We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodations and overall rental...”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the balcony
Balcony view south - new furniture June 2012 Balcony view west - new furniture June 2012
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
View from the balcony
Balcony view south - new furniture June 2012
Balcony view west - new furniture June 2012
Table for four - morning view
Balcony and dining table - new furniture 2012
Hammock on the balcony
View west from the balcony
Master bedroom with air conditioning
Outdoor shower for washing off the beach sand, with orchids
House exterior
Stairs up to the house.  We are not handicap accessible
Satellite photo of house, surrounding beaches, hotels
Bathroom
Kitchen
Shower
Parking area within sight of the caretaker
South view from the 1st bedroom - has air conditioning
1st bedroom closet.  Has bathrobes, emergency light, bedding. folding beach chairs, boogie board
West view from the 1st bedroom - has AC
Lock box - room for a laptop, camera, etc
Bismark, our caretaker
Birding books and binoculars
Bathroom handsoap, shampoo
2nd bedroom - has air conditioning
Reading chair, summer reading, games.
Full length mirror, blow dryer, clothes steamer
Shower
2nd bedroom - has air conditioning
2nd bedroom closet
New stove and oven
Bedroom chest of drawers
Mock newsletter from our renters
Boogie board, mask, fins, floats to borrow
Beach chairs, towels, cooler to borrow
Sunset from the downstairs
Photo taken near the front door
Photo taken near the front door
Photo taken near the front door
Photo taken from the living room
Espadilla Beach - the main beach
Espadilla Beach - the main beach
Biesanz Beach, a safe beach for children.  Walk in.
A hidden beach on our property in the jungle nearby - ask me how to get there
Dulce Vida/ Playitas beach - accessible only at low tide, very private
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
duncansha...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations and overall rental experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We just got back from 5 nights at the "Casa de Sarah" and are extremely pleased whit the accommodations. Everyone is right and that the real value of this place is the second level with the practically open air kitchen/dining area and then the magnificent 270 degree views from the porch. The furnishing are fine, nothing luxurious. The views and location make the experience great. The hammock is a nice touch.

The bedroom was sufficiently comfortable and cool (window AC) and had really nice views out a set of french doors and another side door. Only possible complaint here was that the views are a bit obstructed by bars and screen... but when you are laying in bed you can certainly enjoy the view of the ocean.

The kitchen area was well furnished and was sufficient for some basic cooking.

The location was great too. Just down the hill from the main intersection in town. The Hotel Makanda next door is a fantastic place to go grab a drink (get the "Makanda" passion fruit frozen goodness) and... use the pool! Best deal in town. Buy a drink, and swim in their great infinity pool looking out at the ocean. Dinner was fine. You can also walk down the dirt road across the street to the main beach (Playa Espadailla) or go further down the road past Hotel Shana and look for the gap in the fence (marked by cement posts) and have a short hike down to Playa Biesanz which is much smaller and very scenic. Reports also say that there is great snorkeling at that beach. Just up the road is Emellio's Cafe (at the intersection). It's open air and has amazing views of the coast. Go there for breakfast for sure. The "tipico" is excellent...eggs, beans and rice (mmmm), plantains and some cheese. Great coffee. MAKE SURE YOU GET THEIR KEY LIME PIE!!

Working with Sarah for the reservation, information about the area and everything else was very easy.

It's a steal given some of the alternatives. We really enjoyed having, essentially, a 2 bedroom house to ourselves. Highly recommend this place.

Only small things I could pick on are some light and intermittent road noise and the fact that the place is up a hill (about 50 stairs) but its totally worth it. I'd stay there again in a heart beat.

Last note... if you go there, which you should, , and you order food for delivery or arrange for a pick up (taxi, shuttle) tell them you are at the Biesanz Condominiums (not the Biesanz Beach House like the materials in the house say...)

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Better views from the bedroom would be great, but I'm reaching here. I cant really complain about the place.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2014
Thank you for the review! Great to have the restaurant and menu selections too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
65a_kb201...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Beach House for a restful vacation”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just returned from 5 days at this wonderful beach house overlooking the Pacific just north of Manuel Antonio. House was perfect for a restful vacation w. air conditioning in the bedrooms which was appreciated in the hot, humid weather. Beach was a walk (or very bumpy drive) from the house. Enjoyed meals at Kapi Kapi and Victoria's. I would recomment this rental.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulahoopi...
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All the Great reviews are true!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

All the reviews are true. This is an amazing place with an amazing view! There are a lot of stairs, but by the time you step out onto the porch, see the view and feel the breeze..... What stairs? We went on a few adventures, but mostly we stayed on the porch. Eat at Makanda next door! Go for Happy Hour, take a swim and stay for dinner. So good and excellent service.
This is a place that I would love to one day return to. Thank you Sarah and Bismark!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2014
Thank you so much! Great to get such a nice review! Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
USA
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jehane G
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Overall awesome!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The house is charming, with a spectacular view, and Sara was a great help before our arrival, sending us a map of how to get there, a list of things to do on our way to Manuel Antonio, and things to do there. The housekeeper: Bismark, had been informed of our arrival, and he and his son helped us with the luggage. Sara also has information binders at the house for places to eat, and things to do in the area.
We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us! Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing