was great as were the views. But the room had a balcony door that needed a maintenance man every time it needed locking and the bathroom was poor. The food was very expencive and an army of ants were crawling round the buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieNelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guests,
We are truly sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience and leave with lots of happy memories. We’re saddened by your comments because, as you can see by the many other comments added to TripAdvisor around the same time as your stay, our staff, quality of the buffet and our service was highly commended by our visitors. Nevertheless, we sincerely appreciate your feedback as it allow us to continuously improve our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 3 days in the Parador. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with luxury. At reception on arrival we were served a delicious fruit drink. The hotel has recently named this drink "Kathy's Welcome" after a beautiful visitor. We were conducted to our room by a gracious bell man and the view was absolutely stunning. This is a perfect hotel for lovers. Our balcony had a hot tub and overlooked the blue Pacific. The hotel has several eating options. Our favorite was a casual bar with a splendid view of the ocean. While ordering room service, I asked for a special dish that was not on the menu and the chef himself was brought to the phone. This personal service along with the excellent location created a very special moment for us. We will return to Parador and we look forward to "Kathy's Welcome" drink when we arrive.

Room Tip: Don't remember the name of the building but it is relatively new and has it's own bar and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so pleased that your stay at Parador Resort & Spa met – and hopefully exceeded – your desires and expectations. It is our passionate goal to ensure that every one of our visitors has the best possible experience at both the hotel and in Manuel Antonio. Your comments on our staff are most welcoming as they are very truly passionate and committed to making our guests feel at home! We hope to see you soon!

Thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon destination and thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,382 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing