We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Stay!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the balcony
Balcony view south - new furniture June 2012 Balcony view west - new furniture June 2012
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
View from the balcony
Balcony view south - new furniture June 2012
Balcony view west - new furniture June 2012
Table for four - morning view
Balcony and dining table - new furniture 2012
Hammock on the balcony
View west from the balcony
Master bedroom with air conditioning
Outdoor shower for washing off the beach sand, with orchids
House exterior
Stairs up to the house.  We are not handicap accessible
Satellite photo of house, surrounding beaches, hotels
Bathroom
Kitchen
Shower
Parking area within sight of the caretaker
South view from the 1st bedroom - has air conditioning
1st bedroom closet.  Has bathrobes, emergency light, bedding. folding beach chairs, boogie board
West view from the 1st bedroom - has AC
Lock box - room for a laptop, camera, etc
Bismark, our caretaker
Birding books and binoculars
Bathroom handsoap, shampoo
2nd bedroom - has air conditioning
Reading chair, summer reading, games.
Full length mirror, blow dryer, clothes steamer
Shower
2nd bedroom - has air conditioning
2nd bedroom closet
New stove and oven
Bedroom chest of drawers
Mock newsletter from our renters
Boogie board, mask, fins, floats to borrow
Beach chairs, towels, cooler to borrow
Sunset from the downstairs
Photo taken near the front door
Photo taken near the front door
Photo taken near the front door
Photo taken from the living room
Espadilla Beach - the main beach
Espadilla Beach - the main beach
Biesanz Beach, a safe beach for children.  Walk in.
A hidden beach on our property in the jungle nearby - ask me how to get there
Dulce Vida/ Playitas beach - accessible only at low tide, very private
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Magrath, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2018
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hokie-tra...
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Million dollar view on the pacific bay!”
Reviewed December 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Wonderful stay. Spent most of our time on the deck enjoying the breeze, the view, the animals. Other reviews cover everything pretty well; read those. Overall nice house, amazing view, Caretakers were kind and helped us out. Overall a wonderful stay. Really nice to be off the main road of Manuel Antonio, but still close to everything.

Date of stay: December 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2017
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moore”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sarah's house in Manuel Antonio was one of the highlights of our Costa Rica vacation! The view is absolutely amazing. We were surrounded by forest and yet could hear and see the Ocean. We woke every morning to the sounds of the ocean waves and wildlife. We saw Toucans, sloths, Macaws, Squirrel Monkeys, Iguana, and more ! All from our back deck ! The house is clean and well kept and has everything you would need.The upstairs has no AC, but we didn't need it. The breeze off the ocean was delightful. Both bedrooms downstairs have AC and kept the rooms nice and cool. It's about a 1/2 mile walk down the road to the beach. Not a bad walk down, but coming back up is a trek. There is limited parking down by the beach, so you need to get there early and must have a 4x4 vehicle. The beach was packed on the weekend and practically empty on the weekdays. The house is very close to town and all kinds of restaurants. We ate out a few times, but really enjoyed cooking at the house and enjoying the view. Be warned that there are a lot of steep steps up to the condo, so if you can't navigate stairs, this might not be the place for you. There is, however, an outside elevator to bring luggage up, which was a nice plus. Thank you Sarah, for sharing your home with us ! It was a slice of heaven. I would highly recommend her house to anyone wanting to experience just what we did !! We will definitely be coming back in the future!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrable
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“No need to stay at the Mariposa Hotel (which is on the 1000 places to see before you die list) Stay here instead.”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great quiet location but not too far down from the main road. We walked to both beaches and walked to the nearby restaurants (Agua Azul, Barba Rosa and Milagro.) We also love Restaurant Lagarto and Ronnies. The new Tapas place up the street was great and the Pizza down below it excellent. Sarah the owner is great and responds to any requests or questions immediately. Practically 360 degree views of the ocean. Can't say enough about this place!!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Thanks so much! (The Mariposa got it's great reputation from the first owners. It has changed owners and been built up since then.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen R
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great view & location, Good value”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This house was a great value: 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, and gorgeous views for about $200/night in high season. The downside is that the stairs are a killer after a long day of playing outdoors in Costa Rica. (Editor’s – girlfriend’s – note: they really weren’t that bad. Just a drag if you, like me, always end up running back into the house because you forgot something. ;)) We had a slow draining shower, but Bismark the caretaker fixed it while we were there. Bismark’s son Enger speaks good English and helped us on several occasions.
I had convinced my girlfriend that we needed access to A/C in case the heat was too oppressive, but our seven days were filled with gentle breezes—one hour of open doors and windows were sufficient to cool off the house after it had baked in the sun all day long.
Sarah, the owner, goes above and beyond with providing a few games, binoculars, an umbrella, a rain coat, a boogie board and set of snorkeling gear at the house. These were all nice touches. The bathroom is small but adequate. The beds… not like home for sure. The mattresses could really use replacing. Beware, even the stairs within the house are steep. Bismark’s dogs provided lots of entertainment.
Beware, you really do need to lock doors up – less for humans than the monkeys! Apparently, according to Bismark, we left the porch door ajar or at least unlocked and four monkeys got in and raided the kitchen!
The kitchen was well-stocked with equipment. The kitchen felt like it could have been a little cleaner, but perhaps this was partly due to the humidity, making everything feel a little gummy. The refrigerator wasn’t full size, but it was adequate for our purposes (we cooked breakfast and simple lunch meals each day). It didn’t seal tightly and there was mold on the rubber gasket, but the owner was already trying to remedy this by shopping for a whole new one.
The location is an odd mix – because it sits on top of the hill with that fantastic view, it feels like it is tucked inside the jungle. And yet, even early in the morning, you could hear cars and trucks racing by down below in front of the house. So you will need to get up before dawn to hear only birds and monkeys, otherwise count on street noise, too. The trade-off is a GREAT location for getting to restaurants, grocery stores, ATMS, and the beaches. Plus, it feels more like a genuine taste of Tico life, so very worth it to us, but just took some adjusting of expectations.
We arrived on Friday afternoon in San Jose. The drive from the airport was DREADFUL. We were told later that everyone heads to the beach on Friday afternoon, so avoid this if you can (or take a puddle jumper to MA from San Jose).
(Girlfriend’s addendum): The beaches… for all the reviews we read on this place before coming, we were still confused about the different beaches nearby, so I will try to make it all clear here. One beach (Biesanz) has calm water, is quiet, uncrowded. and lovely. However, it has loads of rocks making it uncomfortable to wade into the water in all but one area, but in that area, the sand is super soft. Bring a flotation device and you’ll be in heaven. If you are a strong swimmer and have fins, you could swim out to some rocks just outside the bay where people pay for a boat tour to go snorkeling. The water is murky inside the bay and only a little better out near the snorkeling. I have snorkeled in many places in the Caribbean and this was pleasant and worth an hour, but really quite UNremarkable and not worth paying for a tour, imo. Even IF you don’t carry lots of beach gear (which I do), I wouldn’t recommend walking to this beach from the house. Think long windy roads, no side walks, cars zipping by (and lots of stinky exhaust), and then a walk through the woods to get to the beach. Walking back to the house is all uphill. A parking attendant will expect a few mil colones to watch your car. Worth every penny (er… colon?) to drive and park.
The second beach is the north end of Playa Espadilla, down a super steep road just meters away from the parking spot / stairs up to the house. That road is rocky, unpaved, and potholed, and this is the one they say you need 4WD for. That is probably true – it was dry season so maybe we could have done it without it, but it would have been dicey. This beach has PERFECT boogie-boarding and surfing waves. In fact, Hawaii’s (aka Alex’s) Surf School is there – $100 for two people to get a two-hour private lesson (ie, one instructor for each of you). Great deal! The waves are awesome for both – no big rocks, not the softest sand but good enough with no sharp shells and long runs on the board. Lots of fantastic surfing to watch right there (great entertainment while you swim). Occasionally, there was a rough rip tide, so watch out. I think some people call this area Playitas, known for being the gay beach, but technically, you have to climb over some rocks from the surf school area to get over to Playitas (which also has rough surf). I don’t see the point in bothering, though – the northernmost end of Espadilla was nearly empty and you could park close enough to bring all the gear you want. The parking attendant there (thanks, Ronan!) will take a donation. If you want some lunch, though, apparently there is a hotel with a restaurant on Playitas.
Lastly, there is the “heart” of Playa Espadilla closer to MA Park. That was everything we hate about beach culture – crowded, music, trash. Still fantastic waves, but with two other beaches so much closer, why do that?
Inside MA Park, though, there is a beach long to be remembered and well worth the harangue of getting through the park with all your stuff. Beach #1, as they call it. Like a scene out of the series Lost. Pristine. Quiet, calm, gorgeous in every way (and some fun interactions with monkeys to boot). I did get stung by a jelly fish while in the water for hours, but no one else seemed to so I think that was just bad luck.
Two last tips about food provisions: The farmers market in downtown Quepos on Friday evening and Saturday morning was a great cultural experience and inexpensive way to stock up on produce, especially tropical fruits! The grocery store most like what you might be used to in the U.S is Super Joseth. It even had some gluten free and specialty/gourmet items (plus just raw meat, which we couldn't find in other supermarkets like Maxi Pali).

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Thanks for your review! The new fridge went in last week. I bought a new memory foam mattress topper for the brand new mattress, but it doesn't seem to be popular and maybe I should take it off. I suspect it's too soft for many people. I did put up a little sign that says that we'll take off the memory foam if you like your mattress harder. (I like it tho!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimBencho...
Blue Ridge Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house was the perfect place in Manuel Antonio, close to the restaurants , beach, and stores. The kitchen has all you need, and there is a nice selection of books for the evening or rainy days.The monkeys came to our balcony every morning , and every kind of bird is visible from this roost. I would stay again, for sure. Bismark, the caretaker is great.

Date of stay: December 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexander...
San Ramon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would love to come back!”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The views from the deck were identical to the photos online!
We enjoyed our mornings there having coffee and watching the different varieties of birds.
This being our first trip to Costa Rica, we were very happy that we chose this location. Besides the stunning views, it was relatively easy access to a semi private beach, getting to the park as well as other activities and restaurants. I was able to give the condo name for pick up without problem!
We were traveling with our two college age kids. They too were impressed with the views and enjoyed afternoon naps in the hammock. The condo was cozy, but suited our needs. The bedrooms being downstairs away from upstairs living space, gave space when needed.

We did have a little difficulty getting to the condo with google maps. Sarah's directions with landmarks and the photos of the front of the property helped us reach our destination the best.

Their caretaker Bismark and his son greeted us when we arrived and helped us with luggage etc. Very pleasant whenever we saw them

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and views. It's a tie!
Liked least: Lots of stairs in and out
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Hope you come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing