We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't miss the snorkeling at Biesanz beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Parador
Certificate of Excellence
Callahan, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't miss the snorkeling at Biesanz beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Everything positive written about this place is true. Beautiful setting and views, quality staff. We snorkeled three days straight at Biesanz beach. For $10 cash, no credit cards, you can get the gear you need from Lenin at the beach and he'll guard your stuff. It's a bit of a swim to the fish reef but good exercise. You might see white-faced capuchins or spider monkeys on your walk down to the beach. Best value of any activity we did in CR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WileyFahma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are really happy that you had a positive experience here with us! Wow, three times snorkeling? We are sure that you saw a lot of marine life and you came just at the right time as snorkeling is best between December and March. Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    490
    152
    46
    33
See reviews for
592
976
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This review is long overdue. We actually stayed at Parador in May 2011.

This is hands down the best hotel we've stayed at to date. Coincidentally, on our flight into CR, we ended up sitting next to a woman who was a local and frequently spends her vacations at this hotel with her family.

The grounds are unbelievably beautiful, especially the main pool overlooking the Pacific. Since we arrived at the beginning of the rainy season, it did rain like clockwork everyday around 5pm. But the way the grounds are set up, we didn't mind. Walking from the lobby to your room is completely covered, so it was convenient not having to carry an umbrella. We even stayed in the pool during one storm which was actually pleasant.

Complimentary shuttle to the beach was convenient and the driver would even stop and point out huge iguanas, monkeys in the trees along the way.

Breakfast was great, especially loved all the fresh fruit. We mostly ate dinner at the hotel's restaurants and always found the food to be good, even though a bit pricey, including the sushi we had one night.

Staff was very helpful and we booked a snorkeling trip through them without a problem.

Loved this hotel and Costa Rica - truly felt like paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotter862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are so happy to hear from you after almost two years! If it was the best hotel for you then, you will definately have to come back soon so you can enjoy some great add-ons and improvements, including new tours, and delicious new dishes.

Your comprehensive review was welcoming and we thank you for taking your personal time to make your wonderful comments on our staff, food, decor and overall surroundings.

Thank you so very much for having spent your holiday with us and we look forward to your return visit......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Parador Hotel in Costa Rica ,very nice rooms ,, good restraunts and great food. 2 pools one adult and one for all , The beach is very nice and is about 12 minutes away by hotel shuttle which is no problem to take .The staff is very helpful and friendly. I can not say enough about this place except excellent .We arrived at this hotel at the end of our tour with Trafalgar Tours ,, a well worth doing tour. The guides were full of information about everything .

Room Tip: I don't think you have to worry about room choices as I looked into a couple others and about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Wonderful...!! Marvelous...!! Thank you for coming to Parador Resort & Spa and allowing us to have you in our home for the short period you were here in Costa Rica.

Our staff from the front desk to our restaurant staff to our pool attendants still speak of your kind words and meaningful understanding of what we have created here at our 5 star service resort.

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on this TripAdivsor forum.

You are welcome back with open arms......anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the moment you step through their gate. You are greeted by eager staff awaiting to help you with your every need. Guillermo was ready upon parking to carry our bags to the front desk. He then proceeded to bring us nice pina coladas which was a perfect touch after the long drive from san jose. Our room wasn't quite ready because we arrived just a bit earlier so Guillermo took us for a spin on one of the golf carts. He showed us around and eventually dropped me off at the spa because i wanted to inquire about their pricing. After seeing the spa menu I checked out the tour desk and booked a surf lesson for the next day.

The pools here are fantastic with killer views of MA beach. Their are several adult pools and bars within reaching distance of the waters. The breakfast was very good as well and the rooms very tidy. I would definitely come back for a romantic getaway sometime in the future. This place is truly for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great views from the grounds. Garden view room was nice. Staff (as in all in Costa Rica) was very helpful. We chose it, because it was just a few minutes from the beach. A la carte menu at restaurant was overpriced and food was uninspired. However, one evening there was a BBQ station and the food there was excellent.
We are rating as very good and not excellent for 2 reasons:
1 - there is some kind of confusion as to the style the hotel designer was after. Spanish-inspired "parador" motives clash with kitschy Roman statues and crocodile (in pool).
2 - perhaps not extremely romantic and intimate; can have weddings there. Drunk people were shouting outside our room for a long time one night. It is perhaps more fitting for families.

Recommend for beach proximity, cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirage159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the time we checked in we knew it was a great hotel. checking in was easy because the staff is so good and they continued to be helpful our entire stay. Our room had great views of the ocean and was comfortable and clean. The pools were a good temperature and very pretty. The best unique part about this hotel was that in the early morning and evening the howler and squirrel monkeys came to the trees right outside our balcony and were very photogenic. The other unique factor was the elevator. We stayed on the hilltop in building 10. The elevator is open on the sides and is on a diagonal track so you enjoy the views all the way up. Definitely a place i would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamiman128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently visited Parador Resort and Spa for the first time and it was such a wonderful experience. The hotel is just beatiful, with breathtaking views of the ocean that you can enjoy while chillin on one of the the pools or enjoying a delicious meal. The staff is very helpful and nice, they will go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and welcome during your stay. Make sure you take a hike on the trails surrounding the property. And the food... OMG! Everything was simply delicious.

I will definitely go back to this hotel as soon as I can!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Property: Hotel Parador
Address: PO Box 284, Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing