We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Nice Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Parador
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Nice Charming Hotel”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The service staff here was amazing...always on the same page. They were helpful, spoke good English, and were always willing to help. And the breakfast was great with a great view!

The only issue we had was with ants, but considering its basically in the jungle, I'm sure this is hard to deal with.

I highly recommend Parador!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for your recommendation! And thank you so much for understanding about our little friends, the sugar ants. We strive to make Parador as wonderful as possible, and that includes being eco-friendly with our pest control. The ants are harmless, but are very intent on finding any treat they can. We’ll pass your comments on to our staff, by the way, they always love to hear about a job well done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,470
    553
    171
    55
    35
See reviews for
643
1,084
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have NEVER in my life had a more pleasant experience at a resort compared to this recent stay at Hotel Parador. My husband and I along with another couple traveled to Manuel Antonio in mid-August of this year and it was an amazing trip from the time we landed to the time we boarded the plane home! The entire staff at Hotel Parador was fantastic and truly treated us like royalty! I would recommend arranging all of your tours and excursions directly through the hotel if possible, it was so easy! They will also arrange for your pick up at the San Jose airport which is what we did (I was not crazy about taking a Cessna to Quepos). If you are thinking about driving to the resort from SJO I would recommend it. There is a lot to see and do during the trip we stopped several times to take pictures, get fresh fruit (and beer), ect and it is only about a 2 hour ride (but it goes by fast because there really is A LOT to see).

Back to the resort, the views of the Pacific Ocean were nothing short of phenomenal and we actually saw more monkeys at the resort than we did during an 8 hour hike in the National Park! One afternoon we were sitting at the bar closest to the suites and we noticed a sloth hanging out right in front of us! The free breakfast buffet was also a major plus, I ate my weight in fresh fruit every morning. It was nice to have the free breakfast buffet because we usually were out exploring the area during lunch so by the time we returned in the afternoon we were not completely starved. Then would would catch a snack at the pool the nachos and wings were a favorite.

I also had 2 massages during our stay –they were both fantastic. I highly recommend going to the spa if you have time. We also had facials and there were pretty good as well.
My favorite part of the resort was the swim-up bar! We spent a lot of afternoons here relaxing, drinking and meeting the other guests. You must try the Banana Bungee it was amazing!!

I have literally traveled all over the world and very rarely do I visit a place where I genuinely like to visit again in the future, but Hotel Parador made the list. A+++ service and experience is all that we received.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KrisMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Wow! We absolutely love reading reviews like yours—looks like Parador lived up to its reputation and then some! You’re so right: sloths and monkeys show up quite often on our grounds, and we’ve gone to great lengths to make sure they feel quite at home. Did you get a chance to go on a night tour? The frog pond is a real treat! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Living Social deal. The deal included 3 nights for 2, one private dinner for 2, massage for 2 and a tour of the National Park. The grounds are beautiful - the pools are perfect temperature and very clean.

Our biggest problem with the deal was that it advertised a private dinner. It wasn't private - it was a regular meal. And did not include drinks or coffee. There was a private dining room and we got all excited that it was for us, but it wasn't. It's a little misleading - of course a dinner with my husband would be private. As in just us. So that was disappointing.

Unfortunately there is no beach access. We went to the beach during our park tour but otherwise opted for the pool because of its proximity.

The tropical room was very nice. And yes, we ran into the sugar ants, but that's not something the hotel can really control. We just kept our eyes out and killed what we could.

The spa is wonderful and the staff there (and the rest of the staff) was very attentive. We felt very welcomed even though the massage was "a freebie" with our package.

The food was mediocre at the Galeria. The hotel advertises four restaurants on site but only the Galeria was open. This was disappointing. Maybe because it was the off season? The breakfast buffet was great - a nice spread. But lunch and dinner were nothing to write home about (except the flat iron steak salad!). Not bad, just not great. And it wasn't included so we paid out of pocket. We spent our last dinner at El Avion nearby, which was delicious. The best meal, however, was lunch at Safari Canopy zipline tour. It was a little hut and just one cook - rice with chicken, beans and sweet plantains. Delicious.

The staff is wonderful. Very friendly and they humored me by letting my practice my Spanish. You can tell they pride themselves on their customer service.

Overall, a wonderful stay. I would recommend this to friends. (But maybe not at full price because it is expensive! The Living Social deal was great).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HI22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for your great review! We’re so happy you had a great time and enjoyed it at a great price through Living Social. We apologize for the mix up regarding the “private meal” – we are looking into what exactly they are promoting so we’re all on the same page. Right now we’re in the middle of our “Green Season” (meaning yes, it rains a lot!) so we take advantage of the relative slow down to make as many upgrades as we can, which is why El Quijote restaurant was closed. Did you try La Fragata at Las Suites? It serves great light food with a fantastic view. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything in the hotel was great. The rooms, the views, the service, the food, the friendliness of the staff. Everything is to be remarked. Perhaps the only not so great point is that the gym is quite small, with not too many machines (no treadmill, only one bike). The location of the hotel in the middle of the rainforest is also incredible. All kinds of monkeys could be heard and seen from the room. The beach nearby (Biesanz beach) was simply amazing. Only accessible through a path in the forest, it is a beautiful, secluded little beach. We lived the experience that we were looking for. The hotel is wonderful and will definitely be my number one pick whenever I return to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms in the newest building. They are the best rooms (all with jacuzzis in the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemnochXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We’re so happy to hear you lived the experience you were looking for—that’s what Parador is all about! We apologize about the size of our gym; it may not be one of our strongest points, but we try to make up for it with plenty of outdoor activity. It’s so much nicer outside! We hope you also got to see some of our beautiful birds and resident sloths—we’ve heard there are a mom and baby “hanging around” in our trees! We’ll be waiting for you when you come back. ¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, mo.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Best thing about the Parador was the people working there everyday-they all were very helpful and kind--Except the manager Silvia Hernandez was not as helpful as she could of been, every time we encounter her it was as if she was running away from us and didn't care about helping or answering a question . . . Book IT.COM STATED IF YOU STAYED 5 NIGHT ONE EVENING MEAL FREE--We stayed 7 nights---when we got to the resturant the last night of our stay ( 7th night ) we( party of four adults) were told you can't have anthing with the Stars by it--well that left very little to choose from----Silvia Hernandez told my brother and sister in law it would be an open menu---BOY !!! DID WE GET A SURPRIZE---We are going to talk to BOOK IT .COM ABOUT THIS MATTER...---Our room accomadations were nice--seen no animals at The Parador- such as monkeys-birds- - the young people working at this hotel do a very nice job from front desk- food service to cleaning, ground keepers------I hope the owner of the Hotel relizes he has some very outstanding workers and all do their jobs well . . .

Room Tip: my husband and I stayed in room 3516 ( 3rd floor )over looking the adult pool and rain forest-Very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanlillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We’re very sorry to hear your vacation wasn’t all that you wanted it to be. We have spoken with our manager, Silvia, about your stay and she clearly remembers chatting pleasantly with Mrs. Glenn on several occasions and interacting with your group around the hotel. She apologizes if she did anything to offend and hopes it didn’t take away from the overall experience. Monkeys, sloths and birds are usually quite plentiful on our grounds, especially if you happened to walk around the nature paths, but perhaps they were a bit camera shy. We do hope you decide to come back to Parador on your next visit to Costa Rica—we’ll make sure they put on a show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel had breathtaking views of the ocean down below. 3 infinity pools that were amazing. Ok here are is the good and the bad.

Bad.
3 hr drive from the airport. We rented a car, which was much cheaper than taking a shuttle. No beach access. Beach was located off the property just about 1/4 mile down the road. Beach was rocky though. Internet did not work in room, but had a couple of computers at the front desk area. Do not set up the snorkeling activity and dolphin watch from the hotel. I have been snorkeling in many places and this was the worse of all. They anchored near a rock and told us all to jump in. There was no reef, water visibility was very murky, and poor visibility. There was our boat, and three other boats. When we were all in the water it was like being in a can of sardines. I was constantly bumping into people and they were bumping into me. I got out after 10 minutes.

Good.
Breakfast buffet was free and filling. Much to chose from. Nice walking trail leading down to the ocean. BRING WATER!! We set up a Mangrove tour to see Monkeys in the wild. I set that up online through a private tour operator. That was AWESOME. The monkeys climb on your boat and on your head. They picked us up from the hotel and also gave us a great lunch.
Resort had three pools, and we were lucky that the place was not crowded. Manual Antonio National Park is not far and is a nice hiking walk through the jungle, and there are two beaches that were nice. Had lunch in a town nearby. Staff was very accommodating and friendly, all the time. STUNNING views from the pool at the TOP of the resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank realtor1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrodriguezarroyo, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We live up to most expectations most of the time, but sometimes, Mother Nature has hiccups and unfortunately they reflect on us. For example, the weather was stormy during your stay and the days preceding it, which meant the water in our normally clear and very calm little bay just a few minutes walk from the hotel was, as you say, quite murky. The lightning from the storms also knocked out some of our routers, so we had to change them out and reinstall everything. We sincerely apologize for these setbacks, but sometimes Mother Nature wins! However, we have had some very cool whale sightings just off the beach to make up for the trouble She caused. We hope you come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I loved this place. The view is amazing. The best service I had have. The room clean the pillows great. The food is also good. But the most important is the staff services, they treated as I am princess. In general I would like to come again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awacosta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks for your review! Our staff was very happy to hear about your kind words, because to them, you are a princess! We’re happy you enjoyed your room and our fantastic views. Did you have a chance to visit Playa Biesanz or Manuel Antonio? Our own private little beach is a real treat, but Manuel Antonio has some awesome waves and the surfers just love it. We can’t wait for you to come back. ¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,455 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,087 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
921 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
895 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Property: Hotel Parador
Address: | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing