We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This review is long overdue. We actually stayed at Parador in May 2011.

This is hands down the best hotel we've stayed at to date. Coincidentally, on our flight into CR, we ended up sitting next to a woman who was a local and frequently spends her vacations at this hotel with her family.

The grounds are unbelievably beautiful, especially the main pool overlooking the Pacific. Since we arrived at the beginning of the rainy season, it did rain like clockwork everyday around 5pm. But the way the grounds are set up, we didn't mind. Walking from the lobby to your room is completely covered, so it was convenient not having to carry an umbrella. We even stayed in the pool during one storm which was actually pleasant.

Complimentary shuttle to the beach was convenient and the driver would even stop and point out huge iguanas, monkeys in the trees along the way.

Breakfast was great, especially loved all the fresh fruit. We mostly ate dinner at the hotel's restaurants and always found the food to be good, even though a bit pricey, including the sushi we had one night.

Staff was very helpful and we booked a snorkeling trip through them without a problem.

Loved this hotel and Costa Rica - truly felt like paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and had no complaints.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrotter862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

We are so happy to hear from you after almost two years! If it was the best hotel for you then, you will definately have to come back soon so you can enjoy some great add-ons and improvements, including new tours, and delicious new dishes.

Your comprehensive review was welcoming and we thank you for taking your personal time to make your wonderful comments on our staff, food, decor and overall surroundings.

Thank you so very much for having spent your holiday with us and we look forward to your return visit......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,472)
There are newer reviews for Parador Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 2,472 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Parador Hotel in Costa Rica ,very nice rooms ,, good restraunts and great food. 2 pools one adult and one for all , The beach is very nice and is about 12 minutes away by hotel shuttle which is no problem to take .The staff is very helpful and friendly. I can not say enough about this place except excellent .We arrived at this hotel at the end of our tour with Trafalgar Tours ,, a well worth doing tour. The guides were full of information about everything .

Room Tip: I don't think you have to worry about room choices as I looked into a couple others and about t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Wonderful...!! Marvelous...!! Thank you for coming to Parador Resort & Spa and allowing us to have you in our home for the short period you were here in Costa Rica.

Our staff from the front desk to our restaurant staff to our pool attendants still speak of your kind words and meaningful understanding of what we have created here at our 5 star service resort.

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on this TripAdivsor forum.

You are welcome back with open arms......anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the moment you step through their gate. You are greeted by eager staff awaiting to help you with your every need. Guillermo was ready upon parking to carry our bags to the front desk. He then proceeded to bring us nice pina coladas which was a perfect touch after the long drive from san jose. Our room wasn't quite ready because we arrived just a bit earlier so Guillermo took us for a spin on one of the golf carts. He showed us around and eventually dropped me off at the spa because i wanted to inquire about their pricing. After seeing the spa menu I checked out the tour desk and booked a surf lesson for the next day.

The pools here are fantastic with killer views of MA beach. Their are several adult pools and bars within reaching distance of the waters. The breakfast was very good as well and the rooms very tidy. I would definitely come back for a romantic getaway sometime in the future. This place is truly for couples.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great views from the grounds. Garden view room was nice. Staff (as in all in Costa Rica) was very helpful. We chose it, because it was just a few minutes from the beach. A la carte menu at restaurant was overpriced and food was uninspired. However, one evening there was a BBQ station and the food there was excellent.
We are rating as very good and not excellent for 2 reasons:
1 - there is some kind of confusion as to the style the hotel designer was after. Spanish-inspired "parador" motives clash with kitschy Roman statues and crocodile (in pool).
2 - perhaps not extremely romantic and intimate; can have weddings there. Drunk people were shouting outside our room for a long time one night. It is perhaps more fitting for families.

Recommend for beach proximity, cleanliness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirage159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the time we checked in we knew it was a great hotel. checking in was easy because the staff is so good and they continued to be helpful our entire stay. Our room had great views of the ocean and was comfortable and clean. The pools were a good temperature and very pretty. The best unique part about this hotel was that in the early morning and evening the howler and squirrel monkeys came to the trees right outside our balcony and were very photogenic. The other unique factor was the elevator. We stayed on the hilltop in building 10. The elevator is open on the sides and is on a diagonal track so you enjoy the views all the way up. Definitely a place i would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miamiman128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently visited Parador Resort and Spa for the first time and it was such a wonderful experience. The hotel is just beatiful, with breathtaking views of the ocean that you can enjoy while chillin on one of the the pools or enjoying a delicious meal. The staff is very helpful and nice, they will go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and welcome during your stay. Make sure you take a hike on the trails surrounding the property. And the food... OMG! Everything was simply delicious.

I will definitely go back to this hotel as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylviaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a first class resort. Saw three species of monkeys on the property, two of them right outside of our room. We were woken, one morning, by the Howler monkees. Quite the experience. Saw whales spouting from the pool area shortly after arrival. The grounds were unbelievably beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurants were a little pricey but the food was excellent. The free breakfast had anything that you would want. Excursions are offered with the staff being the guide.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

We love nothing more than to receive comments such as the one above from our recent guests.

Service and uncompromising attention to detail when it comes to our guests and their desires.

We have a saying at Parador.........”For our guests, it is all that you deserve and much more than you expect.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,478 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,424 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $181 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing