We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating 30th anniversary in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a week at Parador and literally didn't leave the resort for a couple days. The resort is beautiful, good food, and the staff went well beyond our expectations to be helpful. The wild life was everywhere,amazing views, and we even saw a rainbow. Recommendations for local activities and food were spot on. It is the perfect place to relax or be active.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFord577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Mr. & Mrs. Ford One of our favorite couples ever – sweet, kind and so much in love!

Our recent 30th anniversary couple from Massachusetts did indeed capture the magic of Parador Resort & Spa. You were provided with all the pampering and spoiling that you truly deserved.

Every guest at Parador is treated like a member of our family and the entire staff welcomes every chance to help and assist them in their every need.

We Wish for You many years of love, happiest and Pura Vida!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with others here on this Tripadvisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Parador from April 26-May 04 and were completely satisfied. Parador is perched on top of a very steep hill and has excellent views of the ocean. Many of the rooms offer a view of the Pacific and the surrounding jungle, which is beautiful and fascinating. The jungle comes alive around 6am and the animals can be heard easily over the din of the air conditioner. Monkeys, toucans, and other wildlife easily visible on the hotel grounds.

Hotel: the main part of the hotel has extensive woodwork throughout which really adds to the atmosphere. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, although it's probably time for them to buy some new pillows -- ours were flat and lumpy.

Staff: very friendly and trustworthy.

Food: the food is excellent on and off the resort. The complimentary breakfast buffet was delicious and filling. Lunch was reasonable but dinner can get expensive if you eat there every night. The chef puts out great food but for my wife and I it cost about $90 for dinner with 1 drink each. There are some cheaper food options in town but not many - Costa Rica, or at least this part of it, is as expensive as a typical Canadian or US city.

Wildlife: You will be tripping over the monkeys, iguanas, and sloths. Enjoy!

Manuel Antonio National Park: $10 per person entry. Hire a guide once you're inside to get the most out of your visit. They've been doing it so long they can spot frogs, snakes, and monkeys that I otherwise would have walked past. Inside the park is the beach -- clear water and soft sand. The public beach just a few hundred yards away is much rougher.

Getting around: We rented a vehicle from the airport in San Jose and thought it was worth it. Getting down from the resort into the nearest town is about 5km of very steep winding roads. The hotel offers a shuttle service and taxis are available, but we found it handier to come and go as we pleased. We had trouble finding this resort on the GPS so the rental agency programmed another shop close by.

Overall: can't say enough positive things about our stay. I did notice that when we mentioned where we were staying, both the locals and other tourists would nod approvingly, since the resort has a good reputation and a prime location. It's one of the more expensive resorts but I thought it was worth it. I'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Wow, we blush! Thank you so very much for your wonderful and detailed comments. It is our humble goal to accommodate all our guests with the highest standards of quality and customer service and we are so very happy that we met your expectations. Regarding the Park tour -- while it is not absolutely crucial to enjoy Manuel Antonio National Park under the guidance of a guide, our professional certified guides have the eyes, equipment to spot the unique wildlife of the jungle. Furthermore, a guide provides a much more comprehensive educational experience regarding our area’s flora and fauna. Pura Vida and we hope to see you pretty soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I work as travel inspector and I just passed 3 amazing days at El Parador! The property is elegant and classy, the decoration is romantic and exquisite! Love is in the air All over this place, delicious gastronomy, good wines and cocktails. The pool is completely the best in All Manuel Antonio area and invite You to swim since the First time You enter to the hotel. Amazing ocean views All the time! The staff is extremely friendly, genuine and respecful and willing to assist You All the time in a Perfect way that makes You feel at home from beginning to ending of your Pleasant stay. This an ecoluxury hotel that really worth to visit. get ready to fall in love!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank YourEcofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

MUCHAS GRACIAS! Well, what can we say in response to such a stellar review? We’ll start with a heart-felt Thank You! We are always delighted to learn of our guests positive experiences at Parador and are grateful that you’ve taken time out of your busy schedule to share your thoughts and observations with us – and the world. Come back soon! It will be our pleasure to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I just attended his son's wedding. Resort was first class including amenities. Restaurant was excellent. Loved the experience. Actually saw monkeys on one morning frolicking in the trees. Loved the pool and the pool side bar. I agree with past reviews that the hotel staff were very warm and friendly. Actually pronounced my name correctly - my proper name I mean. The only other time that has occurred was at the Ritz Carlton in Puerto Rico. We had the reception dinner at the Parador as well and everything was perfect including the surroundings, the meal and the service. Highly recommend. The only thing we didn't like was the three hours plus drive from the airport. However the driver of the shuttle bus was wonderful and the trip was actually very interesting

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Parador was a five star resort in my opinion. The views are incredible and the grounds are amazing. The hotel staff were so friendly -- always asking what they could do for us. And they were always smiling. The room was beautiful and we were upgraded upon arrival. We walked the hotel trail and saw monkeys and a sloth early in the morning. The pool area was a paradise with swim up bar. I am not sure how there could be a nicer hotel in the area than this one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Marilee. We pride ourselves on providing wonderful and personal service to our guests, so we are thankful that you mentioned it as a highlight of your trip. As a 4-star property with 5-star service, we provide our guests with everything they deserve and more than they expect. It's all magic, created every day in Parador Resort & Spa.
We are so glad you had such an amazing time during your stay! You really did get the best view in the resort and nothing sounds better than waking up to the view of the exotic monkeys and the cute sloths. We would love for you to return and explore more of Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I spent three days at the Parador and it was great. The grounds are beautiful and there is always some little spot to sit and just enjoy. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. We brought school supplies to the hotel, as the Parador is a drop off location for Pack for a Purpose. The hotel invited us to go to the sponsored school and it was delightful. Please - if you are going to Costa Rica check out the Pack for a Purpose website

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marilee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

You are too kind! We always say that our resort is exceptional but it is the staff that makes it truly special. We will be sure to let them know that they made your vacation memorable. MUCHAS GRACIAS for your contribution and participation in PACK FOR A PURPOSE to deliver school supplies to one of our schools. We are so overjoyed every time our guests joins us to deliver schools supplies and meet the children – bringing a smile to a child’s face is truly an emotional and unforgettable experience!
We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here the last two days of our week long Costa Rica trip late January 2013; the hotel and staff were amazing. Once we arrived someone immediately took our bags, showed us the check in and greeted us with a fruity drink and cold towel. The grounds are beautiful and it is a short walk downhill to the beach (they also offer to take you down in golf carts) The pool was spectacular and never crowded they even had an adult pool open 24 hrs. We saw monkeys and a sloth right outside our patio in the trees above. There is also a nice hiking area on the hotel grounds with awesome views. We took advantage of the spa twice which was also amazing and you get to use the steam room and indoor fresh water spa and pool with any service.

Other than the Ritz, this is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at with top notch amenities and staff that go out of their way to make sure you are happy. I will for sure stay here again next time I am in Costa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments! We truly appreciate it! It sounds like you were able to incorporate a good mix of exploring the wonderful nature surrounding the resort and pampering yourself with our services – and that’s’ what a vacation is all about! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $193 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing