We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, beautiful hotel”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our room at the Parador hotel was lovely, overlooked the Pacific with a large deck. What stands out about this hotel is the staff. They were extremely accommodating, and were able to fulfill (always with smiles) several challenging requests.
The grounds are beautiful, filled with beautiful plants, trees and animals (especially monkeys).

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front vista suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnSCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for taking their personal time to write a wonderful review of our hotel. And your comments on our staff are most welcoming. They deserve these comments as they are the very best around. Truly compassionate and genuine smile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    577
    180
    55
    35
See reviews for
681
1,121
50
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Rooms were average but I really enjoyed the pool and the view. The bar had a nice happy hour and dinner at the reastauraunt was nice. The property has beach access nearby albiet a steeeeep walk. Also nice walking path and service was good. Drive to the hotel is hilly and windy! Not too far a drive from the park too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time. And you are very much correct, the views to the Pacific ocean is all an experience – so many wonderful things to do around the Manuel Antonio area.
Thank you for sharing your experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed Tabacon Hotel in La Fortuna before this Hotel and what a different !!
We hated the service in Tabacon
Front desk person of Prador Hotel(his name was Mykos) he was so polite and really took care of us
We got there few hours ealier than check in time but he was trying to check us in as soon as possible.
They brought us nice tropical drink and cold towel when we arrive to front desk.
Mykos was keep making phone call to someone to keep checking if our room was ready.
We had ocean front suite
Balcony has nice jaccuzi tab and also have nice big bath tab in a room
View of Ocean and Jungle was beatiful.
We had dinner that night at Hotel and same guy at front desk(Mykos) was working as waiter.
It is kind of interesting for United states.
He was so proffessional as a waiter also, pay always attention to all the customer in each tables.
Then we saw him again in different day and he was Bell man this time and he offer us ride to front desk

I don't have to ask him anything, he will just read our mind and give us always great service.
I would love to hire him if I own the Hotel
I never seen him standing around doing nothing.
Always keep working and pay attention to each guest in what ever job title he has.
Rest of the employees were also very nice.
Every body say, " good morning" " good afternoon" when they walkled by us.
Reminds me of Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons employee
They must have good Hotel Manager and know how to train employees.
This Hotel have big beautiful Jungle in their own property and I saw so many Monkeys right in front of us.
They have free shuttle service from Hotel to down town/Beach/Natinal Park(they all at same location) every hour


I will reccoment this Prador Hotel very much

PS: Restaurnat called " Capi Capi" (Euro Asian Food) located only 5-10 min away($10 by taxi) has great food

I heard this Res is one of the best Restaurant in this area from a lot of different peoples

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sushi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
WOW! On behalf of the entire staff at Parador Resort & Spa and also with all sincere GRACIAS from Mykol, I would like to thank our recent guests for sharing their thoughts on this forum.

Once a guest comes through the gates of the Parador, they immediately become part of the family. Hotel management recognizes that our employees are key contributors to a memorable experience. Thus our culture centers on career advancement - that is, cross-training employees in different areas of the hotel so that they gain more experience, acquire more knowledge and ultimately, have the opportunity to choose the job that makes them happy.
We love that you captured a unique experience of our resort as we pride ourselves in creating an atmosphere that is always memorable to our guests - friendly and attentive.
We thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future so we can once again spoil you here in Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Upon our fourth night staying on the 3rd floor of a four story complex of suites, we were settling in for bed when we heard a loud "Splat" sound and looked down to find that a BOA CONSTRICTOR had fallen through the ceiling air conditioning unit and onto our tile floor! The air conditioning unit is nearly directly above the bed, resulting in the snake landing less than three feet from where we have slept for the last three nights. Imagine our chagrin! Hotel staff was able to send up a maintenance person to subdue and remove the snake from the room, but subsequently seemed to refuse our requests to have the air conditioning unit disassembled and inspected for any other unsightly (and frankly, horrifying) creatures or other possible disturbances. As I write this review, it has been nearly an hour since we initially spoke with the hotel staff who had promised to "send someone up immediately" to inspect the A/C unit. In fact, the staff had the audacity to tell us that "there are very few trees in this area." Keep in mind, Costa Rica is rich in flora and fauna, and there are nearly NO places in the surrounding area that have "very few trees" in proximity. Having stayed in several less-than-exemplary lodging facilities, I can confidently say that this is the most unnerving experience I have ever had. Had we been asleep, the boa could have easily wrapped itself around one of us (or worse, a child) and suffocated us by morning.
The room and surrounding area were beautiful, but this experience is seemingly enough to make anyone squirmish! STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank j_phresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest and Trip Advisor Readers,

First and foremost, we are sad to hear about the guest’s experience during his stay at Parador.

In the 17 years of operation, this is the first time that Parador faces a situation of this nature.

The boa found in the guest room most likely came in while the door was open not through the air conditioning as the unit is not a duct. It was small – about 20 cms/8 inches – which makes it impossible to asphyxiate a rabbit. Our employee caught the boa with his hands to avoid harming it and freed it in the jungle.

Please note that the resort is surrounded by 60 hectares of jungle and this is the first time that we have experienced this type of incident. Rest assured that the safety and comfort of our guests remains paramount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Top, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I loved it X10!!!!! Was beyond any expectations. As perfect as any pace could be. It was difficult to leave. I plan on returning to Parador next year, and kudos to the staff that can anticipate the needs of a foreign traveler.

Room Tip: suggest a room with a sunset vew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had an exceptional week at Hotel Parador. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. Our Garden/Tennis court facing room was comfortable. I believe it is the first pillow top bed we have had outside Canada/US. Well kept property, lots of nature happening on the grounds, howler/white faced/spider monkeys, sloths, iguanas, white headed hawks, etc. to watch and keep us entertained. Great vistas. Adult pool, Spa. Our room included a buffet breakfast. Great choice of tasty Tico cuisine. My wife summed it up "I belong here!"
We would highly recommend Hotel Parador for warm relaxing Costa Rican holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Yes you “belong here” Our recent guests truly captured what Parador is all about. Service, friendly atmosphere, quite ambiance, breathtaking views, brilliant food and uncompromising dedication to making our guests feel like they are very special. Muchas Gracias and we hope to see you soon! We look forward to your return to us again giving us the opportunity to spoil you as you so much deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and could not fault it. The rooms are to a high standard and very clean. Service all round was good and the restaurant had a wide selection of food.
There are walks in the grounds and we discovered a family of sloths with a baby in the trees.
Taxi's are very reasonable otherwise the hotel bus to the village/park is free. You have to run the gauntlet of stallholders and prospective guides to get to the park entrance. We thought that the price for guides in the park was high and went on our own and believe that we saw all that we could and more as the guides only stay on the main path. The beach is lovely but look out for the Racoons as they will steal any food left unattended. You will see sloths and monkeys along with a variety of iguanas and birds.
Mangrove swamp trip was ok and we saw monkeys who are obviously used to tourists and come onto the boat and a variety of water birds. This was the only place that we saw the mangrove Boa constrictor snakes. If there are more than two of you negotiate the price down because again we considered the price unreasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you once again for your very king review of our Hotel. Others on this TripAdvisor forum as well as our entire staff welcome your very personal input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,533 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,427 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing