We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great views of pacific and wildlife”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the balcony
Balcony view south - new furniture June 2012 Balcony view west - new furniture June 2012
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
View from the balcony
Balcony view south - new furniture June 2012
Balcony view west - new furniture June 2012
Table for four - morning view
Balcony and dining table - new furniture 2012
Hammock on the balcony
View west from the balcony
Master bedroom with air conditioning
Outdoor shower for washing off the beach sand, with orchids
House exterior
Stairs up to the house.  We are not handicap accessible
Satellite photo of house, surrounding beaches, hotels
Bathroom
Kitchen
Shower
Parking area within sight of the caretaker
South view from the 1st bedroom - has air conditioning
1st bedroom closet.  Has bathrobes, emergency light, bedding. folding beach chairs, boogie board
West view from the 1st bedroom - has AC
Lock box - room for a laptop, camera, etc
Bismark, our caretaker
Birding books and binoculars
Bathroom handsoap, shampoo
2nd bedroom - has air conditioning
Reading chair, summer reading, games.
Full length mirror, blow dryer, clothes steamer
Shower
2nd bedroom - has air conditioning
2nd bedroom closet
New stove and oven
Bedroom chest of drawers
Mock newsletter from our renters
Boogie board, mask, fins, floats to borrow
Beach chairs, towels, cooler to borrow
Sunset from the downstairs
Photo taken near the front door
Photo taken near the front door
Photo taken near the front door
Photo taken from the living room
Espadilla Beach - the main beach
Espadilla Beach - the main beach
Biesanz Beach, a safe beach for children.  Walk in.
A hidden beach on our property in the jungle nearby - ask me how to get there
Dulce Vida/ Playitas beach - accessible only at low tide, very private
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
writersbl...
PA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great views of pacific and wildlife”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The view on the balcony is breath-taking and very nice. It was wonderful with two kids to have a bedroom to ourselves. The kitchen is adequately equipped and it was nice to have ice. The restaurants and beaches are within walking distance. I saw lots of birds out the window including toucans, acari, hummingbirds, woodpeckers, and parrots. We didn't see the sloths or monkeys outside the window, but did see them on the walk to the beach.
As far as the cons:
The water did not get hot in the shower (warm at times but not hot)
Some of the noise tends to travel. We could hear motorcycles and Saturday night some awful karaoke. My biggest complaint was probably the scorpion above my daughter's bed. Yikes! My husband tried to capture it but it ran off and we didn't see it again. As far as the AC, it is only in the bedrooms, but it was cool during our visit so not an issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyler88s1...
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome View!”
Reviewed December 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here in May of this year, it was awesome. The house was just the right size with common amenities. There is a restaurant down the road (Cant remember the name), that we ate at every day. Their breakfast was awesome. If you scroll through some of the other reviews or ask Sarah, she will tell you the name. It was definitely worth the money! This place is meant for those that can easily climb stairs, there are quite a few to get to the house. If you take a right from the front of the street, there is a hidden walkway to the beach. The only downside is the street noise is a bit much sometimes, but not enough to keep us from coming back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarAway57...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved our Stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Adorable place with amazing views and location. Short walk to beach & restaurants, short drive to park and town. Beds, linens and furniture all very comfortable. We only made breakfast so kitchen met our needs. Owner and caretaker prompt and easy to work with. Hopefully defined some leg muscles on the stairs up! Would definitely stay again! Also visited owners woodwork studio near San Jose - wonderful place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
violarun
Dublin, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view, great location”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

No question - the view from the house made it all worthwhile. We didn't mind the stairs up, and it was nice to have easy parking at the base of the stairs. The house is well equipped, and the upstairs with the panorama view was just breathtaking. It was easy to book the house and the owner was very responsive. The caretakers live very close by which made us feel even more secure. The walk down to the beach (and more the walk back up!) was quite strenuous and took a solid 15 minutes, but the beach was beautiful. We were very happy to have a car to get to the nearby restaurants, grocery store, and park. We could have walked, but it would have been difficult in the heat.
The a/c units did an adequate job but are only in the bedrooms, so the hallway, upstairs and bathroom were very warm. The ceiling fans upstairs and on the porch helped. It was nice to have a shower just outside the front door to wash the sand off. It was very difficult to control the water temperature in the shower inside. The beds need to be replaced - they were fairly uncomfortable. Wifi service was good.
All things considered, this is a great house in a very convenient location. Overall a good experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, like everyone else!
Liked least: The beds and controlling the shower water temperature
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightblue...
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unbelievable balcony view :)”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a brilliant stay for three nights at Manuel Antonio Beachhouse in the week before Easter :) We loved the balcony and the sounds of the rain forest, especially being woken up by the sounds of howler monkeys each morning was pretty cool :)

The Manuel Antonio beach house is a two-story house with two bedrooms, toilet and shower in a small bathroom at the bottom and a big living room witch kitchen and large balcony at the top floor. The kitchen is complete with fridge, cooking place, dishes and other accessories, so perfect for self-catering.
The most impressive thing about the house is the balcony, which comes with hammock, bench, seats and tables and offers a magnificent view over the sea, Playa Espadilla and the Manuel Antonio National park in the distance. The first time you step on this balcony it is still unbelievable that this will be yours for the next couple of days and we also cannot imagine that there is an accommodation for your own with better view in whole Manuel Antonio :) Due to the surrounding rain forest the balcony is also ideal for bird watching and there also is a binocular you can use.
Further amenities include books and board games stored in the living room, a hair dryer, body boards, snorkeling equipment and towels to take with you to the beach. WiFi is free but only has average quality.

The house itself is located some way up the hill from the streets and you do have to take some steps to get to it, they have a luggage elevator, but this house is not suitable for disabled people.
You can walk down to Playa Espadilla within 15 minutes, however the way up is a little exhaustive as there are almost 130 m difference in altitude to overcome. It is possible to drive they way down by car (but would only it do with 4WD).
There are multiple restaurants within walking distance (owner supplies a book with many food & activity recommendations). Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance is a 10 minute drive away, as well as more beaches.

Coordinates: 9.401982 -84.160437

The only negative comment we have is the loud air condition in the bedrooms, but it is anyway more nice to simply open the windows in the bedrooms to listen to the sounds of the rain forest during night and the morning :)
For two people it seems a little bit pricey, but we don’t regret it, and you should consider that this house offers space for up to four people which then is a very good price/performace ratio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Balcony.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToRoa...
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful grounds.. incredible views of jungle and ocean..Great place!”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was fantastic. The views of the jungle and ocean were gorgeous. We could see and hear monkeys... lots of birds....and the toucans came by every morning and evening to visit. Very nice and friendly and helpful caretaker. Offered to give us rides around town and to the airport as we did not have a car while staying in this area. The grounds are beautiful with lots of plants and flowers and some friendly lizards and geckos, etc. Great value. Relaxing hammock on the balcony perfect for reading, relaxing, enjoying a cocktail or a meal. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible Views of jungle and ocean
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2015
So glad you had a good time! Thank you so much for posting your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irondream...
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing View for a Bargain Price”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First, Sarah was a delight to work with, was prompt to respond and she provides all the information you will need to quickly find the condo and has local recommendations for restaurants.

The condo is two levels, with the 2 bedrooms and bathroom on the first level and the kitchen, dining room/sitting area and patio on the second level. We spent all of our time here as all of the windows open, creating a wonderful breeze and the view is nothing short of breathtaking!

The condo itself it not fancy but it has everything you need and is quite comfortable and the price was right for our family of 4. We spent the majority of our time sitting on the patio. My kids are 7 and 10 and we felt very comfortable with them in the house.

Bismark, the caretaker, was helpful and available if needed.

Also, we spotted several sloths nearby, including one that was very low to the ground that we got to see up close!

It was a bit of a hike to the beach - that is one thing that could be improved, better directions on how to get to the various beaches and which are best for kids, etc. But, to get the vista that you have here, you know it is going to be a hike (and that is true for most hotels in Manuel Antonio). We didn't mind it, just know that going in.

Wifi access was strong, which was nice after having spotty service in other locations on our trip. The downstairs bedrooms have AC, but we actually turned ours off and opened the doors to listen to the ocean and the birds - but it is nice to have if you want it!

We would definitely recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upstairs patio and view are amazing, rain or shine!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2014
Thanks for writing a review! - Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing