We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Attention to Details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Attention to Details”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We reserved in Aug for 4 nights in Nov, the green season. Location is secluded and the entrance road is somewhat difficult to find. When we arrived a bell hop offered us a cool towel & a fruit drink, a nice gesture, and we received an upgrade from "garden view" to "garden plus" as the hotel was not full. Room is on the small side but comfortable. Staff is friendly. Chamber maid left floral arrangement made from flower petals on our bed the first 2 nights. Restaurant quality is good but there is really only one, as the other restaurant advertized is used only for private functions. Breakfast buffet (included) is good. Wi-Fi (free) is available only near reception or the restaurant, not the rooms further away. There is a monkey trail on site, as well as free shuttle to a beach nearby. The beach is not crowded & the scenery is good, but the sand as you wade out is full of rocks & pebbles. Don't miss visiting Manuel Antonio National Park, and use a guided tour. It is worth the price as you will see much more. Overall quality is good.

Room Tip: Choose oceanview if you don't mind paying a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are very happy to hear about your experience at Parador and enjoyed our warm hospitality and attention to detail as we strive to provide our guests with top notch guest experience. Also glad to hear that you visited Manuel Antonio National Park, our national treasure! We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Well wishes of pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    584
    181
    57
    36
See reviews for
702
1,132
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I just got back from a wonderful trip to Costa Rica, and the only let down of the entire trip was the stay at the Parador. Unless you pay for the rooms with a view, which are definitely stunning, I would not recommend to spend that much to stay in this hotel, there are many other options around. The hotel does not have direct access to a beach, and there are only 5 shuttles a day to go the beach - and even if you reserve a spot in the shuttle, it fills up and you have to wait another 25 minutes for the same shuttle to come back and pick you up. The hotel area is small, and there is construction going on. The overall decor was not to my taste (heavy dark wood colonial furtniture, greek statues in the garden - not very Costa Rican to be honest). Overall, felt very stiff and rigid, not very authentic and the rooms with garden view are dark, small and really nothing special. Unfortunately not worth the $.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, this is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in this forum. We are sad to hear that you our hotel did not meet your expectations as our goal is to provide a superior product, amenities and high quality service and hospitality. We apologize about the construction as we were enhancing the hotel’s amenities to maximize the guest experience. Best wishes of pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were very impressed with Hotel Parador. I made my reservation by email several months in advance of our Thanksgiving week trip. When we checked in, the front desk clerk congratulated us on our first anniversary - something from an email four months prior. We were greeted with fruit drinks, the bellman gave us a quick tour of the property on the way to the room and then produced chocolate dipped strawberries from the in-suite refrigerator. We booked all of our activities with the hotel and enjoyed a couples massage at the spa. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and included an omelet bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PromoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are very happy to hear about your stay at Parador for your anniversary as we strive to provide our guests with a memorable personalized experience! So glad to hear that you enjoyed our couples massage at the Pacifica Spa, our omelet bar and our activities. We hope to welcome you back for next anniverssary! Well wishes of pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The best place we stayed in CR. Windy drive outside of Quepos into the hills. The hotel has old charm, even though we were told it is only 17 years old. Very intimate with beautiful grounds, pool, and very accommodating staff. Multiple infinity pools - one for adults only. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Dinner was good but only ate there once. Happy Hour from 6-7pm with cheaper drinks. I would not recommend the appetizers - we ordered multiple appetizers one evening, thinking it would take the place of dinner, but they were very small for the price and not all that filling. We had a car so we drove to all our activities. Don't miss the Manuel Antonio park with a guide for a good 1/2 day excursion. There's a free shuttle service (set times) to/from the park so take advantage of this - but make sure you have a guide to add to the experience.

Room Tip: They tried to "upgrade" us from a jungle view room but it ended up overlooking the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Director of Sales at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Parador. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, dinner and Happy Hours! We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Well wishes of pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I can't say enough about the fantastic time we had to Hotel Parador! We booked this trip back in August (for Thanksgiving) and even the booking via email was done professionally and quickly (setting up transportation to and from San Jose, setting up tours, getting the right rooms, etc), so we were very excited. We got there late in the afternoon, but even though it was dark, we knew it was a gorgeous place. We weren't disappointed come morning, when we opened the blinds to gorgeous views of the oceans, mountains and the beautiful property of the hotel.

The day just got better with the breakfast buffet--which we were very happy to see was mainly Costa Rican food with just a few American choices!--followed by an excellent mangrove tour and delicious (included) lunch. The rest of the day was spent by the pool and just enjoying the property. Repeat for the next 4 days (we also did the Manuel Antonio tour). We loved it so much that we extended our stay by a day, and they were very accommodating, letting us stay in our same room. The spa is gorgeous and the grounds are just incredibly beautiful (even the monkeys that come climbing out of the trees randomly are cute (not really, but still, it's a cool thing to see!)).

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, especially the people who book the tours. Everything was set up perfectly for a really wonderful experience. I would go back in a heartbeat. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is for little things like the pools and jacuzzis were a bit chilly, the happy hour was literally an hour, and the restaurant itself was a bit overpriced, but seriously these are such minor things in comparison to how great this place is, I feel silly pointing them out. Just keep it in mind!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filledelune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Parador. I have stayed at many hotels that have a "premium" rating but don't live up (especially in central/south America). This one does. The hotel is beautiful. It offers views overlooking the pacific dotted with little islands, lush tropical landscaping, and large/clean rooms with views. There are multiple pools and restaurants. The spa is great - if you're looking for the heated jacuzzi, it's in there. The only minor detraction is the food, but it's doable. But if you come, you must do the guided tour of Manuel Antonio national park arranged through th hotel. Ask for Elias. He rocks! Don't go on your own. You won't see anything. The guides are great at spotting animals that make it their business to be hidden. Sometimes I couldn't see things even when I knew what I was looking for until he showed me through his scope. Elias spotted a family of howler monkeys with baby, two and three toed sloths also with babies (amazing!), many lizards and iguanas, falcons, hawks, butterflies, crabs, and grasshoppers. And he helps you get up close pics using your iPhone right up to the scope. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just got back from our visit to Costa Rica, where we spent 3 days at Parador in Manuel Antonio.
This is a fabulous property with fantastic service. Upon arrival, we were offered a refreshing drink and wet towels during the check-in process (seems small, but such a nice gesture!). The staff was extremely courteous and respectful. Everyone wanted to make sure we were having a good time.
We got upgraded to a tropical room. It was spacious with all the creature comforts. Free Wifi is a big plus!
The properly lawns are very well kept. The swimming pools are awesome. Spa is good, but a bit expensive.
Lots of eating options around the hotel - we tried the hotel's restaurant too, which was good.

Be sure to take the hotel's organized tour of Manuel Antonio park for $42 (includes $10 park fee). If you can, ask for Elias to be your tour guide. We're typically the sort who avoid organized tours, but having a naturalist who can spot insects, birds, wildlife will give your visit to Manuel Antonio a whole new meaning!

All in all - highly recommend to others and would definitely return. Manuel Antonio was the best part of our Costa Rica visit and Hotel Parador made it special.

Room Tip: Request for upgrade to tropical room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,565 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,382 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#10 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing