We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to go for destination wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Parador
Certificate of Excellence
nj
1 review
“The place to go for destination wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2008

My daughter was married at the Parador 4/19/08. At first I did not know how this would turn out. Just let me say that the wedding was one of the most beautiful weddings I have ever been to. Sylvia (concierge) took care of everything. Flowers were outstanding, food was delicous and the hotel staff is just great. The rooms are clean and the air conditioning worked well. Grounds are gorgeous,road to the hotel is quite a trip but worth it. Views are so pretty. I would highly recommend this for a destination wedding

  • Liked — the service by the hotel employees
  • Disliked — leaving to go to another hotel BIG mistake
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carolmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    545
    166
    53
    35
See reviews for
631
1,066
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

Many travelers have commented on the really bad road that leads to this hotel. We thought we were lost, and throughout our stay as we travelled over it many times we couldn't belive that a hotel with this reputation would have such a crappy road leading into it, but it does. We heard many opinions from drivers and hotel employees about why the road is so bad, and I think the simple opinion is that nobody can agree about who shoudl pay to pave it. Whatever.

The drive is worth it. Of the three hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica, the Parador was truly the highlight. The location is fantastic (we saw more monkeys near the hotel than in the park) and the view cannot be beat. Thew htel is not directly on the beach but there is a tral that goes down to it. It is not an easy trail but its fun to wind through the jungle to a relatively isolated beach.

The rooms were nice (and cool), the linens were very comfortable, and the service was great. The grounds are extensive and well maintained. We were especially impressed with the staff at the hotel. They were professional, courteous and very helpful, particularly when we lost the keys to our rental car. I was particularly impresed with the guy at the activities desk and the concierge, both of whom made our stay very enjoyable. The food at the restaurant was terrific when we ate there (once) and the free breakfast was also quite good.

I am picky about where I stay (see my other reviews) but I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

We (husband, wife, 14year old son) went to Costa Rica from April 5 to April 13, 2008. We went first a couple of nights to the Kioro Hotel in Arenal, then 3 days to the Hilton Papagayo and then two nights to the El Parador.

The El Parador is a very interesting hotel. It's on top of a cliff / mountain by the ocean and you have the most gorgeous views of the ocean. The interior design of the hotel is Spanish. (Don Quichote style)
We stayed in room 319 which was very nice and spacious. It had two queen size beds for the three of us and an average bathroom. It was very clean.
The balcony overlooked the beautiful landscape and the huge fantastic Guanacaste tree (with lots of birds!) and we could see the ocean too. Very nice view.

The pool was very cool looking. Just loved it!!!
The pool bar was also good. The drinks were very good.

The staff at the hotel was very friendly. They pointed out also the wildlife, like the howler monkeys coming to sleep at night in the tree by the lobby.
They also have a "monkey-trail" in their lush tropical gardens. We saw quite some wildlife there like a sloth and monkeys and lots of birds.

The hotel has a free shuttle bus to Manuel Antonia Park. There you could rent a guide also for the manuel Antonio National park, if you haven't pre-booked a tour. It's very safe. Nice little town there with lots of souvenir shops.
I would recommend going with a guide into the park because their eyes are so much better trained than ours to spot wildlife. I would have walked by the snake or the silky anteater or the frogs or even the sloths. The monkeys you won't be able to miss.... :-)

The restaurant at the El Parador is good. We had breakfast and dinner there.
I definitely would go back to this hotel!

  • Liked — the view, the wildlife, loved it all....
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelManiacUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

stayed here at the end of a touring holiday, very restful. Pool and grounds outstanding, plenty of wildlife. room was big and comfortable with a great view from the balcony, recorded quite a few extra birds just sitting on balcony. Food average and service slow, but breakfast was good. Road to hotel bad and you need to take a taxi (cheap) to go to a restaurant or anywhere else. hotel runs courtesy bus to national park, which can get very crowded.

  • Liked — the grounds
  • Disliked — poor internet connection
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank osinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

My family, including two teenagers, spent 4 wonderful nights here in late March, 2008. We stayed in the least expensive room (Garden) and had a wonderful time. The Garden room is nothing to get exited about... but is clean and generally nice. Just a view of the attractive grounds...no ocean view or breeze.

The cleaning staff did a great job and left cute towel animals for the kids each day...they left us extra pillows per our request.

The resort is breathtakingly beautiful. The pool bar is wonderful. There is a separate adult pool which is secluded and quiet if you wish. There are walking trails where you can see many monkeys, iquanas, butterflies, etc. The walk to the beach is farther than I would have liked. The beach is fine, but is in a cove, so no playing in good waves.

The food was excellent at all resort locations. I never had so much fresh fruit in my life! Sevice is good.

The tour desk easily arranged a couple of tours for us. We did the Titi canopy tour and the Dolphin/Snorkeling tour...both were marvelous.

The drive to the resort is difficult and requires a vehicle with high clearance. We drove in and out a few times to go to Manuel Antonio park and to go to Quepos. We took comfortable shuttles right from the hotel for the canopy tour and dolphin tour...a shuttle is also available to Manuel Antonio...so if you don't want to drive the rough road in and out, there is transportation available.

The staff was friendly. Everyone spoke plenty of English, although they seemed to appreciate our attempts to speak limited Spanish.

Our teenage children loved the resort and the tours and general area. They would would have preferred to have a more accessible beach however.

Overall, we had a great time. We would definitely consider going back in the future.

  • Liked — Breathtaking location and views.
  • Disliked — Difficult road to get to hotel, distance from beach.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank likestotravelMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

Parador facility is beautiful, but my first experience at the reception desk was less than stellar. Staff seems more concerned with taking personal phone calls rather than following through with details of reservation. Having guests wait in the lobby for a half hour because of an employee's unwillingness to contact managment doesn't speak of superior service.

  • Disliked — staff attitude
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank keithbemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

Very nice people work here, we love Ticos! Pool bar is excellent!! Food was okay, try the veggie quesedillas. If you want Tico flavor in decor, pick somewhere else to stay. Very nice but ostentacious. Grounds are amazing.

  • Liked — The helpful staff
  • Disliked — mildew in rooms; construction next door
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jtruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Property: Hotel Parador
Address: | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing