We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was the last stop on our trip and by far the most high-end. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are clean and large. The pools are beautiful and there is an adult only one to avoid the little children if desired. On a rainy day we went to the spa and got our nails done and hung out in the hot tub. We saw monkeys, sloths, and iguanas all from the hotel walkways.

The staff is very helpful and the shuttle service into the town makes everything very convenient. On our last day, they gave us an extra room to clean/shower in since we had to check out before we were leaving. They also gave us umbrellas to go out in the town with when it was raining.

We walked down to the beach from the hotel. We saw squirrel monkeys and swam in the calm warm water.

The breakfast was an extravagant buffet. For lunch we had sushi there two days which was very good and the bar serves some nice drinks including a very reasonably priced happy hour menu.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay, I'm very glad our only VERY rainy day on the trip was here rather than somewhere else because there's so much to do and see either way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kralphie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Muchas Gracias! We are very happy you had a very nice experience at Parador. Yes, indeed, our guests have the opportunity to enjoy tons of monkeys in the hotel’s surrounding jungle. In fact. Parador has three different varieties of monkeys including the endangered Titi Monkey which now lives in our private reserve.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Parador and look forward to welcoming you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    563
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
659
1,097
48
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Parador for our anniversary. We had a Livingsocial deal which really got us our full value. When we arrived they were expecting us with a cool towel and a fresh fruit drink. We were showed to our room in a golf cart where we got a brief tour of the grounds.

The staff was amazing - constantly going out of their way for you, always greeting you as you walked by, and very friendly. At breakfast we were served by Eric most days who was amazing. He always was talking to us, giving us suggestions on food, ensuring we got the full Costa Rica experience. In the time that you are there you really form a bond with the staff. This bond is to the point where they know your room number when they see you for breakfast each morning and Marjorie asked me where my boyfriend was when he wasn't behind me for fresh eggs or omelets. The breakfast was also amazing with fresh fruit, fresh eggs, and a variety which usually changed some each day so you did not have the same thing everyday.

We also booked our trips through the Parador where I feel that we got our full value. The provided transportation and guides for the night tour and the Manuel Antonio walking tour. Even on these tours the guides were exceptional. They were so knowledgeable and provided us more information than I had expected. These guides also knew where to find the animals and what calls to make to attract the animals’ attention.

The Parador surpassed my expectations of cleanliness. Every detail was paid attention to - even my hair brush was cleaned out. This was amazing to me - they actually cleaned my comb and brush to the point where it looked like new. That was my favorite thing about the Parador; they paid attention to the details. The staff was aware it was our anniversary and had a special something planned for us which really made us feel appreciated.

I could continue to say positive things about our stay – but try it for yourself!! I know we would definitely return to Hotel Parador on our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We love to celebrate our guests’ wedding anniversaries as it gives us the opportunity to create a truly special and unique experience that they will remember for the rest of their lives. We simply love that!
We are thrilled you took the time to comment on our hotel and the staff. Your comments mean a lot to us ; we will be sharing them with our staff. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this forum. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our recent stay at the Parador was sheer perfection. The grounds were magnificent and immaculately kept and our room was spacious and attractively decorated. Our room, which was a Vista Suite, boasted a spectacular view overlooking the grounds and ocean. It had a jacuzzi on the balcony, and a large tub and shower in the room. The resort is private and secure, but open and welcoming at the same time. The food was wonderful and the stay included a fresh buffet breakfast each morning. The staff was friendly and accommodating and made every effort to personalize our stay. We could not have asked for a more perfect experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolF527_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in Parador. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything that Parador has to offer - from our amazing Vista Suites, the breakfast buffet to our warm hospitality and personalized service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was impressed from the moment I walked into this resort. The architecture and views are fantastic! The resort is located along a cliff side so expect some walking and climbing a few steps but it is worth it. We had the Premium Plus room and the view was incredible. The staff are great and the place is very secure with friendly security guards. There is a small beach on the bay right down the hill from the resort. The walk back is up a steep hill but no worries...the hotel has golf carts waiting to drive you back up. I highly recommend renting a kayak and paddling out to the snorkel spot in the bay. It is no Great Barrier Reef but there is plenty of beautiful fish to look at. There is also a free shuttle that will take you into Manuel Antonio town and park. Overall, the Hotel Parador is a great place for a great price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfinatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you kindly for your wonderful review about your stay in Parador. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay – from the spectacular views of the room, snorkeling at the private beach, to enjoying Manuel Antonio National Park. We are also very grateful for your comments about our staff and have shared with them!
We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suisse
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel Parador in Manuel Antonio is an excellent hotel located in a prime location on the peninsula with ocean views and a beach located on the property. It is an imposing site with a gated entrance monitored by an attendant 24/7. The overall experience is that of a Caribbean style facility with a very open and airy feeling in the main section of the hotel. The sleeping accommodations for us were nice, not overwhelming, with a partially obstructed view of the ocean. Other units situated in other buildings appeared to be more grandiose with balconies and full ocean views. In fact, one of the buildings was accessible by an outdoor elevator. The pools were the focal point of the hotel with two operational and one under repair. The operational pools had a poolside bar where the bartender blended some lush tropical drinks.

The restaurant provides the guests with a daily buffet breakfast, lavish in its display of fresh fruit and juices, as well as some local dishes. An omelet chef is also available to prepare the omelets of your choice. We eschewed the buffet dinners, electing to try more local fair. The buffet received less than glowing reports from fellow guests. Reportedly, the price was high and the quality poor. It is unfortunate that the van service stopped at 5 pm and made most guests a trapped audience to the dinning choices available at the hotel. The cab ride to and fro local eateries could easily add $10 more to the tab but was in some cases well worth it, like the Il Avion, a fine eatery but not within walking distance of the hotel.

The staff was generally very nice and again great service was paramount on their minds. The opening reception was a little over the top with cool refreshing towels being handed out and a cool refreshing drink. Nice welcome items, but sometimes all you want to be check in and get to the pool. In our case the rooms were not ready though they did get us into one within 20 minutes after our arrival. Seemed a little pretentious. The concierge service is well versed in the local happenings and can pretty much hook you up with all kinds of activities. Keep in mind that the entrance to Manuel Antonio State Reserve does have limitations and during the high season you better book this ticket early to ensure entrance into the park.

The property boasts a small tropical forest that goes all the way to the beach. Our walk in this park proved to be a little more challenging than we expected but it did let us witness up close and personal some of our best encounters with monkeys, an acrobatic sloth and some massive lizards. All within a 5-minute walk from the pool. A very nice feature but they probably need to address the walkway around this area. The entrance to the pathway is punctuated with a Greek Fountain that seems totally out of place with the environment, but then the interior of the hotel lobby has many medieval Spanish artifacts that also seem out of place with the locale of this inn.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean at the top of the outdoor elevator must be their premium rooms and may we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neuchatel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We traded a Marriott property for a week here. Granted that it is not like any Marriott property, but it was a welcome retreat to the same o' same o'. Great service, good food, friendly staff, and beautiful location. We were given a Premium Plus room with a private view of the forest teeming with howler monkeys and exotic birds and the ocean.. The staff listen to your needs and go over and beyond to accommodate you....everything from getting you a warm, herbal tea for a sore throat, room service delivery of a Father's Day treat, to bringing you local fruit not served at the buffet...all on the house. Being a retired teacher, I enjoyed visiting and bringing books to the school they sponsor through Pack for a Purpose. Once you are here, make use of the free shuttle service to the Manuel Antonio Park and enjoy the many tours available.. This was one of the better exchanges we have done.

Room Tip: Ask for the Premium Plus rooms. Very private and beautiful views. We stayed in Room 415..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rchahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at Parador. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all that Parador has to offer – from the resort’s natural assets to our warm hospitality and customer service. Most importantly, we are extremely grateful for your participation in PACK FOR A PURPOSE. We hope to welcoming you back in the near future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

When we first arrived at the Parador, my first thought was "charming." It has many historical artifacts strewn about the hotel providing for lots of eye candy.
At the Hotel Parador was quite possibly one of the best service experiences we've ever had. Anytime we asked for something, it was done or addressed immediately. And we did not feel like we were a bother when asking, like some places make you feel.
I wanted to give a special thanks to Marjorie, who was behind the counter at the breakfast buffet. She went above and beyond to make sure my gluten allergy was compensated for. The hotel had already provided gluten free bread, and she excitedly offered to make me my own special GF batter for my once in a blue moon treat of waffles! She was the sweetest, happiest lady ever.. always smiling!
The hotel was pretty quiet overall. We met some nice couples and had a great time hanging around the pool area, and at the swim-up bar!
There were lots of monkey sightings as well! By the pool and through the windows while seated at breakfast.
Make sure you take a ride in their open door elevator that travels at a diagonal up to the top floor. It had us giggling every time.
Also the hotel set us up through a surfing excursion through Manuel Antonio surf school and it was an amazing experience!
Everyone we talked to at the hotel was courteous and friendly and up for conversation. We will definitely be back in the future to this special place!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lan-Donia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
You are too kind! We always say that our resort is exceptional but it is the staff that makes it truly special. Marjorie has 17 years working with us and she is always happy to received our guest every morning. We will be sure to let them know that they made your vacation memorable. We are so glad you had such an good time during your stay! You really enjoyed what Parador is all about – top notch service, magnificent environment and wildlife and total relaxation! MUCHAS GRACIAS! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing