We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Phenomenal views, fabulous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casitas Eclipse
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phenomenal views, fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We found Hotel Casitas Eclipse through friends we met in Costa Rica. The staff was so friendly and accommodating! Our affordable suite looked out over the Pacific coast and the rainforest ~ what a treat! We were blessed to enjoy all the iguanas and monkeys that Costa Rica had to offer!

The breakfast (included) was fresh and filling and we enjoyed several dinners at, Gato Negro, the "house" restaurant as well. The staff at the restaurant served ingenious local fare only steps from our room!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steffi-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    78
    53
    43
    25
See reviews for
42
113
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Good location, nice gardens, can hear monkeys in the morning....that's the good. Old hotel, dated decor, very hard bed, a two star at best, noisy air conditioning, smell of sewage near the rooms, too many stairs, mediocre food.........Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

The grounds of this hotel are sprawling and lovely so when you get inside the room, it is a bit of a letdown. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway and the good AC was a plus for a good night's sleep.

The best thing is that it is right accross from El Avion, a beautiful restaurant and bar perched at the highest vista over the ocean. The best place to view sunset and enjoy cocktails and snacks.

From the hotel, we were also able to walk up and down the road to any place within not more that 20mins, and return on the frequest bus

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Nice casitas but in urgent need of update. Man this interior is old fashioned. Though we enjoyed the terras! while sitting outside troops of monkeys passed by and all kind of animal came by to take a look while the are often hidden away in the National Park due to the huge amount of tourists. Good pools.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrisNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

While the staff is very accommodating and friendly - the rooms are very dated, institutional looking and lack electric outlets from this century! We changed hotels after one night. We felt that the price, lack of cleanliness and baseline convenience far out weighed the lovely grounds and well - meaning staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retired33_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as part of an organized independent tour. It looks quite charming from the outside and has quite sprawling grounds and a decent pool. The rooms are fairly small and basic and the bed was pretty gutless. The best aspect is that there was air-conditioning, which wasn't featured in most of the [basic] hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica. The reception was a bit of a trek from our room up and down many steps and down the road, which is a bit of a pain with luggage and not suitable at all for persons with disabilities or with strollers. There were several large ants in our room which was a bit disturbing. There was a yapping dog downstairs in another unit. There was a TV, but the signal was mostly snow. The bathroom was very basic. When we asked for pool towels, they didn't have any. One real bonus is that the hotel is right across the road from El Avion restaurant where we ate 3 times! It has stunning views, fun cocktails and good food. Just up the road is a wildlife center where they offer excellent night tours where you can see lots of frogs, spiders, snakes, etc. It's a $4 taxi ride to the public beach/national park from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

the hotel eclipse was a beautiful hotel with well kept grounds and kind, accomodating, and knowledgable staff. excellent location, lying adjacent to multiple eating spots - situated at top of hill going down towards manuel antonio beach. beautiful sunset views. will go back next time i'm there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevster4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#41 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casitas Eclipse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Eclipse

Property: Hotel Casitas Eclipse
Address: Km # 5, road to the Manuel Antonio National Park,, Manuel Antonio National Park 11-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Eclipse 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Eclipse is an exuberant Mediterranean - style hotel, located in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. Just in front of the hotel, the main road that heads to Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach.The hotel is surrounded by exotic gardens which combined with their strategic location right next to the National Park, enables guests to enjoy within premises, the occasional visits of monkeys, iguanas, sloths, birds, colored frogs and other wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casitas Eclipse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Eclipse Hotel
Hotel Casitas Eclipse Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing