We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful place and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This seems to be an older attractive hotel on a hillside, well maintained and managed. It met our expectations during a two-night stay, providing a comfortable base to go to the Park and beach as well as being close to several good restaurants for dinner. There is a bus stop right out front on the main road which can take you to the beach or to Quepos in the other direction. The hotel has nice pools, and a nature loop trail into the forest. Breakfast was nice, with a great vista. The only negative was an ant infestation--in our room and the lobby; I don't know whether this is common in the area, but they were a nuisance here. The staff sprayed our room, and it was not too big a problem after that. BTW, the Kapi Kapi restaurant nearby was great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22explorer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    78
    53
    43
    25
See reviews for
42
113
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Costa Rica in January of this year and stayed at this great hotel at the end of our adventure. We had a great room with the pool right outside our door. Our room seemed to be our own private house. We had a kitchen with all of the amenities, great sleeping area and bath. The staff was exceptional. We had breakfast and dinner at their lovely open restaurant overlooking the coast. The food was great and offered a variety of everything. The grounds were beautiful and everything about Hotel Casitas Eclipse was wonderful. We really enjoyed all of the monkeys hanging outside of our room! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the pool. It is private and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merzig
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night. When we came to our room we recognized that there was water running out of the AC. Because they didn´t have any other room free they gave us the suite. Except for the fully equipped kitchen it was a normal room. Nice, pool right outside the door and very calm. We had breakfast in the morning which was okay. You have several different options - and a lot of bees flying around you while eating. But nothing happened. The restaurant of the hotel is good but very expensive, so the restaurant opposite of the hotel might be the better option. It´s called "El Avion". All in all, we liked our stay at the "Casitas Eclipse". People travelling with us complained about the stairs and the long ways to get tothe rooms,especially when you have suitcases to carry it can be very strenous. The National Park Manuel Antonio can be reached only by car or bus and it´s about a 15 min drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We just returned from vising this hotel. The outside view was very desirable. The staff was friendly and at times as helpful as they could be. The view from our room and the pool area was amazing. There were interior room defects ~ the shower head was not working, the shower door wouldn't stay closed and there was no iron available. There were lots of little bugs all over the room, don't leave any edible items out in the room. There was were gaps underneath the doors making accessible to any insects.

Room Tip: If you like wrinkle free clothing, bring an iron and bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dilazz@verizon.net
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just returned from visiting this hotel. What a great place to visit. We enjoyed the staff as well. Very helpful. We enjoyed Happy Hour and meeting a lot of friends. What a wonderful place to see the monkeys in the morning and enjoyed swimming in the pool. Had a fantastic view of the gorgeous settings. Loved all the beautiful flowers and the great scenery. On our balcony we had a table and chairs and enjoyed having a glass of wine and just relaxing.

You could get a local bus directly out of the hotel lobby. We did not use the bus service but it was available and we understand that a lot of people that stayed at the hotel used the bus service to go to Manuel Antonio National Park.

We enjoyed our breakfast and we also had dinner one evening which was wonderful.

There were a lot of steps but it was lit in the evening and we did not encounter any problems when we returned. We felt that there were a lot of steps if you weren't in great shape.

Again, fantastic views and enjoyed the pool. They do have three pools but we only used the one near the restaurant and bar since it was close to our room. Great Place and we will be sure to go back again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room which had a sofa, 2 chairs, refrigerator and three beds. We had a nice bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

One of the hotels used by tour companies, it is uphill from the Manuel Antonio National Park on the main local bus route (50 US cents a ride), located in a gorgeous jungle setting. The layout is a series of freshly painted white stucco units set multiple staircases apart on a hillside. While there is a "handicapped accessible" path over parts of the complex, this is steps upon steps for the most part and not recommended for those with walking or vertigo problems. There are three nice swimming pools, a friendly staff and a very ordinary restaurant (breakfasts are less so and served open air among too many flying insects -- and this was the dry season). The rooms are being updated. We had a clean "family room" -- double and two single no-more-than serviceable beds with a living room area and old refrigerator. There were ceiling fans and a loud AC unit. Some in our traveling party were uncomfortabel in pre-fixit rooms. The flora, fauna (monkeys,birds) are the main feature here; restaurants abound along the highway with a bus stop at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one that includes a refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KurtR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at Casitas Eclipse during the New Year's holiday and felt obligated to write this review after my wonderful stay. We stayed in a suite with a working kitchenette, which we actually used one night to make a delicious seafood dinner with fresh fish and jumbo shrimp that we purchased in Quepos. The suite was clean, comfortable and the air conditioner worked great!!! The hotel has beautiful grounds. The gardens are gorgeous and the jungle is just beyond the hotel. The staff was also very helpful during our stay and treated us very well. In fact they went out of their way to make sure everything worked perfectly and that we were satisfied. The hotel has three beautiful pools, which were very refreshing after a day at the beach. The restaurant threw a New Year's Eve bash which included entertainment and amazing gourmet food, including lobster and filet mignon. We rented a car, so it was nice to have onsite parking as well. I definitely felt that this hotel was a good value. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!!! If you are going to Manuel Antonio I would definitely recommend Casitas Eclipse. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYCTraveler047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#44 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Property: Hotel Casitas Eclipse
Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing