We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So Many Bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So Many Bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My initial reaction was, "This is a beautiful site!" However, after closer examination I was wrong. I think my biggest problem was the bugs everywhere. There were dead beetles, bees, and mosquitoes around the room and it was a major turn-off. I know this is a humid area, but I am not sure the staff did a thorough job cleaning the dead bugs on the windows and room corners.

Another huge issue was the shower. The shower head was damaged and the water sprayed everywhere. It was not a good functional shower head, but I told myself that I was only staying 2 nights so I would deal with it. Also, they did not have any shower curtains/sliding doors so the water sprayed to the floors. The toilet would only flush if you hold it for longer than 5 secs. Another issue was the tv, because the reception was poor quality.

I did enjoy the refrigerator and the breakfast food at Gato Negro was delicious. I thought the bed was a bit worn out and lumpy, but I did have a good sleep either way. The candles were a nice touch. I also liked the terrace and the table and chairs to sit outside. The pool looked great as well, but I didn't get a chance to go in. The staff were really nice and helpful with directions. The bus to Quepos is right outside and there are many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    78
    53
    43
    24
See reviews for
41
113
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The best things about this hotel: beautiful grounds - lots of cared for gardens; "chico" the dog that would come visit our room; El Avion across the street; huge frog that came to "visit"; tiny geckos everywhere.
The outside of the room was nice in that we had our own veranda to sit on.
The inside of the room was just ok - average clean/comfort. We did have to ask a couple of times for clean towels. Staff were ok to deal with. Our room was tucked away in the back of the hotel grounds - it did make us a little nervous to leave valuables in the room - lock on the door would be easy to break into.
Manuel Antonio park is a short drive from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from a Gate 1 tour of Costa Rica. I had read the reviews of the Casitas Eclipse and figured forewarned is forearmed. What a pleasant surprise to find an adorable hotel with great little villas all stacked on a hillside bordering on the national park. There were so many birds, monkeys, lizards and toads it felt as if we were right in the jungle. The landscaping was beautifully maintained, and the villas very clean, if simple. Yes, lots of stairs going in all different directions, which in my opinion added to the charm. If I were to return to Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio, I would surely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room 202 was at the top, next to the road. We were not bothered by traffic noise and had a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank holl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel was nice, as it had apartment style rooms. There was a kitchen, living room, bedroom and bath. It was right on the bus route to the city or the National Park. There were steps to everywhere. The pools were not very clear, but I'm not sure how you would keep them that way. They seemed to do the best they could.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDWLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Isabel, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

These were at one time two story apartments. The rooms are very old and out of date. The TV is in the living area and a half bed is also. The sofa is built in the wall partition and the TV sits behind the sofa. Each room is either up or down the mountain so you have to climb one way or another. The restaurant is a very strenuous climb up especially for the elderly. There is no Wi-Fi except from the upper heights of the complex. The pool was dirty and not very well kept as was the whole hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a let down compared to everywhere else on our 10 day tour. This is a run down resort. It definitely needs updating. They ask that you to hang your towels so that they are not being washed. We did so, but they still took our towels. There are no ice machines, if you ask for ice they charge you $1. The wifi does not always work where it is supposed to. Sitting by the pool, I notice other people get asked if they would like a drink and it is brought to them. We were never asked if we would like a drink even though I had gone to the bar and gotten one myself. The breakfast menu is very limited. The toast the first day was cold. One the second day I asked for warm toast and it was brought to me. The jungle trail was interesting - wear shoes as there is lots of broken glass.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasitasEclipse, General Manager at Hotel Casitas Eclipse, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Karen M,
We are sorry that our property didn't met your expectations. However we would like to clarify a few things....
Our policies to not waste more water than necessary are clear: hung towels are not to be washed, towels on the floor are. However our maids use common sense, and if your towels are really not so clean, they will wash them anyway, hanged or not.
We don't have an ice machine, and guest are welcome to ask for the ice they need, for there drinks, at our restaurant. If they charged you $1, it's because you asked for a full bag of ice, maybe to take to the beach. We do not provide ice bag services (to go), however there are many supermarkets nearby that do.
We understand that you visited our private trails – on your own -, and you walked through our glass workshop. It worth mention that we upcycle all the glass from the restaurant, and there are no glasses on the trails.
We are surprised that you haven't been asked for drinks at the pool, and we would like you to give us more feedback about this issue here: info@casitaseclipsehotel.com.

Thank you
Hotel Casitas Eclipse's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived at our hotel, Hotel Casitas Eclipse, right after a tour bus so there was a bit of a wait. I had read about the stairs and it was no exaggeration. My knee got a bit sore going up and down, up and down and so on. We were near the bottom. I also had a hard time remembering which way to go, it’s not a straight shot to get anywhere. The room was a nice size. I woke up very early in the morning telling my husband it was raining on my head. Turns out the a/c which was right over the head of the bed was dripping quite a bit of water into the room. Mattress, pillow and my head were soaked. Their fix was to move the bed away from the wall. The pool was right out side our room. Could not believe how hot the water was, truly like a bathtub. But it was hotter out of the pool so it did help some. Not sure I would recommend this hotel. I would not stay here again.

We had lunch at Gato Negro and it was good.

Room Tip: Best be in good shape with good knees
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#32 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Inn on the Park
Hotel Inn on the Park
#44 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Property: Hotel Casitas Eclipse
Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing